Live Hockey (and the Bills are never going to lose again)!!!

First of all, and most importantly: Bills, you kick ass.  Props.

*****

Tonight, thanks to the fabulous (and presumably handsome) Keller, Heather and I found ourselves at the Sabres/Wild preseason game.  Our seats were quite snazzy- certainly much better than the nosebleeds I usually scrounge up. The good thing about the 300s is that you can see the entire rink clearly.  The good thing about the 100s is that you can see Goose all the players clearly.

Good Seats

Keller has foxy seats.

The game was a bit of a snooze (and the Sabres lost), but the view was excellent, and the company was a hoot.  Heather and I will be attending a handful of games together this season, and if the following conversation is any indication, I think we’ll make good game buddies:

Kate: Wait.  Weber is number 4 now?  That’s sad.  I miss Nolan Pratt.

Heather: Yeah.  I don’t know how I feel about this.  I liked Weber as 34.

Kate: Well, 4 is a MUCH better number, so I can’t say I blame him.

Heather: I don’t like single digit numbers.

Kate: WHAT?! I LOVE single digit numbers.  I think 4 is a PHENOMENAL number.

Heather: The only single digit I like is 5.

Kate: Well, you’re an idiot.

Heather: Well, you’re a beeyotch.

Sabretooth stood in our aisle for the national anthem. I had a hard time concentrating on anything else with Sabretooth so near.  How could I possible look away?

Sabretooth Anthem

With his paw to his heart during the anthems.

Speaking of Sabretooth and “ridiculously cute,” the Sabres are now selling the best souvenir EVER- foam Sabretooth paws!  I’m a big fan of the entire foam finger genre, but I am particularly fond of foam paws.  I have a foam claw paw from the Wild game that I attended over Christmas last year, and it’s one of my most prized possessions.  I’m not kidding.  I’m looking at it right now.  I totally love it.  The Sabretooth paws are even BETTER because instead of ferocious claws, it’s just has that nice round Sabretooth paw print.  Very friendly and cute.  There were a couple of guys a few sections over who had them and Heather and I were totally preoccupied with watching them high five with the paws whenever something good happened on the ice.  After the game was over we hightailed it to the gift shop, but they were sold out already.  Note to the Sabres organization: we demand foam Sabretooth paws, and we demand them NOW.

Okay, about the game:

- Good Max/Bad Max was in full effect.  Max was all over the place, being speedy and awesome and generally enigmatic.  I was either in love with him or hating him all night- nothing in between.  Mostly loving him though.  I predict that Max is going to have a great year if only so the people of Buffalo have something to freak out about come July 1st 2009.

- The less said about Staffy the better.  I still believe.

- Nathan Gerbe is reDONKulously small but he’s got moxie to spare.  He’s got tinytude, if you will.

- I might be a little bit in love with Craig Rivet.

- Patrick Lalime seems like a perfectly serviceable backup NHL goalie.  I felt generally comfortable with his play all evening and he made a few nice stops.  The shootout felt a little less secure, but that might just be my scars from watching all those terrible shootouts last season talking.  Those wounds might never heal.

- Pommerdoodle started the game with the C but after the second intermission it was gone.  This prompted Heather and I to discuss a scenario in which the C is attached with velcro so that Lindy can rip it off the chests of errant Sabres during the intermission if he is suitably disgusted with their play.  I think the idea of a sad, lonely C on the floor of the lockerroom is quite amusing.

- Goose jammed his thumb punching a Wild player repeatedly in the face.  Totally worth it.

-I feel very strongly that the teams should wears whites at home.  I really like the Wilds’ red and green jerseys, and I’m disappointed that I didn’t get to see them tonight.

- About all these Wild prospects that I was asked to keep an eye on…….I had a hard enough time keeping track of the unfamiliar Sabres prospect, much less the Wild prospects.  I’m afraid I have very little too report about the Wild players.  They seemed to be mucking up the neutral zone quite nicely, but beyond that, I don’t have much to report, EXCEPT for the charmingly named “Clutterbuck”.  Yesterday in the comments, ms. conduct asked me to keep a particularly close eye on Clutterbuck figuring that he might be easy to spot because of his cartoonish name.  Well, not only did we SPOT Clutterbuck, but we spotted a CLUTTERBUCK SIGN.  How ridiculous is THAT?  There was a woman in the arena holding a sign that said simply, “Cal Clutterbuck”.

Clutterbuck

We’re thinking the sign holder must be his mother or something.

As for Clutterbuck’s play, I was far too busy trying to take a picture of his sign and coveting foam Sabretooth paws to really notice.  Sorry!

- Pre-season hockey is very fun.  It’s downright relaxing.  Thanks again to Keller for the tickets!

29 Responses to “Live Hockey (and the Bills are never going to lose again)!!!”


  1. 1 Anne September 29, 2008 at 1:07 am

    Pommer apparently had to change his sweater (actually a lot of them change sweaters between periods) and I guess they don’t have spare Cs?!?

  2. 2 Anne September 29, 2008 at 1:10 am

    Oh yeah, and I sold something to the lady holding the Cal Clutterbuck sign. It was weird 1. because I have no idea who that is and 2. because I actually know someone whose last name is Clutterbuck.

  3. 3 Meg September 29, 2008 at 1:22 am

    Anne, you and your reasonable explanations. ;)

    In support of the “easy to rip off” argument, there is a Teppo interview up on the Sabres site where he mentions that the C was falling off his jersey toward the end of the game and he didn’t think he was skating that fast. So I think Lindy could totally yank one of those suckers off.

  4. 4 ms.conduct September 29, 2008 at 1:24 am

    Ha! That’s freaking awesome! The sign is way cooler than knowing how he played (Lemaire said he was happy with his play “no doubt” so that’s damn well good enough of an assessment for me). Big shout out to the Clutterbuck sign lady!! He’s from Welland, Ont, so I’m guessing he had a contingent there.

    Anyway, glad you had fun and saw LIVE hockey and got a foam paw. Sounds like a successful night to me.

  5. 5 Amy September 29, 2008 at 8:37 am

    Goose jammed his thumb punching a Wild player repeatedly in the face.

    I’m liking the fact that this is the second game in a row where one teammate has stood up for another teammate. Let’s hope they keep this up.

  6. 6 Chaz September 29, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Goose jammed his thumb punching a Wild player repeatedly in the face.

    This is YET another reason why MSG should show the Sabres pre-season games. HELLO, I think the Sabres TV team need warm up games before the real season begins. Plus, I love it when Goose pounds on someone.

    I might be a little bit in love with Craig Rivet.

    I’m totally in love with Craig Rivet. He won me over with his fight in the last game. (The picture of him on the red carpet did not hurt matters.)I hope he learns to LOVE Buffalo and doesn’t want to go anywhere. I can’t take Brury part deux.

  7. 7 Erin September 29, 2008 at 8:48 am

    I saw Katebits at the game! I’m so famous now!

    As soon as I saw ‘Clutterbuck’ on the sweater I turned to my sister and said, ‘Mrs. Jennifer Clutterbuck’, lovely.

    I was seriously yawning in the 3rd period, but the overtime was exciting. I really love how much the crowd loves Maxy and wants him to do well. Everyone is rooting for him to do well. He should feed off that energy. That’s my advice for him.

    But- ready for some regular season hockey, like now.

  8. 8 Pookie September 29, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Glad you had a great time! Sabertooth is so charming, the Sabres really should look into finding more ways to emphasize his role on the team. I love the idea of a removable C, but I’m terrified what it would do if it fell into the wrong hands (i.e. Brent Sutter’s).

    As for Clutterbuck, a year ago Doc mentioned his name and I though he said Flutterbutt, and Boomer thought he said Blunderbus. Schnookie correctly heard “Clutterbuck” but was sure she’d heard wrong because, seriously, who’s named Clutterbuck?

  9. 9 Glenn September 29, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Kate! Do you realize that you just jinxed the Bills????? You must drink a glass of orange juice upside down or hop on one leg counter clockwise for 2 minutes or SOMETHING to remove your curse! Actually, I think playing the viola part to Tchaik. 6 with your left eye closed would do it….
    Glenn

  10. 10 Schnookie September 29, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Psst, guys, I don’t mean to alarm you, but there’s a tiger standing at attention for the National Anthem right over there!!!!

    And Katebits, you’re right. Single-digit numbers RULE.

  11. 11 Amy September 29, 2008 at 10:34 am

    As for Clutterbuck, a year ago Doc mentioned his name and I though he said Flutterbutt, and Boomer thought he said Blunderbus. Schnookie correctly heard “Clutterbuck” but was sure she’d heard wrong because, seriously, who’s named Clutterbuck?

    I wonder how many times someone has slipped and called him Clusterfuck?

    You must drink a glass of orange juice upside down or hop on one leg counter clockwise for 2 minutes or SOMETHING to remove your curse!

    She may also need to go outside, turn around three times and spit. And curse.

  12. 12 Katebits September 29, 2008 at 11:21 am

    Anne, did you sell her popcorn? Because I became very frustrated trying to take a picture of her while she decided it would be a good time to eat popcorn instead of hold her sign up. :P

    Not to suggest Goose’s fight wasn’t totally foxy, but he really had no choice but to fight. The guy who bowled Paille over then immediately jumped at Goose. That Wild was clearly looking to pick a fight. Goose obliged. We only saw the replay once, but Goose creamed him.

    he mentions that the C was falling off his jersey toward the end of the game and he didn’t think he was skating that fast.

    :^::::::::::::::::::::: That’s adorable!

    Erin I wish you had come over and said hello!

  13. 13 bbC September 29, 2008 at 11:29 am

    I was at last night’s game as well and Clutterbuck was definitely one of the highlights, just because of his name. The dude sitting in front of me took a picture of the back of his jersey just because Clutterbuck is one of the most amazing last names ever.

  14. 14 ms.conduct September 29, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    He’s a sensation, I tell ya. And every bit as awesome as his name. Though it sounds like he wasn’t playing too much of an agitating game… nobody is saying, “I saw him and I hate him.” which is, frankly, what I was hoping for. ;) I think the Midget Bergeron upstaged him on that front.

  15. 15 elise September 29, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    kate! my violin bow was made by Clutterbuck! i also don’t know HOW you concentrated on anything while Mr. Sabretooth was so near…with his hand over his heart. *Sigh*

  16. 16 elise September 29, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    excuse me, “paw” over his heart…

  17. 17 Katebits September 29, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    HOLD THE PHONE! CLUTTERBUCK MAKES VIOLIN BOWS?!!!!!!!! I am calling you RIGHT NOW to discuss, Elise. :P

  18. 18 Chaz September 29, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    OK, Sabretooth scares me and in my mind I know he shouldn’t. He’s not a REAL Sabretooth, but some hormonal college kid who used to find one of my friends everytime she sat in the 100’s and pet her hair. It’s a tad creepy.

  19. 19 JB September 29, 2008 at 1:40 pm

    I am glad Rivet set the tone of his play by whooping some arse the other night… I hear he is a shot blocking monster as well… hmmmmm reminds me a bit of Jay or Rhett. Gotta like that. I think he will do this team some good… gotta protect our Millsie!

    I just adore Goose and his fights! He rocks! Jamming his thumb! You go boy!

    I hear Timmy-ho has a sore back… already? Seriously? Is he out of shape? Did he forget to work out over the summer?

    Love the pic of Sabretooth! Too cute!

  20. 20 Jonathan September 29, 2008 at 2:03 pm

    Kate you sure have good timing when joining a Buffalo fanbase.

    And anyone always feel the game is different with white boards? I need the ads on the side for some reason

  21. 21 elise September 29, 2008 at 3:21 pm

    YES!!! he was an apprentice of Hill. wow, he has lived a long time! Clutterbuck is the oldest man in the world!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. 22 Katebits September 29, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Jonathan, I didn’t even NOTICE the white boards! How bizarre! I can say, I was totally, utterly, comPLETELy chill during the game which is very unlike me, even in a preseason situation. Maybe it was the lack of advertising that I found so soothing. :D

  23. 23 TheTick September 29, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Rivet not only has that physical aspect to his game, but he can make plays offensively as well. And his fight was AWESOME.

    I spotted those foam paws on Saturday, Thomas was lobbying for one hard but we left early and breezed past the store. Two (what I’m assuming were) College students in the front row (we were in the 9th row) had them, and Sabretooth seemed to think that was hilarious.

  24. 24 Katebits September 29, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Another good thing about the paws is that they have to be affordable, right? I think it’s nice that the gift shop would have something that people can actually afford to buy their kids without taking out a loan. Those foam paws are really cute and fun and I’m HOPING they are well under ten bucks. (I paid six for the one I bought in Minnesota last year.)

  25. 25 Welland Guy September 29, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    I know Clutterbuck & his family…and the woman holding the sign is most definitely not his mom, even though the family was at the game. His hometown of Welland is only 30 minutes from the HSBC.

  26. 26 Katebits September 29, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Hee. She must have just been a random Clutterbuck admirer then! Hell, after writing and saying the word “Clutterbuck” so many times in the last few days, I’ve become a bit of a Cluterbuckian myself. Perhaps I’ll make my own sign! :D

  27. 27 Patty (in Dallas) September 30, 2008 at 1:45 am

    Weber is number 4 now? That’s sad. I miss Nolan Pratt.

    Dude! I think he’s on our team now!

  28. 28 Katebits September 30, 2008 at 2:23 am

    Seriously, Patty?! He’s SO CUTE! You’re going to love him!

  29. 29 ms.conduct September 30, 2008 at 2:39 am

    Welcome to Clutterbuckdom, Kate. He’s a little nugget of hockey joy. Hi Welland Guy! Lucky duck, knowing Cal and all…

    And I love the hoodie! Very smart.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

