Hockey Is Back!

…sure, it’s just a bunch of teams don’t I don’t particularly care about playing in Europe, but still! Live hockey!

A few thoughts:

1.  This was me today:

11:55am: Hockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockey!!!   OMGOMGOMG
itsalmosttimeforhockey!!!!!

12:10pm: Sigh.  The Rangers are killing hockey.

I am a rabid hockey fan, and ten minutes into the first game on the first day of the new season and I was immediately all, “Hockey is boring.  zzzzzzz.”  I do have an odd affection for the Lightning, but even they couldn’t overcome the boring style of the Rangers.  It took a few seconds to recall that the Rangers only win in the very least entertaining way possible.  Once I reacquainted myself with the Rangers I decided my early afternoon might be better spent playing viola etudes than spent watching snoozy Chris Drury- so that’s what I did.  (I am now quite adept at short articulated soft notes played at the tip of the bow.  Don’t act like you’re not jealous.)  Thankfully the Pens/Sens game was a lot perkier and I remembered that I rather enjoy hockey.

2.  I cannot STAND Mike Milbury!  I was totally unprepared to see him sharing the stage with Ron and Kelly and I did not take it well.  I adore Kelly Hrudey and he deserves better.  Poo to you, Mike Milbury.  That’s right, I said it.  Poo. To. You.

3.  You guys, I am madly in love with a little show called “The Hockey Academy” on the NHL Network.  The other night, Robin and I were sitting on the couch watching CNN and making plans to stockpile weapons for the upcoming apocalypse when we realized that watching the news was making us crazy.  Being informed citizens is TOTALLY not worth this kind of emotional turmoil; so, I flipped over to the NHL Network in search of less stressful programming- and that’s when we discovered the hockey equivalent of a glass of red wine and a xanax.  The Hockey Academy is a totally earnest Canadian show about skating drills and techniques young players and coaches can use to  improve their game.  I’ve never played hockey so I have no need or desire to improve my game.  I can’t quite explain my love for this show except by saying that I find it to be infinitely soothing.  In these troubled times, “infinitely soothing” is the new “infinitely awesome”.

4. None of the teams today looked particularly formidable, and that made me happy because I really only like the Sabres.  Everyone else is the enemy.  That’s just how I roll.

9 Responses to “Hockey Is Back!”


  1. 1 Shari October 4, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Hockey Acadamy is the bomb! My son watches it, and tapes it. I love when the guy explains the drill and then tells the players, “ooooook let’sgoooo.”

  2. 2 Anne October 4, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    2. I cannot STAND Mike Milbury! I was totally unprepared to see him sharing the stage with Ron and Kelly and I did not take it well. I adore Kelly Hrudey and he deserves better. Poo to you, Mike Milbury. That’s right, I said it. Poo. To. You.

    I forget how loathsome he is on NHL on NBC because he’s usually with Pierre, and Pierre could probably make Sean Avery an appealing alternative, but then you see Mike with pleasant amiable chaps like Ron and Kelly and he’s suddenly garish and awful like furniture from the 1960s.

  3. 3 Heather B. October 4, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    I can’t even TELL you how happy I was to see Kelly Hrudey and his little apple cheeks today!

  4. 4 ms.conduct October 4, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    HA! I totally get it with Hockey Academy. Though it stresses me out because I DO play hockey and I can’t do any of the crap he has these kids doing. Gives me a big ol’ inferiority complex. But the host/coach dudes amuse the hell out of me with their adorable Canadian accents and chipper dispositions.

  5. 5 elise October 5, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    bow tip softies are muy difficult. bravo, kate! i will look for the magic channel that broadcasts Hockey Academy. my emotional cure for global downfall tragedy panic anxiety depression has been paul newman movies. !!!!!

  6. 6 Patty (in Dallas) October 5, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    I absolutely LOVE Hockey Academy!! The instructor’s accent is so cute. And he always ends with, “…and soon you’ll be an expert!” Or words to that effect.

    I think you and Anne both have it right that Mike Milbury really stands out when he’s compared to Ron and Kelly. I was so excited to see that the NHL Network will be showing the full HNIC lineup all this season in the U.S.!! I love After Hours, but catching it on Center Ice is hit and miss.

  7. 7 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 5, 2008 at 10:35 pm

    An odd affection for… an odd affec… for the LIGHTNING?!?

    No. Unacceptable. Vetoed.

  8. 8 Matt October 5, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    11:55am: Hockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockeyhockey!!! OMGOMGOMG
    itsalmosttimeforhockey!!!!!

    12:10pm: Sigh. The Rangers are killing hockey.

    Ditto.


  1. 1 Let’s Party Like It’s 1995 « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on October 12, 2008 at 9:02 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

