There’s A New Sheriff in Town….

……his name is Craig Rivet, and he’s the boss of you.

Rivet C

Perhaps it’s time someone put a picture of him in a Sabres uniform on the Sabres website.

For some reason this makes me laugh really hard.  After all that fussing around with the rotating C last year, Lindy wound up giving it permanently to the guy who’s only been on the team for 17 seconds.  Lindy was all, “You players want a permanent captain?  Fine.  You can have one, but it’s not going to be your cuddly BFF Pommerdoodle, it’s going to be the scary new guy AND HE WILL PUNCH YOU DIRECTLY IN THE FACE IF YOU DON’T WATCH IT.”

UPDATE: Whaaa?  It turns out that this was a TEAM VOTE!  So, basically the Sabres are saying, “Um, all that stuff we said last year about ‘tons of leadership in the room’?  Funny, thing.  Yeah.  See, the truth is, well…..that was all bullhonky.  We were TOTALLY freaked out last year.”

I guess there really was a leadership vaccum last season.  Thank goodness we’ve got a new guy on the team that everyone respects.  (Nice work, Darcy. *fist bump*)

10 Responses to “There’s A New Sheriff in Town….”


  1. 1 JB October 8, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I know I was posting a pic on my site and was like WTH… a sharks uni? So I went to Geddy… LOL!

  2. 2 Kathee October 8, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    “HE WILL PUNCH YOU DIRECTLY IN THE FACE IF YOU DON’T WATCH IT”

    This has to be my favorite thing! Can you imagine the team all showing up at the first game with black eyes because they annoyed the captain?!?!

  3. 3 Anne October 8, 2008 at 4:52 pm

    Team vote!! That’s even better!! Hooray!!!!

  4. 4 Ang October 8, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Is it bad that the first thought I had when i heard the news was WWKT????? “What will Kate Think?”

  5. 5 Katebits October 8, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Is it bad that the first thought I had when i heard the news was WWKT?????

    Ha! Bad?! That’s the best thing I’ve ever heard Ang! :D

  6. 6 Chaz October 8, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    AND HE WILL PUNCH YOU DIRECTLY IN THE FACE IF YOU DON’T WATCH IT

    Timmy Ho better watch it.

    I’m gonna knock you out
    Mamma said knock you out
    I’m gonna knock you out…

  7. 7 danielleia October 8, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    (Nice work, Darcy. *fist bump*)

    haha! The Sharks rock! Now bring us Joe Thornton. :P

  8. 8 antoine October 8, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    I am a Habs fan so I know Rivest a lot. I am very surprised of Sabres players voting for him. Good thing for Craig but he always seemed like a quiet guy in Montreal. I am not convinced it’s the right choice but I see a lot of sense in choosing him. If Sabres are loosing a lot this year, people will say it was a bad choice. Time will tell.

  9. 9 Patty (in Dallas) October 9, 2008 at 12:26 am

    At least they had enough leadership in the room to realize that they lacked it. :D

  10. 10 Grrrreg October 9, 2008 at 5:06 am

    Yeah, he’s quiet, but he was quite respected in the habs dressing room I think. He was BFF with Saku. Saku is awesome, therefore, Rivet must be a amazing. QED.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

