6 Things

1.  WOOOOOOOOOO!!  Good work Bills! (Incidentally, if there is anyone from WGR reading this right now, please, for the love of all that is good and holy, stop playing that damn, “Let’s go Bills,  Bu-bu-bu-bu-bu-bu Bills!” song.  I’ll admit that sometimes I think the lyrics are funny.  SOMETIMES.  But the marginally funny lyrics are NEVER worth the agony of having “bu-bu-bu-bu-bu-bu Bills” in my head all day.  When I hear that song starting I CHANGE THE RADIO STATION AS QUICKLY AS I CAN.)

2. I’m currently the front runner in our weekly BPO football pool but the competition is breathing down my neck.  In order for me to clinch, we have to root for Seattle tonight, and Denver tomorrow.  I hope I have your support.

3.  I had to work on Saturday night, so I didn’t see much of the Sabres game against the Thrashers.  To be honest, I’m not sorry they lost.  I’m suspicious of ridiculously good starts, and I don’t quite trust this team to respond well to winning easily.  I keep waiting for them to lapse back into bad habits from last season, and let’s face it, the season is veeeery young, so there is plenty of time for them to get defensively lazy again.  For the time being I think we are better off when they truly believe in their hearts that they need to grind out every single win.  It sounds like the Sabres were lucky to squeeze a point out of that game, so I’m glad a point is all they got.  (And it’s not like 4-0-1 is super shabby.)

4.  I am hugely attached to the perfect PK.  Weirdly so.

5.  I think I’m done with Heroes.  I watch both Heroes and Lost, which has always seemed like overkill.  In my mind both shows fall into the same category of “Not good, but highly enjoyable shows steeped in borderline-retarded mystery and intrigue”.  I liked the first season of Heroes, and last year was tolerable, but this season of Heroes is making me angry.  I think I’m going to have to break up with Heroes.  I’d break up with Lost, but I’ve already invested so much time in it that at this point unless things get really bad, I’m in it for the long haul.

6. Thank you so much for not sucking, Patrick Lalime.  Seriously.  Thank you.

11 Responses to “6 Things”


  1. 1 Q-girl October 19, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Agreed on heroes. It gets worse with every episode. Wait, shouldn’t I be talking about hockey….meh.

    I don’t know if I have ever even posted here before, but I read all the time. I think your team drafts funny. Anyway good ol’ job Kate.

  2. 2 Anne October 19, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    I agree about Heroes. Seriously, if they bring back one more “I was dead but WOOP, the plot line would be more interesting if I wasn’t.” character, I’m writing threatening letters to NBC.

  3. 3 pjf-usrt October 20, 2008 at 6:47 am

    Sorry, that Bills rap puts me in stitches every week;)/ sometimes I’m in borderline tears laughing hysterically with it.

    Sabres lose, the ’72 Dolphins must be sipping the champagne….wait, Edmonton and Minnesota still haven’t lost yet.

  4. 4 Amy October 20, 2008 at 8:39 am

    The only bits of Heroes that I really enjoy right now are the Sylar/HRG partnership and the occasional Mr. Muggles sighting. Both bring much needed lightheartedness to the show.

    And I’m really starting to like Patrick Lalime. Not only has he played very well so far, but off the ice he seems so laid back, the anti-Crunchy, if you will. And, judging from the “10 Stupid Questions” segment during Saturday’s game, you could tell that he and Crunchy do get along pretty well.

  5. 5 Katebits October 20, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Hiya Q-girl! Thanks for reading!

    Anne for some reason “WOOP” just cracked me up.

    Peter, you know, I think the lyrics are often quite, funny. (If you want an indication of how loony I am, I can tell you I agonized over the word “marginally” in the sentence, “But the marginally funny lyrics….” I kept taking it out and putting it back in.) I just cannot STAND that bu-bu-bu-bu-bu-bu Bills part. It haunts me. It gets stuck in my head and IT HAUNTS ME!

    Oooh. Amy, I didn’t watch the game on Saturday because I was working. I did not see this “10 stupid questions” clip. That sounds like my kind of intermission entertainment.

  6. 6 Amy October 20, 2008 at 10:07 am

    I did not see this “10 stupid questions” clip. That sounds like my kind of intermission entertainment.

    It was completely mindless and absolutely adorable. It mainly focused on Miller/Lalime and Kaleta/Mair, with a side of Roy. Kevin Sylvester said that an extended version would be posted on the website soon, so hopefully it goes up today.

  7. 7 JB October 20, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    They posted it and its not extended… sniff sniff!!!!

  8. 8 markberm October 20, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    “I liked the first season of Heroes, and last year was tolerable, but this season of Heroes is making me angry. I think I’m going to have to break up with Heroes.”

    I guess I’m at odds with you and most of the comm enters on Heroes, Kate. I love it this season. I thought season 1 was amazing and season 2 was average at best. But I’m really enjoying just about everything about season 3 except Suresh, who I’ve always hated. I think it’s reclaimed the spirit of season 1 and is a must see for me. I love Lost too, which is the one of the best shows ever as far as I’m concerned. But I get why people wouldn’t like it, but they’re mostly dummies :). Just kidding!

    Lalime has restored my faith in backup goal tending. He’s the only reason we got one point the other night.

  9. 9 drk-sun October 20, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Have you read about the pigeon of the game?

    http://sabres.nhl.com/team/app/?service=page&page=NewsPage&articleid=387685

    I love all of the random crazy traditions that players will come up with.

  10. 10 Katebits October 20, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    That pigeon thing is cracking me UP, drk-sun! I LOVE how it has little slugs attached to its wings. Ha!

  11. 11 Heather B. October 21, 2008 at 12:29 am

    Clearly, I’m behind here but main problem with Heroes – besides Sylar being a Petrelli WHICH I HATE – is the entire plot revolving the old people’s failure to TEAR UP OR BURN A PIECE OF PAPER! IT’S NOT HARD, OLD PEOPLE! IF THE FORMULA CAN DESTROY THE WORLD THAN BURN! IT! UP! I mean, honestly… there’s suspending disbelief and there’s being completely ridiculous.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

