Philadelphia Was a Good Place to Live

I briefly texted with an old friend in Philly about the World Series today.  (Some of you may recall that I lived in Philadelphia for almost four years before I moved to Buffalo.)  I love Philly, I love Philadelphians, and even though I think the Rays are very scrappy and appealing, I’m rooting for the Phillies to win the World Series.  Based on the intensity of his texts, I got the feeling that my friend is so keyed up about baseball that he can barely function.  It makes me happy to think about Philadelphia right now.  Since I left Philly, John and I have had a lot of arguments about which city needs a parade more- Buffalo or Philly?  OBVIOUSLY, the answer is Buffalo, but since Buffalo is not in a position to win a championship this week, and it’s not the Flyers we’re talking about, I’m going to go ahead and cheer for Philadelphia.  Just for a few days.

10 Responses to “Philadelphia Was a Good Place to Live”


  1. 1 karen October 22, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Cheer for the Phillies! Go Phillies! Give them your own parade! But one word of cheer for the Flyers and I’ll consider never reading your blog again. (Even though Danny Briere has kids in the same hockey league as my kids and I stare moonily at him whenever he turns up at tournaments).

  2. 2 Becky October 22, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    I’m cheering for 2-0, but 2-10 cumulative total works for me :)

  3. 3 pjf-usrt October 22, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    Oh I myself am texting back and forth with some (ph)riends (ph)rom Philly watching this game….they’re amped….in classic Phillyfan mode.

  4. 4 Glenn October 23, 2008 at 10:10 am

    Sweetie,
    I lived in Philly the last time they were in the World Series….
    It’s going to be an INSANE couple of days!
    Glenn

  5. 5 Destiny October 23, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    I’m rooting for Philly too but only because the Red Sox are out and I like Philly’s big green guy!

    I was without Internet for like, three weeks, and I am SO glad to be able to read your blogs again!

  6. 6 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 23, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    As one of the more rabid Phillie fans you know, I thank you for your compassion. I’d say more, but I’m already late for a get-together with some other Phanatics – we’re going down to the airport to boo landings for a few hours before the game…

  7. 7 Heather B. October 23, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    Go, Rays, go! Go, Rays, go! Go, Rays, go!

  8. 8 Matt October 23, 2008 at 4:39 pm

    Go, Rays, go! Go, Rays, go! Go, Rays, go!

    Damn straight!

  9. 10 Matt October 24, 2008 at 9:59 am

    Haters.

    Damn Straight!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

