Sabres @ Wild 10/23/08

Pregame

Mood: WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!  The Sabres are playing the Minnesota Wild!  I may have lived in Philadelphia after college, and I might be a Buffalonian now, but I am a Minnesotan at my core.  Good-natured passive aggression runs through my veins.  I am a Minnesotan by birth, but I am a Buffalonian and Sabres fan by choice.  Let’s go Buff-a-lo!
Favorite Sabre: Thomas Vanek is holding strong in this category.  His sudden transformation from Slag-Faced Whore to foxy Mr. “You can count on me” Pants, has taken me by surprise.
Least Favorite Sabre: Craig Rivet’s knee. What a jerk.
Prediction: The Wild will try to trap us to death, Ddeerreekk Bbooggaarrdd will demolish Andrew Peters, the final score will be 2-1, and CrotchetyOriginalSam will ignore the entire thing because his beloved Phillies are playing game 2 tonight. (Not that I blame him a bit.)
Twin Cities related thing representing my hopes for this game: Spoonbridge and Cherry sculpture from the Walker Art Center’s Sculpture Garden.

spoonbridge-and-cherryI love how this giant sculpture hovers over Minneapolis, all delicious and adorable.  Um, I have no idea what it has to do with hockey though……Oooh!  I know!  The spoon is the Eastern Conference, and the cherry is the Sabres sitting AT THE TOP BEING AWESOME.  Oh, that’s deep.  That’s a $100,000 liberal arts education talking, folks.

After the 1st (0-1, Sabres)

Summary of events: First the Wild tried to kill hockey, then Staffy was like, “This one is for the mouse potatoes,” and proceeded to score a REALLY foxy goal. As a mouse potato, I thank you Drew Stafford.
Mood: Amused
Favorite Sabre: I TOTALLY knew that Staffy would be back.  I love him.
Least Favorite Sabre: Paul Gaustad’s thumb.
Twin Cities related thing representing this game so far: Downtown Minneapolis skyways

Minneapolis skyway

Sometimes it’s so cold in Minnesota that if you go outside for too long, you’ll die.  So, in order to make downtown useable, they connected all the buildings with connecting walkways that we call “skyways”.  You can walk for 8 miles in downtown Minneapolis without ever going outside.  The skyways are just like this hockey game because……um…..The Wild are trying to… um….freeze the Sabres out, but it’s not going to work because…um….the Sabres can just take the skyway get Staffy to score….?  Something like that.

After the 2nd (2-1, Wild)

Summary of events: Chaos at my house. First, Charlotte the dog was fighting with her guest Katie the dog, then Dan came over to give me keys to his place so that I can feed his cat while he and Ann are in Philadelphia this weekend. Then, in the middle of the chaos I glanced up and Crunchy was lackadaisically allowing a goal to waltz in over his shoulder.  Then I looked up again, and the Wild were winning.  Then, I realized that if I see that commercial where the guy says “Hot girls…..on skates,” even ONE MORE time tonight, I’m going to cry.
Mood: Wary
Favorite Sabre: Still Staffy.
Least Favorite Sabre: Jochen Hecht’s girly finger.
Twin Cities related thing representing the 2nd period: Minneapolis South High School

SouthHigh2007L

A perfectly good school.  My windowless prison.


After the 3rd (3-3)

Summary of events: Crunchy shot the puck right into his own net and then he was all, “Oopsies.  My bad.”  Then the rest of the Sabres were like, “We can’t win a game in which Crunchy scored an own goal, can we?”  So they skated around lifelessly for 15 minutes.  Then Thomas Vanek was like, “HELL YES WE CAN STILL WIN THIS GAME BITCHES!” Then both teams decided that they wanted the guaranteed point.  Then Katebits was like, “Okay, this is bizonkers.  You guys were looking totally lifeless and then out of no where you came back!  I love you!”

At the End, (4-3, Sabres)

AAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!  I can’t believe they won that game!  That was awesome!  Gambler was at that game!  They did it for Gambler!

Seriously!  What just happened?!  The Sabres have 13 points right now.  It took the Sabres until, like, Februray to get to 13 points last season.  WOOOOOOOOO!!!!

Minnesota related thing representing this game: Princess Kay of the Milky Way butter princess bust from the Minnesota State Fair.

statefair_butter1

Much like the Minnesota State Fair, that game was fabulous.

21 Responses to “Sabres @ Wild 10/23/08”


  1. 1 Chaz October 23, 2008 at 8:08 pm

    OHhhhh! I LOVE the art garden! (and the Sabres!) =)

  2. 2 Katebits October 23, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    You’re my kind of girl, Chaz!

  3. 3 Heather B. October 23, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    I need to have my picture taken in front of that statue.

  4. 4 Heather B. October 23, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Seriously, I cannot stop looking at that spoon/cherry sculpture. I want it!

  5. 5 Katebits October 23, 2008 at 9:20 pm

    The spoon sculpture is the BEST! You should never stop looking at it. :D

  6. 6 elise October 23, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Not gonna lie, I still think the spoon+cherry sculpture is totally bomb and I’ve lived here all 17 years of my life.

    And our walkways are pretty awesome. I like to not die, generally, in the cold. One time when I didn’t use the walkways, my knuckles were legit purple by the time I got to the Xcel.

  7. 7 Chaz October 23, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    Heather not only is the spoon+cherry really cool, the whole art park is cool. I used to LOVE grabbing something to eat at the Farmers Market and then shooting over to the Art park to enjoy it. Then there was Nicolett Mall…seriously, I need to go back for a visit.

  8. 8 Anne October 23, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    oh. oh lord. i just don’t want to watch Miller’s post game interview.

  9. 9 Anne October 23, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    WHAT THE HELL THAT WAS TOTALLY AWESOME

  10. 10 ms.conduct October 23, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Wahhh… *sniff*

    Oh well.

    Congrats. It was a good battle.

  11. 11 Jaime October 23, 2008 at 10:45 pm

    “Hot girls…..on skates,” even ONE MORE time tonight, I’m going to cry.

    I’ve already decided it will be my hockey hate commercial of the year. Last year it was the fish… real good Steve. Ick!

    Yay us we win again!!

  12. 12 Katebits October 23, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    THAT GAME WAS HILARIOUS! (Sorry, ms. conduct!)

    Anne, I agree, I was totally dreading Crunchy’s post game! No matter!

  13. 13 Rachael October 23, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    Random question….why do you call Ryan Crunchy? LoL

  14. 14 CrotchetyOriginalSam October 23, 2008 at 11:30 pm

    CrotchetyOriginalSam will ignore the entire thing because his beloved Phillies are playing game 2 tonight. (Not that I blame him a bit.)

    Just for the record, I ignored nothing. We have two TVs in our musicians’ lounge, and I’ll have you know that the bigger one was tuned to the hockey game. (Mainly because it’s easier to watch baseball on a 13″ TV than hockey. Also because I’m the only Phillies fan within about 8 trillion miles of Minneapolis.) Of course, I spent the bulk of the evening rocketing through a Shchedrin/Mozart/Copland/Lutoslawski extravaganza, so I did not technically see many of the highlights of either game.

    I have nothing to say about either game, unless the Phillies somehow come back in the bottom of the ninth, which they won’t, ’cause they’re the Phillies, and my world is destined to be sad. But I do wish I’d seen Crunchy’s own goal. That shit sounded hi-larious on the radio highlights on the way home.

  15. 15 Gambler October 24, 2008 at 12:11 am

    Gambler was at that game! They did it for Gambler!

    They did, they really did! Man, I was getting kind of bummed (and really wanted to strangle Crunchy for that ridiculous own goal) up until the point that I remembered that my new jersey (which saw its first live game tonight) is the magical comeback jersey! And then I got hopeful again! And then they did actually come back! Craziness!

    Our PK is downright sexy in person. I just thought I should put that out there.

    Also, the Twin Cities is such an awesome place! I’m going to the Walker on Saturday so I’ll tell the spoon you all said hi!

  16. 16 Destiny October 24, 2008 at 12:16 am

    I was watching the game at my favorite bar, and the Sabres were down, Crunchy scored, and I was okay with that. It’s early in the season, and one team, even the Sabres, cannot possibly be expected to win every game in the season. I made peace with the fact that the Sabres were going to lose. Then, much like you said, Thomas Vanek was all like, “this game’s not over yet!” *score*

    Freaking awesome, that’s why I love this team! It’s like they refuse to let me be okay with them losing.

  17. 17 Meg October 24, 2008 at 1:27 am

    I need to have my picture taken in front of that statue.

    That is an awesome statue. I think some sculpture parks are really lame but I liked the Minneapolis one a lot.

    Gambler, I’m so glad you got to see a good game.

  18. 18 JB October 24, 2008 at 9:52 am

    I want the spoon and cherry in my front yard!!! It’s super bad ass! Did you see MIllsie’s quotes on the Sabres website? I still heart him…

    “That was about the most embarrassing thing I’ve ever done in my life,” Miller said. “I took my eye off it to see where I could put it, and when I looked back the puck wasn’t where I thought it would be. So I tried to backhand it, and a guy kind of hit my stick.

    “I figured if I played long enough I’d make the blooper reel.”

    At least he could laugh about it.

    “He came in after and said, ’29 saves and a goal is a pretty good night,”‘ Ruff recalled. “I told him he has to buy the team dinner for every time you score.”

  19. 19 toontom October 24, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Minnesotan wimps. I live waaaaaayyyyyy north of the Twin Cities and we used to have one walkway but they took it down because it only connected one store to a parkade and the store was like closing so now the walkway is at our water treatment plant. Anyway, the point is, we don’t have any of those walkways and we survive just fine. Why? Because we’re tough Canadians. When we get cold we just slice open the belly of a large moose and hunker down by its innards. Ask Patches and he’ll tell you it’s true because he’s from not too far away.

    After Ry-Mi’s gaffe I was really wishing for an x-ray camera just to see the look on his whole face.

  20. 20 Katebits October 24, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    toontom, hahahahaha! I should have known better than to whine about the weather in Minnesota on a hockey blog.

    I agree, Crunchy’s expression was probably DIVINE after that own goal.

  21. 21 Patty (in Dallas) October 25, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    The Texas State Fair had a freaky butter sculpture, too! It was the inside of Tut’s tomb, in honor of the fact that the Tut Exhibit is in town.

    And that school looks just like my old high school. We were only allowed to look out the window at lunch.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

