That Was Unfortch.

Hm.  That was not a very good game.  There was so much wrong with that game that I don’t really know what was wrong, so I will refrain from analysis.  Needless to say, all of the Sabres are fired.

Damn it.  It had to be Ottawa.

Unlike 75% of the arena, Robin and I stayed until the dreary end.  I believe the score was 5-0 when I turned to Robin and announced that I wanted to stay until the end of the game, no matter what.  Once you’ve made that type of commitment to a reeeally crappy game, it begins to take on a slap happy tone.  Both goals were surprisingly enjoyable considering all hope was lost.  When the score was 5-0 we decided that we would lower our standards, and leave happy as long as the Sabres lost by 4 goals or less.  We treated that game like a dimwitted child.  “Oh, LOOK!  You tied your shoe all by yourself! You scored a 5-on-3 goal!  YAY!  You’re SUCH a smart boy good hockey team!”  Then we’d do some exaggerated, condescending cheering.  Sometimes you have to make your own fun.

I’ve been to a lot of crappy games, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen the Sabres down by such a wide margin.  I took careful note of the fans around me, and I believe that the people who stay until the end of a game like that fall into one of three categories:

1. Children.  Kids don’t really seem to care about the score.  As the crowd thinned, the chances of getting up onto the scoreboard increased dramatically, which was a dream scenario for kids.  I can see how parents of perfectly happy children wouldn’t neccessarily rush to get them out the door just because the Sabres were getting their asses handed to them.  I also imagine children are like dogs in that it’s good to get them totally tired out before taking them home.  Might as well get your money’s worth out of that ticket.

2. Drunks.  I don’t usually drink at Sabres games, but I’ve noticed that QUITE a few Buffalonians tip back a Blue Light or two seven.  A lot of these people stayed late into the game.  On the way home Robin and I were discussing our plans to drink some big beers at the next game. Enough of this Diet Coke bullhonkey.

3. Sarcastic Cheerers.  Drunks can also be a part of this category, and this is definitely where Robin and I fell tonight.  Perhaps this is just because I’m a relatively inexperienced game goer, but I think cheering sarcastically is pretty funny.  The dude behind us tried to start a “ZERO…..we want ONE!” cheer, which I thought was enjoyable.  I myself became somewhat preoccupied with calculating the rate at which the Sabres would need to score in order to tie the game.  “Alright!  If you score ONE GOAL PER MINUTE for the next FOUR minutes, you’re RIGHT BACK IN THIS GAME!”

All in all, that game sucked, but I had fun.  (You’re still all fired, Sabres.)

20 Responses to “That Was Unfortch.”


  1. 1 karen October 27, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Buffalo fans (pick your sport) understand the true meaning of, “There is still time.” Until the last whistle blows, there is still time for your team – despite being ahead by four goals – to blow it. There is still time for your team – despite being down 21 points – to spring back and win. Stay to the end…you’d hate to be in your car when they pop two goals into the net in seven seconds (twice – ha) to make the last few moments really interesting!

  2. 2 Caroline October 28, 2008 at 12:01 am

    The dude behind us tried to start a “ZERO…..we want ONE!” cheer
    That is just amazing.

  3. 3 JBo October 28, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Wait…were you in front of me? I too tried to do a “Zero! We want one!” cheer. UGH. You can’t say all of the Sabres are fired. Crunchy, Hank, Goose, Rivet, and Hecht didn’t even play tonight. Timmy didn’t either but he can be fired just because no one really likes him.

    Seriously, though. Did they wake up this morning and say “Oh, I just don’t give a crap”? Did they forget how to play hockey? I was so let down. But alas, we shall see what Thursday has in store for us. I’ll be there. :)

  4. 4 JBo October 28, 2008 at 12:14 am

    On a funnier/lighter note, to all who attended the game: did anyone notice Lalime continously bopping his head during the anthems?

    It was like “Uh, uh, what, check it, REEEEE-MIX”, hahaha. He just kept doing the head bop as if he left his iPod headphones in or something while listening to some DMX.

  5. 5 Valerie (aka blitzen) October 28, 2008 at 5:53 am

    Damn it. It had to be Ottawa

    Don’t worry. The sun will come up today (eventually) and Buffalo will resume its dominant ways and Ottawa will resume its not so dominant ways. ‘Tis but one game.

    But on another more exciting front….I hear that Buffalo will host the 2011 World Junior Hockey Championship! This is great great hockey and you must reserve your tickets now! This tournament will be in Ottawa this year and it’s going to be awesome. Now THAT’s fun hockey to watch.

  6. 6 Grrrreg October 28, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Hi, I just wanted to say I tried to post something in the helmet nuzzle project comments, but it doesn’t appear. And when I tried again, there was a message to warn me that I had already posted the same comment.
    Did you recently implement some sort of automatic-anti-habs-helmet-nuzzle-filter-robot or something? :)

  7. 7 ReigningFrog October 28, 2008 at 9:07 am

    How close were you to Peters’s fight in the 3rd? It looked awesome on TV.

  8. 8 Katebits October 28, 2008 at 9:08 am

    I know Valerie! I have resisted junior hockey until now, but I’m pretty excited about getting the tournament in Buffalo! WOOOOO!!

    Grrrreg, I HAVE hired an anti-Hab helmet nuzzle robot to guard TWC. :P Just kidding. I fished your comment out of the spam filter and deleted the duplicate. Those pictures are adorable!

  9. 9 Katebits October 28, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Reigning Frog, we were on the same side of the arena, but “close” would be a stretch. I have to say, I’m not a fan of enforcer fighting, but Peters vs. Neil was a big lift moral-wise during that dreary game. Nice work Petey!

  10. 10 danielleia October 28, 2008 at 10:05 am

    1. “ZERO…..we want ONE!”

    2. “Calculating the rate at which the Sabres would need to score in order to tie the game. “Alright! If you score ONE GOAL PER MINUTE for the next FOUR minutes, you’re RIGHT BACK IN THIS GAME!”

    I did both of those things. I’m a sarcastic cheerer!

  11. 11 Jaime October 28, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    I love sarcastic cheering! We did that A LOT last season.

  12. 12 Kathee October 28, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    I had my family cracking up with the evil names I was calling some members of the team (cough, cough, MAX, cough, cough) I was so annoyed that no one looked like they WANTED to play hockey last night.

    That doesn’t mean I’ll give up hope….ever!

  13. 13 Amy October 28, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Buffalo fans (pick your sport) understand the true meaning of, “There is still time.” Until the last whistle blows, there is still time for your team

    Seriously. I was at the 1993 Bills game when they staged the largest comeback in NFL History. You never leave, even when the score is 28-3. You never know what is going to happen.

    Regarding Lalime, I do like his little Marvin Martian on the top of his helmet.

  14. 14 spavery October 28, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    This might be some material for you, Kate. Adam Mair went after Jarko Rutuu in the dressing room after the game. If you want to see the video clip check out the highlights at tsn.ca. Looks like this rivalry is heating up again…

  15. 15 LizzieB October 28, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Kate, the big beer stand is conveniently located directly to the right of tunnel 12 as you exit on your way to the ladies room. (BTW, 7 minutes left in the intermission is the best time for no wait at the can). Cokes and twizzlers are directly to the left. If you’re looking for nachos, head to the first concession stand to the right. Shelly, the very first cashier on the left, is by far the most efficient. I also recommend the burger basket purchased downstairs, if you get there early enough. They’ve recently switched from french fries to potato chips, presumably as a cost-cutting measure, but Mama B and I are addicted nonetheless.

    By the end of the season, you too will be intimately familiar with the advantages of Section 310.

  16. 16 Roman October 28, 2008 at 4:59 pm

    ……….children are like dogs in that it’s good to get them totally tired out before taking them home….. Nice!!!
    I hope to bring you up on that quote one day :)

  17. 17 Lauren October 28, 2008 at 6:04 pm

    This might be some material for you, Kate. Adam Mair went after Jarko Rutuu in the dressing room after the game. If you want to see the video clip check out the highlights at tsn.ca. Looks like this rivalry is heating up again…

    whereeeee i cant find it!

  18. 18 Shari October 28, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    Go the NHL section of tsn, then to headlines, then scroll down to more headlines, then to video hightlights, it’s about half way through. It’s short but sweet and it did sorta look like Rutuu was choking Kaleta.
    Way to go Mair-Z!!

  19. 20 Becky October 28, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    By the way, I was there too. I heard “One,two…we want three!” downstairs right near the end. Most of the people in my section that stayed until the end kept a good sense of humor. The guys from Ottawa in front of us were well mannered and didn’t rub it in. I think they got tired of high-fiving by the 5th goal.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

