10 Questions That Arose At My House Tonight:

1. Is Craig Rivet really the difference between complete awesomeness and complete suckiness?

2. Why didn’t my Mulligatawny soup freeze well?  Why is it so gross now?

3. Am I going to have to go all “tough love” on Ryan Miller this season?  Cause this shit won’t do….

4. When exactly did I shift from skeptical of the city-wide Lindy Ruff adoration to a full blown member of the “I Heart Lindy” cult?

5. Is this the stage of the season where everyone misses about 45 open nets a night?  Already?

6. Is it time to start dying my hair to hide the grays?  I don’t have a ton of gray hairs, but they are there and they are getting on my nervies.

7. Two games in a row like this?  Really, Sabres?  Really?

8. Can you believe tomorrow is Halloween?  Where did October go?

9. Did Derek Roy eat some lead paint chips this summer or something?

10. Aren’t I glad I didn’t go to that game?

20 Responses to “10 Questions That Arose At My House Tonight:”


  1. 1 karen October 30, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    1. No, they’re just trying to throw you off course.

    2. WTF is Mulligatawny soup and why would you freeze it? Does it taste best as a popsicle?

    3. Yes. GO YOU.

    4. When you bought the house.

    5. It’s not supposed to be but maybe they’re trying to make the holidays happier this year.

    6. No – you should wear them with pride. They could stand as proof of age, if you bought beer.

    7. *sigh*

    8. No. To Hawaii. The real question is, “Why am I not there with it?”

    9. Possibly. Or maybe it was just gas. If you see him in Mighty Taco, shoo him out!

    10. You have no idea. You’d have been compelled to stay to the end and there would have been tears.

  2. 2 Katebits October 31, 2008 at 8:44 am

    Hee, karen thanks for answering all my questions!

    Mulligatawny soup is kind of a chicken based stew. I froze it because I made a huge batch a few weeks ago and there was no way I was going to finish it before it went bad. I think the trouble is it has pureed garbanzo beans in the base to give it a hearty texture, but well, pureed garbanzo beans get weird when you freeze them. Bummer.

    (I haven’t actually bought a house yet! I’m being a picky pants. :D)

    I’m sorry the game was so traumatic!

  3. 3 Amy October 31, 2008 at 8:44 am

    1. Absolutely. Its like Rivet being off the ice has zapped all the spunk out of the team, especially when it comes to defending Miller’s personal space in and around the crease.

    5. I’ve lost count at the number of wide open nets that have been missed so far this season. Also disheartening is the fact that they seem to give up right away after missing the net, rather than continuing the play.

    6. If you don’t want to dye your whole head to get rid of the greys, may I suggest highlights? That’s what I do and it works pretty well. I’m 27 years old and already have grey hairs popping in. Yay me!

  4. 4 Katebits October 31, 2008 at 8:47 am

    My hairdresser Charlene wants me to do highlights. I think I might let her do it next time.

    I AGREE Amy, as soon as they miss the open net they stop moving and instead choose to stand there looking baffled. That was KILLING me last night.

  5. 5 Schnookie October 31, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Dude, I hate it when key guys on my team eat lead paint chips over the summer. Isn’t that the worst? *Shakes head ruefully* Some of them just can’t be trusted.

    I’ve always wanted gray hairs! I was one of those teenagers who wished to be prematurely silver-haired, and now that I’m in my 30′s, I’m like, “How about now?” It’s like an even dorkier version of being the person who desperately wants to need glasses but has perfect vision. And because my hair is a mish-mash of red, blond, and ash blond, I don’t think I’d even notice stray gray strands. So when you curse your own gray hair, just know, there’s someone in New Jersey who wishes she was so lucky. :P

  6. 6 Katebits October 31, 2008 at 10:05 am

    The real trouble with my gray hairs is not that they are the wrong color, but that they are REALLY curly wiry and thick, so they stick straight out from my head. It’s really not cool. I think once I go gray my hair will be a big bushy disaster. Sadly, I’m not sure dying will help with that.

  7. 7 Tricia October 31, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Anyone see this?

    http://sports.yahoo.com/nhl/news?slug=ys-forbesnhlfighters103008&prov=yhoo&type=lgns

    Whoever thought Petey would make a top 5 list in anything positive?!

  8. 8 Schnookie October 31, 2008 at 11:39 am

    Wait, so the really curly wiry and thick hairs don’t make you look more distinguished? I think I’ve been misled about the whole “gray hair” thing. Bummer.

  9. 9 Katebits October 31, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    My gray hairs definitely make me look MORE flighty and absent-minded-professor-y, which is a look I should probably be trying to DOWNplay.

    Oooh, thanks for the link Tricia! (Sorry it got stuck in the spam filter for a few hours.) I’ll go check it out now!

  10. 10 Courtney October 31, 2008 at 1:18 pm

    I’m against highlights. Unless they are done really well, they tend to make a person look like they have more gray hair instead of less. Just make sure they don’t make the highlights too light. Reddish highlights are probably a good idea. Blonder highlights = terrible plan. As for my ever increasing, fiercely wiry gray strands, I’ve decided to own them and spend the $6o I was spending on coloring on things that are way more fun. Like yarn and Danskos.

  11. 11 Grrrreg October 31, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    It’s like an even dorkier version of being the person who desperately wants to need glasses but has perfect vision.

    There’s hope then: I wanted glasses when I was young and didn’t need it. My wish has been fulfilled: I’m now blind as a bat without my glasses. Cool.

  12. 12 Schnookie October 31, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    As for my ever increasing, fiercely wiry gray strands, I’ve decided to own them and spend the $6o I was spending on coloring on things that are way more fun. Like yarn and Danskos.

    Oooh, I’m with you, Courtney! That’s a GREAT plan! (I’m going to take the “pug dog money” approach to this, though. Since I’m not currently spending $60 on coloring my nonexistent gray hairs, I’ll just spend that much on yarn and Danskos and pretend I’m saving money.)

    Grrrreg, I’m so jealous of your blindness! :P

  13. 13 Katebits October 31, 2008 at 2:24 pm

    Courtney, I am usually opposed to highlights too. I told Charlene that she is not allowed to give me a striped head. She swears it can be done. But you make an excellent case for the yarn and Danskos.

    Grrreg, I bet your glasses make you look more distinguished. :D

  14. 14 Gambler October 31, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Schnookie, if you’re still looking for someone to be jealous of, I noticed my first gray hair when I was 12, and by now I have a pretty cool salt and pepper effect going on with my super dark hair. I’ll probably be completely gray by the time I’m 30, but that’s okay, I’ve made my peace with it. Add in the fact that I’m going nearsighted and will probably need glasses pretty soon, and I’m going to be the most distinguished-looking twenty-something there’s ever been! I say own your gray hair, Katebits! (Although that texture issue does sound troubling. I don’t think I have that problem.)

    Also, I think everyone’s only missing 45 open nets a night because Yo-Yo isn’t around, and someone needs to pick up on that slack. As soon as he comes back he’ll go back to missing 45 open nets a night, which will leave everyone else available to score the goals. Mark my words.

  15. 15 danielleia October 31, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    Where did October go?

    Tell me about it.

  16. 16 Molly O October 31, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    our mulligatawny doesn’t freeze well either. annoying. it’s totally the chickpeas. you’ll have to make a half batch or give it away to friends.
    and i say leave the gray hairs be. you could pluck the obvious ones.
    the rest of the questions are in a language i don’t really understand so that’s all the input i can give. :)
    i miss you kitty!

  17. 17 Schnookie October 31, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    Damn you and your prematurely salt-and-pepper hair and your distinguished glasses, Gambler! *Shakes fist at the heavens* Sigh. Life is so unfair. :P

    And about the Mulligatawny, at what point are the chickpeas added? Could you make it up to that point and then freeze what you’re not going to be eating promptly, then add the chickpeas later?

  18. 18 Katebits November 1, 2008 at 12:42 am

    Aw, hi Molly O! I will see you soon! (Well, not super soon, but now that the plane ticket has been purchased, I feel like I’m coming over tomorrow!) :D

    Hm. Adding the chickpeas later….it’s an interesting idea. I really like how the chick pea make the soup a lot thicker, but I bet it would still be pretty tasty without. I could definitely leave it out of the portion I intend to freeze. That’s good thinking, Schnookie!

  19. 19 JBo November 1, 2008 at 2:03 am

    Figured you might get a kick out of this, Kate. I posted this over at the Sabres Livejournal. Tell me what you think: http://community.livejournal.com/buffalosabres/563850.html
    :)

  20. 20 Kathee November 1, 2008 at 10:16 am

    I have had gray hair since I was 20. Dyeing it totally helps control the frizzy-kinky-wild factor becasue there is so much conditioner in hair color.
    I actually have a whole stripe along the front right side, but I color it all the time, so it looks like a highlight all on its own.
    Kate, if you aren’t afraid to give it a shot, you could totally do your own color for about $9 and the gray will look like highlights.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

