Sabres vs Atlanta 11/7/08

Pregame

Mood: I am a SUPER grumpy gus right now.  I took an absolutely disasterous nap this afternoon.  I wasn’t feeling great, so I thought I’d lay down for just a second.  An hour later I woke up disoriented and IN PITCH DARKNESS (Damn you Fall Back!  Daaaaamn you!  *shaking fist at sky*), feeling even WORSE than when I started my nap. Ordinarily I am a big proponant of naps and lolling about, but not today. I have a pounding headache and a crick in my neck, and I blame my nap.
Favorite Sabre: Dan Ellis, we hardly knew ye.  In case you weren’t aware, to make room for Jochen, the Sabres had to get rid of someone else on the roster.  All of Buffalo has been abuzz with speculation that Stafford would be sent down to Portland.   (He doesn’t have to clear waivers.)  Well, in the most anti-climactic move EVER, the Sabres waived the new dude.  Seriously, I wouldn’t recognize Dan Ellis if he walked into my living room in full hockey gear and said, “Hello, my name is Dan Ellis.”  I’d be all, “…..who?”  Not that I wanted Staffy to get demoted, but waiving Dan Ellis is totally devoid of drama.  This is like the time on Lost they killed off that couple who was supposedly on the island the entire time but who we NEVER saw until the episode that was devoted entirely to them being killed by that weird spider that paralyzes you and convinces everyone that you’re dead so that you wind up being buried alive. Wait, the big cliff hanger is that you killed off waived the new guy?  Yawn. [HILARIOUS UPDATE: Apparently the dude’s name is Matt Ellis, not Dan Ellis.  Sorry Matt Ellis, you deserve better than the likes of me.]
Least Favorite Sabre: Derek Roy is the new Thomas Vanek.
Summary of thoughts: I’m cranky. I hate everything.  Shut up, Tim Connolly.
Snack representing my hopes for this game: The dreaded Whitman’s sampler.

whitmans1Sure, one of these might be a delicious caramel, but at LEAST one of them is filled with DISGUSTING Maple flavored nougat.  It’s going to be hard to relax tonight.  I can just tell.

After the 1st (2-1, Sabres)

Mood: I have a terrible headache.  For the first time EVER, I kind of wish Rick would use his inside voice to call the game.
Favorite Sabre:  It’s so good to see Yo-Yo and Goose.  Jochen looks a little rusty, but whatevs.
Least Favorite Sabre: Staffy is a healthy scratch.  Harsh.  Also, totally warranted.
Summary of thoughts/events: After giving up an unfortunate goal, they settled down and took control of the game.  Robie just said they were trapping.  Seriously?  That period seemed kind of zippy.
Snack representing my hopes for this game: San Pellegrino and popcorn

san_pellegrino_0,7549105main_popcorn

A really solid snack.  One of my favorites.

After the 2nd (4-3, Sabres)

Mood: Extremely entertained.  My headache is slightly improved.
Favorite Sabre: Thomas Vanek is so very enchanting.  He’s the opposite of a slag-faced whore.  He’s…a square-jawed hero.  DUDE, is Thomas Vanek a Sexy, Passionate Warrior?!  No…he can’t be.  My mind is blown.  I need to lay down.  My headache is coming back just THINKING about this….
Least Favorite Sabre: I dunno, I’m kind of getting a kick out of them tonight.
Summary of thoughts/events: This game is a mess.  Everyone is scoring every three seconds. If the Sabres were trapping in the first period, they must be reintroducing the Thrashers to the wild in the second period.  Good thing the Thrashers are running their own wildlife preservation society.  (Does that joke make any sense?  See, I was equating trapping in hockey, to trapping animals.  The opposite of trapping animals is setting them free.  I’m trying to say that this game has been devoid of defense.  Get it?  Good jokes always require a lot of cumbersome explanation.  That’s why I try to stay away from good jokes.)
Snack representing this game thus far:  A big sloppy ice cream sundae.
Seven dips of ice cream on a plate

It’s a redonkulous game.

After the 3rd (4-4)

Mood: I’m mildly irritated that this game is going into overtime.  That was TOTALLY a goal.  Vanek was robbed.  This has been an enjoyable game (I can dig sloppy hockey from time to time) but I’m ready for sleeps.

At the end (5-4, Atlanta)

Summary of thoughts: Well, that sucked.  Sloppy hockey is only fun when the Sabres win. They really should have won that one.  I’m going to bed.

1093249711

Gross

23 Responses to “Sabres vs Atlanta 11/7/08”


  1. 1 Lauren November 7, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    Dan Ellis? I swear I’ve thought for the entire season (well the like 3 games hes played) his name was Matt…

  2. 2 ReigningFrog November 7, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Aw, poor Kate. You and Fall Back started out so strong.

    I hate the jelly filled Whitmans.

  3. 3 Chaz November 7, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Oh Kate! The Jaro interview must have made you feel better. I think I love Jaro now…

  4. 4 alix November 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    I admire you Sabres fans for still being so calm in your daily lives. I’ve never watched an entire game with Rick J. My heart is racing, and my blood pressure is through the roof! I think I might keel over and die if it were a playoff game. :)

    I’m sorry you’re having such a rough day Katebits!

  5. 5 Amy November 7, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Sorry that you’re having a cruddy day, Katebits. Tomorrow will be better, I know it!

    Do the Whitman’s samplers come with the little road map showing what each of the candies are? Its been so long since I had some that I can’t remember. Those little road maps are so useful with mixed chocolates.

    Now I want chocolate!

  6. 6 Pookie November 7, 2008 at 10:21 pm

    Aw man, I hate naps like that! I hope you feel better soon!

  7. 7 Pookie November 7, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Those little road maps are so useful with mixed chocolates.

    The little road maps are great, but somehow the coconut ones are always shaped exactly like the dark chocolate covered hazelnut nougat so I get tricked into eating them and then I am so disgusted by the coconut that I’m sure I’ll never eat anything ever again!

  8. 8 Katebits November 7, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    Wait. His name IS Matt Ellis! AAAHAHA! Poor dude, indeed.

    Thanks for all the sympathy, guys. I’m being a BIG baby tonight.

  9. 9 Katebits November 7, 2008 at 10:40 pm

    Amy, I don’t know how to read maps. :P

    Thomas Vanek is out. of. control.

  10. 10 Katebits November 7, 2008 at 10:43 pm

    That sucked. That was TOTALLY a goal….but you couldn’t see it on the replay.

  11. 11 Amy November 7, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    Wait. His name IS Matt Ellis!

    But there is a Dan Ellis that plays in the league somewhere, right? That name seems very, very familiar.

  12. 12 Pookie November 7, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    Was that conversation about the Notre Dame cheerleaders really bizarre or was it just me?

  13. 13 Katebits November 7, 2008 at 11:23 pm

    Is Dan Ellis the Predators goalie? The hot guy?

    I was looking for a picture of mushrooms, Pookie. I must have missed the cheerleader convo.

  14. 14 Kathee November 7, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Wait! *scratching head* I’m SURE something was said about Staffy and waivers tonight. I was drinking frozen cosmos, so I am fuzzy on exactly was said, but the gist of it was his job is safe in Buffalo.

    BTW, I always wake up crankier after a nap, so I feel your pain, Kate.

  15. 15 Schnookie November 8, 2008 at 12:39 am

    Wow. A game that goes from Whitman’s Sampler to Popcorn and San Pellegrino to Ice Cream Sundae to Mushrooms, on a day with a cranky-inducing nap? That’s AWFUL! The Sabres should be fined for subjecting you to that.

  16. 16 Jael November 8, 2008 at 1:15 am

    I thought that Ellis’s first name is Dan, too!

    Poor guy.

    He plays twelve games for us, and we never even bother to learn his real name. =(

  17. 17 JBo November 8, 2008 at 2:14 am

    Wow…I thought I was the only person on the planet who hated mushrooms. Awesome to know I’m not alone.

    Thomas Vanek, is…god. He is just amazing and totally a 180 from what he was last year and I just love him. And that puck, which totally slid up the goalie’s sweater, was underneath him AND crossed the goal line as he slid backwards. It was a total goal.

    I used to say that Timmy needs to be fired and I hated him so, but after watching him play tonight…*sniff*…I take it all back.

  18. 18 CrotchetyOriginalSam November 8, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Dan Ellis is, in fact, Nashville’s goalie. I know this because he is currently a piece of the giant parade of goaltending ineptitude that is killing my fantasy team.

  19. 19 Katebits November 8, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    Sam, can you confirm or deny that Dan Ellis is hot? I seem to have warm memories of him from the playoffs last year….did I invent his hotness?

  20. 20 Courtney November 8, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    I don’t think it is possible to find a more disgusting picture of mushrooms. Gross indeed.

  21. 21 Susie November 8, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    I’m a regular reader but haven’t commented before…however, someone pointed out a eerie similarity between Cole Hamels & Ryan Miller. Have you ever noticed this before? Sorry to be off topic, but I didn’t think you’d mind :).

  22. 22 Katebits November 8, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    Hamels is SO Crunchyesque Ridiculously so. I actually kept meaking to mention it Susie! Thanks for commenting!

  23. 23 Shari November 8, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    I’m glad Lindy’s not my boss right about now.
    Kate….You’ve probably already done it but,
    Advil, ice and cafine and a really dark room!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

