Genuine Concern

Last night after my concert when I got into my car the score was 2-2.  At the time I thought “Cool.  I’ll get to watch the end of a feisty game at home before I go back out to meet my peeps for drinks.”  In the time it took me to drive ONE (1) MILE, the Penguins scored three times.  One mile.  Three goals. The Sabres saved their meltdown so that I could fully experience it on my very short commute home from work.

Thank you ever so much, Sabres.

When I got out of my car at home, Blobby was waiting for me on the porch with a bottle of cheap red wine.

Blobby Fixed

“Hey baby, long time no see!  How was your summer?”

Is anyone else getting a sinking sort of deja vu feeling?  The Sabres we’ve watched for the last ten games are awfully familiar, and not in a good way.  The last time I remember feeling this way was right before Blobby stole my credit cards and used them to play online poker for three straight days.  He finally stopped when I threatened to call his parole officer, but by then it was too late to make the playoffs get my money back.

18 Responses to “Genuine Concern”


  1. 1 Schnookie November 17, 2008 at 11:02 am

    Oh no, Katebits! Surely you’re stronger this time? Surely you can resist Blobby’s sheer magnetism? It can’t be that bad, can it? (And hey, I can think of at least one playoff team from last year that’s not getting in this year, which means there’s more room on the inside for the teams that were just barely left out last season…)

  2. 2 S.Tooth November 17, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Blobby looks so sad and cute. He couldn’t POSSIBLY be that bad a guy could he?

  3. 3 Jaime November 17, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Walk away from Blobby! He will give you nothing but heartache.

  4. 4 Katebits November 17, 2008 at 12:15 pm

    S. Tooth, no, he’s really not all bad.

    Schnookie, they just seem so……much like last season’s team. I am depressed at the thought of watching that team again all year. And yes, Blobby’s magnetism is hard to resist, but it is possible.

    Jaime, you’re right. I know.

  5. 5 S.Tooth November 17, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    It pains me to say it because I think he’s by far the best head coach the Sabres have ever had, but it seems to me more recently than anything else that the Sabres aren’t really listening or responding to Ruff and I don’t know why. I know much has been made of “the system” both here and other places but I think many of the Sabres may not believe in “the system” as much as they purport to. In the pre-lockout days, many offensively talented players wanted out of the very same system because they felt that it stifled their talents. The system was changed for a few years after the lockout because the Sabres didn’t have to play as defensively. They could just skate the other team out of the building pretty consistently. Now that the NHL has sort of gone back, Ruff has been forced to go back to the system he was using before the lockout which is more defensive minded, and I wonder if guys like Roy don’t hate it.

  6. 6 Katebits November 17, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    You know, I think I agree with you, S. Tooth. I don’t understand the system. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m a relatively new fan or if it’s because it’s just not my style to watch hockey with a technical eye, but I don’t think very often about what the system actually is. To me, the system is just something the players blab on about in the post game interviews.

    I agree that even going back into last season there appears to be a disconnect occurring between “the system” and how the players want to play. Last season the disconnect could be blamed on the massive shake-up in the line-up and in the locker room (combined with difficult adjustment to the league-wide trend towards a more defensive style of play), but this year I think you have to conclude that either the players are resisting the system, they are not good enough to execute the system, or the system simply doesn’t work.

    It’s probably waaaay too early to be worried about any of this. I don’t know why I’m so bummed today. Stupid Sabres. I should be concentrated on the Bills today anyway.

  7. 7 Valerie November 17, 2008 at 1:51 pm

    Hey, get him a passport and send him my way. I could enjoy watching an Ottawa Senasnore game with Blobby and a bottle of cheap wine. Tied for last place in the league. How fun is that you ask? Well, it would be fun if I thought John Tavares was actually worth it.

    …sigh…

  8. 8 Heather B. November 17, 2008 at 4:49 pm

    Listen, if we’re choosing between Lindy Ruff and the Sabres, please fire all the Sabres.

  9. 9 Katebits November 17, 2008 at 5:38 pm

    I never said anything about firing anyone.

  10. 10 Shari November 17, 2008 at 7:28 pm

    Meeeeeeeeeeoooooow!!

  11. 11 Katebits November 17, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Valerie, Blobby had his passport confiscated. He’d probably be pretty easy to smuggle over the boarder though. :P

  12. 12 danielleia November 17, 2008 at 7:59 pm

    No! Not blobby! They’ll play better, I promise! Don’t go back to him!

  13. 13 Amy November 17, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    Can we send Blobby to go harass the Sabres into playing better? Think of all the credit cards he could have access to in that locker room. He’d be in internet poker heaven.

  14. 14 Katebits November 17, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    AAAAAAHAHAHA, Ammy that is such a good idea! I can kill two birds with one stone by siccing Blobby on the Sabres!

  15. 15 Heather B. November 17, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Kate, my Lindy senses start tingling any time someone starts talking about the Sabres not responding to him. Just cutting off any crazy ideas at the pass :)

  16. 16 Valerie (aka blitzen) November 17, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    Valerie, Blobby had his passport confiscated. He’d probably be pretty easy to smuggle over the boarder though. :P

    Well, I’ll be in Washington the first week of December. Perhaps you can FedEx him there and I’ll take care of the rest. ;-)

  17. 17 S.Tooth November 18, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Sorry to cause any consternation Heather. I’d probably rather fire almost all the Sabres than Lindy, but this is what I think about before I go to bed. I think it’s harder for guys who are so used to just scoring a ton of goals to have to do boring things like be responsible in your own end and backcheck than it is for guys who aren’t as talented as the Sabres clearly are. In the end that’s what bothers me most lately. I believe the Sabres are one of the most talented teams in the league, and they keep losing.

  18. 18 CrotchetyOriginalSam November 19, 2008 at 12:10 am

    If it makes you feel any better, the Wild beat the Pens tonight in a shootout, and the only goal scored on Pittsburgh in regulation was an own goal. I like to think that Niklas Backstrom was thinking of you and Blobby as he fought off shot after shot, determined to avenge the Caboose’s honor and prevent HRM from falling further into the pit of despair.

    But it could just be that I root for a hockey team with no offense and a hot goalie…


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

