Sabres vs Bruins 11/19/08

Pregame

Mood: Cautious.  I don’t trust these guys.  It’s been a rough week for Buffalo sports, and my heart has hardened.  I’m scared to love.
Favorite Sabre: I’m going back to basics.  I may be scared to love, but I am not scared to HONK.  Goose is my favorite Sabre.
Least Favorite Sabre: Derek Roy is the new Thomas Vanek.  Incidentally, I am SO happy that Roy-Z has been moved down to the second line.   I don’t want Vanek being tainted by Roy-Z’s suckitude now that he is showing signs of rehabilitation.
Summary of thoughts: I was recently thinking about the Sabres rivals.  I think that as a Sabres fan I’m supposed to hate the Flyers, the Habs, and the Leafs.  Now, I’m not going to cheer any of those teams on, but I don’t particularly hate any of them based on my season and a half of Sabres fandom.  I honestly think the team that I hate the most based on the hockey I have experienced this year is the Boston Bruins.  I feel like whenever the Sabres had a little momentum last season, the Bruins were there to smother it to death.  They always beat us, and I hate them.
Animal representing my hopes of this game:  Baby sea turtle

sea-turtle

It’s a rough world out there, kiddo.

After the 2nd (4-3)

Mood: Totally amused.
Favorite Sabre: Lately I’ve been wanting to call Pommerdoodle “P-Doods”.  I’m going to try it out tonight.  P-Doods is my current favorite Sabre for being so blandly snazzy and for saving Vanek from the groady influences of Derek Roy.
Least Favorite Sabre: Sorry, Heather.  Hank’s fired.
Summary of events: This game is BANANAS!  P-Doods quickly scored (1-0), and then Hank quickly coughed up the puck so that the Bruins could score (1-1), and then Toni Lydman had a goal stolen away by Roy-Z (2-1), and then Numminen deflects a goal past Crunchy, then Vanek and P-Doods convince me they are the best line EVER.  Then, all the Bruins decide to beat Petey up at the same time, which ordinarily I would object to, but it lead to a power play goal (4-2), so you won’t hear me complaining.  Then, the Bruins score again (4-3) because apparantly the Hockey Gods want this game to end 12-11.

I think this game rocks, I don’t care what Lindy yells about in the locker room.  And in Crunchy’s defense, at least two of those Boston goals were totally fluky.

Animal representing my hopes for this game: An older, chillax-ier sea turtle.

greenseaturtle Do be doo.  I’ll score on you.
Plee ploo plame.  I love this game.

After the 2nd (6-4, Bruins)

Mood: I have to be honest here.  I’m somewhat irate.  The Sabres are supposed to be good, and they are not.  At all.  And they don’t seem like a team that will be fine as long as they just “stick to the system”.  They seem like a shitty team.  Worse, they seem like a bunch of assholes.
Favorite Sabre: Goose is not a diver.  Eff you, ref.
Least Favorite Sabre: Oh, I don’t know.  Mair?  Peters? Crunchy?
Kaleta? Timmy’s bones and muscles?  Lindy?  THE SYSTEM?  Harry Neale?  I don’t like the Sabres.
Summary of events: The Sabres ate a big piece of SUCK-ASS PIE and then vomited it back up all over the second period.

turtleThe Sabres are the bait.

At the end (7-4, Bruins)

Mood: Fuck
Summary of events: Misery
Solemn vow:  I shall never love again.

violated


40 Responses to “Sabres vs Bruins 11/19/08”


  1. 1 Heather B. November 19, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Kate, what the hell is this game? This is insane! It’s like they knew I was complaining about how boring Boston games usually are.

  2. 2 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I KNOW! Of all the things that I thought might happen with this game, 4-3 after the 1st period is not one of them.

  3. 3 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I HATE this game! They were supposed to pull it together after the intermission!

  4. 4 Anne November 19, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    I DETEST tied games.

  5. 5 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Yeah, and now that it’s tied up both teams are going to get all trappy and defensive.

  6. 6 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    ….except the Sabres. They don’t know how to get trappy and defensive because they sick ass.

  7. 8 Anne November 19, 2008 at 9:41 pm

    GOOSE! DIVING?!?!?!?!!!!

  8. 9 Anne November 19, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Awww Lalime giving Millsy some advice. How cute.

  9. 10 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    This is brutal. I hate the Bruins so so so so much.

  10. 11 Anne November 19, 2008 at 9:46 pm

    Petey is on the ice a whole heck of a lot tonight.

    ANOTHER PENALTY?!?!

  11. 13 Heather B. November 19, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    This game blows so hard. I have no words.

  12. 14 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    This is the WORST game EVER. I can’t believe I ever liked this game.

  13. 15 Kozyshank November 19, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Kate…I would like you to make some necessary cuts as armchair GM after this abysmal,piss poor excuse for a hockey game

  14. 16 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Kozyshank, they are ALL fired. Let’s just send them all to Portland and make the Pirates an NHL team. It can’t be worst than this. The sky is falling.

  15. 18 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 11:09 pm

    Me too, Gambler. I feel like I’ve never been this disgusted before. (Surely I have been this disgusted…BUT MAYBE NOT. This really MIGHT be the most grossed out I have EVER felt because of the Sabres.) I hate them.

  16. 19 Kozyshank November 19, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    Where has Craig Rivet gone? Really?

    Also, unless Connolly finds the fountain of youth tell him not to come back

  17. 20 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 11:12 pm

    I agree on BOTH counts, Kozyshank. During the game when RJ referred to Rivet I actually thought, “Huh. I totally forgot about that guy.” HE’S OUR CAPTAIN. AT THE VERY LEAST HE SHOULD BE YELLING AT EVERYONE.

    And seriously, just go away Timmy. Go find a job where your muscles and bones do not take so much abuse.

  18. 21 Kozyshank November 19, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    How do I not go to bed angry witout the aid of narcotics?

  19. 22 Shari November 19, 2008 at 11:15 pm

    Where have all the Sabres gone period.

  20. 23 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    I don’t know, Kozyshank! I think we HAVE to use narcotics. They’ve left us no choice. Too bad all I have here is Tylenol PM.

  21. 24 Schnookie November 19, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    I am SO sorry this game was so terrible. But I have to say, “The Sabres ate a big piece of SUCK-ASS PIE and then vomited it back up all over the second period” is, perhaps, the best description of a terrible period I have ever heard.

    Again, I’m SO, SO, SO, SO, SO, SO, SO sorry.

  22. 25 Erin November 19, 2008 at 11:47 pm

    WHYYYYYYYWYWYWYYHWYWHWYHWWHWHYWHWYHWYWHWYWHWYWHYWYYW WHYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY???????????????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  23. 26 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 11:51 pm

    Thanks, Schnookie. *resumes crying*

    I don’t know, Erin. I. Don’t. Know.

  24. 27 Erin November 19, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    Is anyone else going to the Sabres Bruins game next week? I seriously don’t know if I can watch this happen in person. I need support!

  25. 28 Katebits November 19, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Sorry, no I’m not Erin. I AM going on Friday though. Yikes.

  26. 29 Erin November 19, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Oh my god, let’s trade. I’m rather go watch the Sabres lose to cutie-pie Biron than watch them get gang banged by the Bruins again.

  27. 30 S. Tooth November 20, 2008 at 12:02 am

    Everything everyone has said here is true. But I can’t believe I ever didn’t hate the Bruins. As little as 2 years ago, everyone was wondering if that rivalry was dead.
    My question is that there was a lot of talk about bringing Teppo and Rivet in to “calm down” the younger players and keep them from you know, giving up 5 goals when you’re actually winning. How come that’s not happening?

  28. 31 danielleia November 20, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Kate, you let them violate you.

  29. 32 Phil November 20, 2008 at 12:48 am

    Katebits, it’s time to fall in love with the only championship team in Buffalo…the Bandits. They’re four-time winners (last win: 2008) and open their title-defense season on Jan. 3

    They boast a Hall of Fame coach, the single greatest player the game has ever seen (and he has the scoring records to prove it), and one of the most complete offenses in the league. Plus they have a lovable mascot and are all totally cool dudes – they even celebrated their win at a Thursday At The Square, fer chrissakes.

    Tickets are cheap – $32 for 100 Preferred or 200 Club. Go and feel the love of a Buffalo sports team again. Jan 3 – be there

  30. 33 Amanda November 20, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Oh man, I am sooooooo with you guys. They’re all f-ing fired. Well, expect maybe P-Doods (GREAT nickname btw), Vanek, Goosie, and maybe Kaleta. Ugh, it’s so bad that I actually said to myself, “Do I want to waste another hour watching the third period? It is time I will never get back.” Then I did watch that period, and now I’m older and not at all wiser. Thanks, Sabres.

  31. 34 Katebits November 20, 2008 at 1:02 am

    Phil, I am TOTALLY on board with the Bandits. I went to a few regular season games last year, and then I went to the championship game, and I LOVED them all.

  32. 35 Phil November 20, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I was there too – brought the Lil Bandit. The Orange and Black are 4-0 since I started bringing my son. I am SO getting a group together to get a luxury suite for the season opener – $33 a person.

    Let’s go Bandits! ~LET’S GO BANDITS!~

  33. 36 Anne November 20, 2008 at 1:42 am

    The only good thing about this game is the nickname “P-Doods”. Oh, and my blog is now solely dedicated to the Portland Pirates.

  34. 37 Grrrreg November 20, 2008 at 4:40 am

    Wow, I’m sorry about the game…

    as a Sabres fan I’m supposed to hate the Flyers, the Habs, and the Leafs. Now, I’m not going to cheer any of those teams on, but I don’t particularly hate any of them based on my season and a half of Sabres fandom. I honestly think the team that I hate the most based on the hockey I have experienced this year is the Boston Bruins.

    It shouldn’t take one year and a half to hate the flyers, but I agree on the bruins, and I’m happy (and relieved) you don’t hate the habs!

  35. 38 MIKE K FROM NEW E November 20, 2008 at 7:55 am

    HAW HAW

  36. 39 JB November 20, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Goose is NOT a diver!

    Miller needs some cookies baked for him.

    Rivet? Who?

    I’m sorry we have a defense?

    O-fense? Oh is that what is causing all the odd man rushes?

    Pink slips…

  37. 40 Glenn November 20, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    one ray of positivity….aren’t we in the LAST year of Tim’s contract?


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

