I Got Nothin’

All day long I’ve been trying to think of a funny angle for a post about the hockey game train wreck last night.  I’m sorry to let you down, but I’ve got nothing, people.  Last season, at the peak of my frustration, I constructed the Sabres Meditation, which I still think is pretty funny and mostly applicable.  If you are in desperate need of a lighthearted pick-me-up, I suggest you start there.

Otherwise, I invite you to join me in sputtering outrage.  Truthfully, I’ve enjoyed being massively unimpressed and pissed off with the Sabres today.  It’s been surprisingly cathartic to just go ahead and hate them. For the last year and a half I’ve been drinking the as-soon-as-they-start-sticking-to-the-system-everything-will-fall-into-place kool aid, and suddenly I’m rebelling.  Eff the system.  I don’t think they CAN stick to the system, because they suck.

This feels like that moment after a breakup when you suddenly realize that although your ex-boyfriend has good qualities, he’s also a bit of an ass, and you shift from being bummed to being really psyched to be rid of him.

I’m free!

(Until tomorrow when I have to go to the game.  Ew.)

13 Responses to “I Got Nothin’”


  1. 1 JB November 20, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    YOu can either drink the kool-aid or admire Miller’s leopard print jock…

  2. 2 Scott Leffler November 20, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    I should be there. In the press box. NOT LiveBlogging. :(

  3. 3 Amanda November 20, 2008 at 11:24 pm

    Good luck tomorrow – you’re going to need it. I still say they’re all f-ing fired. Except the Hecht line, and maybe Goose and Kaleta. I’m done with the rest of them. Well, maybe Teppo can stay too. Ok, other than those guys, they’re all gone.

  4. 4 Katebits November 21, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Aw, Scott! You should come down and sit in the 300s with me, where The Man has no power over you. Just TRY to stop me from livebloggging, Sabres! JUST TRY! Mwhahahahahahahahaha!

    (For those who don’t know, Scott was told he’s not allowed to liveblog from the Sabres press box.)

  5. 5 JBo November 21, 2008 at 1:52 am

    Wait…Miller wears a leopard print jock? Oooooh…. o.O

  6. 6 TheTick November 21, 2008 at 9:40 am

    Scott, it’s Covered-In-Oil-gate all over again! Fight the man! WOOOOOO!

    Sorry, I woke up on time this morning for once. Carry on with your business.

  7. 7 toontom November 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

    Apparently, Lindy has had enough, too! Mancari is called up and Max will sit. Henk is scratched in favour of Paetsch.

  8. 9 Valerie November 21, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Yellow 19 gets a chance! Oh YAY! I’ll have to update this on my Ottawa 67s blog. Yellow 19 (he went by Mark Mancari back here in Ottawa but I like Katebits’ Yellow 19 better.) was one of my FAVs here in Ottawa. Go Mark Go! I hope he has a good game and becomes your favourite Sabre. The main Sens suck too so I am cheering for all AHL-callups across the league. They will rise up and depose the lame NHL-ers!

  9. 10 Valerie November 21, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    ummm – any reason why you don’t have a link to the Buffalo Sabres site?

  10. 11 JB November 21, 2008 at 2:14 pm

    Watch closely off to the left… and you will see it…

    http://sabres.nhl.tv/team/console.jsp?catid=668&id=26003

  11. 12 Anne November 21, 2008 at 5:07 pm

    I have a feeling the whole Arena will have a “‘I’m reserving my love until you prove you’ve earned it.’ sitting with their arms crossed” kind of vibe. Except for Mancari and Paetsch, they’ve done nothing to earn our disapproval.

  12. 13 CrotchetyOriginalSam November 21, 2008 at 8:15 pm

    Wait, tomorrow when you go to the game? How is it you have a Saturday night off? Aren’t you an orchestra musician? Grrr.

    (Sorry. Just jealous. I actually have tonight off. But the sucky Wild chose to have games last night and tomorrow night, while I’m working.)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

