Sabres vs. Penguins 11/28/08

Pregame

Mood: Chipper!  I hope you all had a joyful and delicious Thanksgiving.  I love Thanksgiving and I love that the Sabres put in a good effort on Wednesday.  That said, I’ve learned (the hard way) to never ever ever trust the Sabres.
Favorite Sabre: Thomas Vanek, please, please, please, don’t be injured.
Least Favorite Sabre: Andrew Peters, please, please, please don’t be in the lineup.
Prediction: There’s no way the Sabres win this game, right?  I figure that after their fine display of solid hockey (and foxy jerseys) on Wednesday, the Sabres will certainly attempt to phone it in tonight. Then again, as a sign of their utmost respect for us, the Penguins are starting a rookie goaltender.  Lazy, turkey-bloated Sabres versus a nervous, highly motivated rookie goaltender…..it’s a tough call.
Insane holiday tradition representing my hopes for this game: Waiting in line to shop on Black Friday.

blackfriday

Much like the Sabres often make me feel, looking at this picture makes me question what it means to be a human being, but not in a good way- more in a “sweet merciful heaven, WHY?!” kind of way.

After the 1st (1-1)

Mood: Entertained.  This is a good game.
Favorite Sabre: Max is a whack-a-doo, but someday soon he won’t be a Sabre.  I’m going to enjoy him while I can.  The set-up for Staffy’s goal, which involved Max skating the puck all over tarnation while performing clumsy pirouettes until he finally misfired on a wrap-around attempt and accidentally slid the puck to a waiting Staffy, was a HOOT.
Least Favorite Sabre: Max is a whack-a-doo, but someday soon he won’t be a Sabre.  For that we give thanks.
Summary of events: Hey, they didn’t fold after giving up the first goal!
Insane holiday tradition representing this game: Mistletoemistletoe-01

Mistletoe is mostly weird, but potentially fun.

After the 2nd (3-2, Penguins)

Mood: Eff the Penguins.
Favorite Sabre: HONK!
Least Favorite Sabre: Thomas Vanek missed a gaping open net.  He’s so fired.
Summary of events: This period was wall-to-wall penalties, and the Sabres have a minute of defending against a 5-on-3 to look forward to at the start of the next period.
Insane holiday tradition representing this game thus far: Fruitcake

fruitcake

I’m going to choke on it.

At the end (4-3, Sabres)

Mood: WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!  You know what?  That was a SUPER fun game.  About half way through the 3rd period I realized that I should just let go and enjoy the game regardless of the outcome.  The officiating was atrocious, but all was forgiven when they blew the whistle early while Sid was standing in front of an open net in the final seconds.  Heh.  The foxy new jerseys are OBVIOUSLY good luck.  Down with the slug!
Favorite Sabre: Goose is my one and only. *dreamy honks*
Summary of events: The Sabres were badasses.
Insane holiday tradition representing this game: 1992 St. Paul Winter Carnival Ice Palace

icepalace

Yeah, it’s a little grandiose, but I don’t care.  I’m excited.
The Sabres are never going to lose again!

14 Responses to “Sabres vs. Penguins 11/28/08”


  1. 1 Erin November 28, 2008 at 10:37 pm

    I must say, on the Max front that I love, love, LOVE, how much the crowd at the game wants to see Max succeed. People all around me on Wednesday were just shrieking, ‘Do it Max! You can do it Max! Go Max!’ I love that we want him to live up to his potential, even if we know he won’t.

  2. 2 Katebits November 28, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    I agree, Erin. The HSBC crowd wants to love Max. It’s very charming.

  3. 4 Derek November 29, 2008 at 12:59 am

    More Peters hate. Yawn. These fans are a joke sometimes.

  4. 5 Katebits November 29, 2008 at 1:36 am

    Bad blog manners. Yawn.

  5. 6 Destiny November 29, 2008 at 2:41 am

    *honks like crazy*

    Yaaaaaaayyyyy Gooooooose!

  6. 7 Derek November 29, 2008 at 4:48 am

    Bad blog manners? All comments have to be positive and supportive? Even when I disagree?

  7. 8 Katebits November 29, 2008 at 10:01 am

    Derek, it’s a free country of course, but yeah, I think calling the author of a blog “a joke” in her comment section is bad manners any way you slice it. It’s no biggie, but I felt compelled to respond.

  8. 9 JBo November 29, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    You tell him, Kate. Not everyone has to love the precious Andrew Peters. Yeah, he’s an amazing fighter (hell, Yahoo ranked him #5 on their top 10 list of NHL enforcers) and he has been setting up some really good plays lately, but other than that, what does he really do?

    The fact of the matter is, he still wears the blue and gold, and whoever wears it, I love them. Even if they are a slag-faced whore Derek Roy. There are just those who’s love is starting to wane. *coughPeterscoughAfinogenovcough*

    Here’s to another one-goal season for Petey!

  9. 10 Katebits November 29, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    Actually, LizzieB and I had a whole conversation at the game the other night about how surprisingly unsucky Peters has been this season. I’ve got no real beef with Petey.

  10. 11 Shari November 29, 2008 at 1:58 pm

    Yep. Derek, your benched.
    HONK,HONK!! Felt like old times last night!

  11. 12 Shari November 29, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    Oh, and I’m with you Kate. I don’t get the standing outside stores all night so you can kill someone trampling your way in. Apparently that happen yesterday in a Walmart on Long Island. When customers were told the store was closing because someone was trampled to death, some started complaining because they were waiting all night outside to get in. Beyond insanity.

  12. 13 JBo November 29, 2008 at 3:42 pm

    Yeah, I read that too. It is insane. I work in retail and I can safely say I hate Black Friday with a passion. Not only that Wal-Mart story, but there were also two guys who killed each other in the middle of a Toys ‘R’ Us in California. Whether it was gang-related or over some Hannah Montana toy is yet to be discovered… XD

  13. 14 Derek November 29, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    I never called you a joke, its the fans in general. The ones that expect 4th liners to go out and score. This guy is hated in his own fan base, and it’s borderline stupid.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

