Afinogenov

Last night, a few of my friends were over during the second period of the Pens game.

While we were watching the game, my friend Dinesh referred to Afinogenov, only he didn’t pronounce his name correctly, he called him, “a-fi-NOG-i-noff”.  The first time he said it I ignored him, thinking that maaaaybe he didn’t know the correct pronunciation.  The second time he said it, I shot him a wary glance.  The third time he said it, I KNEW he was just trying to get my goat, so I purposefully didn’t react.

And the forth time he said it, I could no longer contain myself and I screeched, “AAAAAAAAAAAHHH!!  STOP CALLING HIM A-FI-NOG-I-NOFF!”

My goat = gotten.  Dinesh was quite pleased with himself, and rightly so.  I’m generally a fairly mellow person, and Dinesh played his cards just right in order to get me to freak out.

Now that I have gotten past my initial bad reaction, I’m beginning to enjoy the sound of “a-fi-NOG-i-noff.”  Say it outloud a few times.  You might like it too.

5 Responses to “Afinogenov”


  1. 1 Grrrreg November 29, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    Hey Kate! Ready for tonight’s game? Your Sabres scare me, they just beat Boston and then Pittsburgh, that doesn’t look too good for my shaky habs. O’Byrne won’t play tonight though, so I hope for Buffalo that Lindy Ruff didn’t count too much on a late third period own goal in his game plan.

  2. 2 Amy November 29, 2008 at 7:51 pm

    A-fi-NOG-i-noff sounds like a Russian holiday cocktail.

    I can kind of related to mispronunciations of Max’s name. One of my uncles kept pronouncing Max’s name as “A-fin-o-jen-ov” instead of A-fin-o-gen-ov during our Thanksgiving hockey discussion. It was getting a bit annoying. But I just poured myself another glass of Baileys and smiled.

  3. 3 ReigningFrog November 29, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    In hindsight, this could have easily been dealt with by calling him “Danish.” :)

  4. 4 Destiny November 29, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I get bugged when people call him “Fini” for short.

  5. 5 Jael November 30, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Back when Afinogenov was nothing/not on the Sabres, I always thought that’s how it was said. Hhahaha.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

