4 Things

1.  I’m feeling deep sympathy for long time Bills fans today.  Yesterday afternoon I actually wrote a whole blog post joking about how I was feeling really maternal towards broken Bills fans, and how I wanted to cradle all of Western New York to my bosom and gently rock everyone to sleep with reassuring shushes and hopeful promises that someday it will all be okay……but then I listened to WGR for a few minutes at the conclusion of the game, and I heard the callers, and I realized that I do NOT want to rock those drunken angry people to sleep against my bosom, so I axed the entire post.  I wish Bills fans all the happiness and peace in the world, but the bosom thing is a definite “no go”.

2.  It’s amazing how many shifts in attitude one season of hockey can bring.  It’s possible that I was infected with an excess of holiday spirit (I love Thanksgiving), but I enjoyed watching the Sabres as much last week as I have at any point since I became a fan.  I absolutely loved watching the Sabres last week.  I thought they were scrappy, determined, and all-around appealing.

3. I really, really, really, really, really, hope the Sabres scrap the third jersey “schedule” and just wear them at every home game for the remainder of the season.  I’ve written in the past about how I don’t hate the buffaslug, but frankly, now that I’ve seen the new jerseys in action at the arena, I never want to see the team in the slug jerseys again.  Ever.  From the start, I’ve viewed this whole “updated version of the vintage uniform” scheme with unmasked cynicism.  I resent the obvious cash grabbing motivations of the Sabres organization and I have no intentions of buying the new jersey.  That said, I was unprepared for how much an attractive jersey would add to my Sabres experience.  I think the new sweaters look too dark on television, but in person they are freaking glorious.  You may now consider me a convert.  The slug has got to go.

4. I’ll be at the game tonight. (Anne save some green cotton candy for me, please.)  This will be my seventh game already, which is a signifigant increase from my attendance pace from last season.  When I bought all these tickets I wasn’t positive that I’d love such a rigorous game schedule, but I do.  I love it.  I want season tickets, and I want them bad.

12 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 Anne December 1, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    I’ll do what I can for the green cotton candy . Cotton candy colors are luck of the draw. Last game it was all pink and purple. Today might be all blue and green. I’m starting to think that this cotton candy color rotation is much like the Sabres, sometimes you get an awesome array of all the colors and sometimes you get a boring bag of just pink. Wow. I just made a hockey metaphor using cotton candy. I should really get back to writing papers, I might be on to something here… Let’s compare goals scored with Twizzlers’ sales.

  2. 2 S(h)ara December 1, 2008 at 4:38 pm

    I am also going to be at le game tonight. I’m sitting in my boss’s seats so I’ll be in section 106. Perhaps we will see each other.

  3. 3 Heather B. December 1, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    The slug has got to go.

    Somewhere an angel just got its wings.

    Section 323, baby!

  4. 4 allthingsjennifer December 1, 2008 at 5:01 pm

    Damn. Promises of bosoms taken away from us long time BILLS fans. Now what do I have to look forward to?

  5. 5 Phil December 1, 2008 at 5:18 pm

    The Slug IS going

    Loser Quinn himself confirmed on Schopp and the Bulldog that the Slug will be relegated to third jersey status in the 2010-2011 season – the Sabres 40th anniversary and the yea the World Junior Championship comes to Buffalo.

    If you like the current third jersey, imagine it becomes our home jersey and a white version is our away. Magnifico!

  6. 6 Jaime December 1, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    I shall also be at the game tonight! Wooo!

  7. 7 danielleia December 1, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    I’m almost afraid to ask the flavor of green cotton candy.

  8. 8 Katebits December 1, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Green cotton candy is broccoli flavored. :P (It’s lime.)

    S(h)ara, I will look down wistfully at your fancy seats from my cheapies.

    Jennifer, I’m sorry to dangle bosoms and them snatch them cruelly away. Heh.

  9. 9 Amy December 1, 2008 at 7:23 pm

    I wouldn’t want to rock most WGR callers against my bosom either. I think the crazy is contagious and I want to stay crazy-free as much as possible.

    And green cotton candy sounds good. I may have to pick some up when I’m at the Tampa game next week.

  10. 10 KozyShank December 1, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Can we check the Sabres locker room for a carbon monoxide leak?

  11. 11 Shari December 1, 2008 at 10:36 pm

    Oh please Hockey Gods, do we have to wait for the next season for that little slug to be gone?
    I like the sound of lime cotton candy!

  12. 12 Phil December 2, 2008 at 1:03 am

    Someone was tackled and arrested for trying to get into the dressing room after the game…only highlight of the night


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

