Sabres @ Lightning 12/6/08

Pregame

I’ve had a really lovely day.  I made marshmallows!  (Well, truth be told, I made marshmallow goo.  I have to wait a few hours to see if they set correctly and turn into actual marshmallows. )  I’m going to do something different tonight for this gameday post.  I’ve been feeling like the old format has been getting a little stale, so this evening I’m going to wing it.  Yup, we’re flying by the seat of our pants people!

Just like everyone else who has been paying close attention to this team, I am at my wit’s end.  I have but one goal tonight: don’t let the Sabres ruin my, “Yay!  I made marshmallows!” good mood.  We’ll see how it goes.

Favorite Sabre: Itty-bitty Nathan Gerbe makes his NHL debut tonight. Here’s hoping for some pocket-sized heroics.
Least Favorite Sabre: No comment. *eyes Lindy suspiciously*
Biggest current problem: My right foot is asleep.

After the 1st (1-1)
Very important information: My marshmallows are no longer goo, but they are also not marshmallows.  They’re somewhere in between.  I’ll keep you posted.
Gerbe Update: His name is Ger-BAY?  So far I’m underwhelmed.  Except by his tininess.  His tininess is overwhelming.
Best thing about that period: My foot woke up.
Second best thing about that period:  I love it when guys get a huge, wide-legged, skating wind-up before they shoot.  I like it even more when the rebound from the FIRST big shot is so huge that it allows the SECOND guy to have a big crazy wind up too.  Nice work Goose and Staffy.
Sad reality: The Sabres are not trying to impress me or anyone else.  Also, I’m not sure I’m doing very well with my loosey-goosey gameday post.  I need structure.

After the 2nd (3-3)
Things I don’t like: When Rick says the puck “squirts” out of play.  Ew.
Things I do like: When a guy scores at the exact moment I am calling him “a pile of puke”.
Things I HATE: When the Sabres give up a goal within a nanosecond of getting a goal.  WHICH IS ALWAYS.
Things that make my eyes bleed: The Sabres power play.
Things I find weirdly hot: Jochen Hecht and Vincent Lecavalier….fighting?  With…punches?
Silver lining: The Sabres are officially “comically bad”.    I have a fairly high tolerance for things that are, at the very least, funny.  If you can’t be good, be funny- that’s my motto.  (That and, “If you can’t play well, play loud.”)

At the End (4-3, Sabres)

What we’ve learned, part I: If the Sabres play the WORST team in HISTORY of the world, they MIGHT win.  But honestly, that one was kind of a toss-up.  Wooo?   Aw, hell.  I’m going for it.  WOOOOOOOOO!!  (That felt dirty.)
What we’ve learned, part II: If you want your goo to turn to marshmallows you should do something….different from what I did.  Whip them longer?  Get a more precise candy thermometer?  Pray to Lindy Ruff?

12 Responses to “Sabres @ Lightning 12/6/08”


  1. 1 KozyShank December 6, 2008 at 9:57 pm

    I’m sorry but is playing with the lead overrated?

  2. 2 CrotchetyOriginalSam December 6, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    “If you can’t play well, play loud.”

    Hey, you should join our second violin section!

  3. 3 Katebits December 6, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    I might have learned that rule from one of them, Sammy! :D

  4. 4 Pookie December 6, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    “If you can’t play well, play loud.”

    Can that be my life motto if I’m not a professional musician?

    As an old kitchen pro, my advice about the marshmallow is to use half as much water as you did. ::adjusts chef’s hat and nods sagely::

  5. 5 Schnookie December 7, 2008 at 12:00 am

    If you want your goo to turn to marshmallows you should do something….different from what I did. Whip them longer? Get a more precise candy thermometer? Pray to Lindy Ruff?

    Or, before you start making the recipe, ask the friend who emailed it to you, “Are you ABSOLUTELY CERTAIN the amounts are correct? Are you SURE you don’t want to check your work?” And when that friend says, “Just go ahead. I know it’s right,” say, “I’m fairly certain you’re wrong and you’re having me use twice as much water as I should.” That will probably make them work out better. :P

  6. 6 Katebits December 7, 2008 at 12:03 am

    Hee! Well, they ALMOST worked, and considering I was led HORRIBLY astray with the recipe (Schnookie), I’d say this pile of marshmallow goo is a success!

  7. 7 CrotchetyOriginalSam December 7, 2008 at 12:50 am

    In my world, marshmallow-flavored goo is called Fluff, and it goes very nicely with peanut butter…

  8. 8 Katebits December 7, 2008 at 1:25 am

    Marshmallow and peanut butter together?! You are blowing my mind, Sam. I don’t know…

  9. 9 Schnookie December 7, 2008 at 1:56 am

    considering I was led HORRIBLY astray with the recipe (Schnookie)

    You should have checked with the Better Business Bureau before using my recipe-referral service. There are dozens of complaints against me. :P

  10. 10 Katebits December 7, 2008 at 2:01 am

    I suppose I should just be glad your recipe didn’t kill me, Schnookie.

  11. 11 Valerie December 8, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    A recipe for marshmallows? Are these organic marshmallows? Majic marshmallows? Why else would you make them rather than buy them? And wouldn’t buying them be faster (I’m an instant gratification type)? But now I’m curious – could you post the recipe please?

  12. 12 Katebits December 8, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Valerie, I LOVE marshmallows, and when I first heard of the idea of making them myself I was 100% interested. I’m with you, why make them when perfectly delicious marshmallows re available for purchase for a reasonable price at fine grocery stores everywhere? The reason I became tempted to make them is because I wanted BIG marshmallows. Now that I’ve made them I might not ever go back to store bought. The texture and taste of these is SUBLIME!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

