Lifeless

The Good News

It’s always fun to sit around ragging on the Sabres with Heather B.  I bought green cotton candy from Anne, and after the game, we met the fabulous S.A.M. I can’t believe I lived in Buffalo for six years before I ever went to a hockey game.  Redonk!

The Bad News

Are we sure the Sabres aren’t undead?

The Sabres had one of their zombie games.  They were not totally horrible (well, Crunchy kind of was), but they didn’t seem to have any usable life force.  Next time I go to a game I’m going to hold a mirror underneath Ales Kotalik’s nose, just to make sure he’s actually breathing.  I suspect that at least HALF the team has a body temperature of 68 degrees (that’s a normal zombie temperature, FYI) and I’m concerned that if nothing is done, they will infect the living.  Soon, Goose and the rest of the grinders will be infected, and then it will spread across the city, and Buffalo will have to be quarantined.

I don’t want to be a zombie.

The Incredibly Bad News

Once we’re all zombies, the Sabres are going to finish in tenth place again.

11 Responses to “Lifeless”


  1. 1 Ryan December 18, 2008 at 6:50 am

    I saw you last night, but it was one of those “rushing back to my seats oh hey I know her” moments that passed before I realized I should stop and talk to you.

    So uh… hi.

  2. 2 Grrrreg December 18, 2008 at 10:04 am

    I don’t want to be a zombie.

    Come on, I’m sure being a zombie has its good sides. Just ask Staffy, he seems to enjoy it.

  3. 3 danielleia December 18, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Maybe when the Sabres eat green cotton candy before games it turns them into zombies. I forgot to try it while I was there last. I opted for hot chocolate!

  4. 5 Mike in Idaho December 18, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    What’s with the Sabres’ goal scoring song? I think that helped keep them in their zombie state all night, but since I’m a Devils fan I didn’t mind. The song seemed the opposite of hysteria inducing I guess is what I am trying to say. Is it new, I have to see more than my fair share of Sabres games because of my wife and I don’t remember noticing it before.

  5. 6 JB December 18, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Maybe if they eat some brains it might help… ugh. This sucks! They need Gerbe back! Did you see Timmy is really alive! I know it could have been a robot or a puppet but it may have been the real thing!

  6. 7 Schnookie December 18, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I agree with Mike! The goal-scoring song was very confusing, at least on the Devils’ feed on TV…

  7. 8 Heather B. December 18, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    It is a relatively new goal scoring song and while I like the song, I’d have to agree that it’s terrible for this particular purpose. The new power play song is even worse.

  8. 9 Ryan December 18, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    Mike,

    Which goal scoring song do you mean? The one they played after the first goal is called “Wake Up” by The Arcade Fire (and is pretty awesome according to most), but I have no idea what the one they played after the third goal (The guitar and wooing… thing) is. Maybe you have to be there to like the first one, or just be a fan of The Arcade Fire…

  9. 10 Mike in Idaho December 18, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    I mean the guitar and wooing one after the third goal.

  10. 11 Katebits December 18, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    Yeah, you know, that song IS totally weird. It makes me think of the music they’d play at the end movie when the superhero is flying over the town he just saved. It IS triumphant, but it’s waaaay too serious and moody. A goal celebration should be high energy and unbroody.


Leave a comment




…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages