2 Things

1. I really should have written this yesterday, before Ryan Miller recorded a 40 shot shutout, because I FULLY admit it’s a lot easier to write a “YAY, Crunchy!” post today than it was yesterday, but whatever.  You’ll just have to trust me that I was thinking this yesterday afternoon, when Crunchy still sucked ass.  Anyhoo, my point: Recently I’ve heard a lot of media-types getting wicked cranky about Crunchy (Jerry Sullivan and Mike Schopp in particular), and it’s not that I blame them (Until last night, Crunchy HAS been quite stinky), but I just don’t…..feel that cranky about him.

What I see when I watch Ryan Miller is a head case who plays to the level of his team.  Would it be nice if he were more consistent and less effected by the sucky play of his teammates?  Yes.  Do I think the Sabres are actually losing because of Ryan Miller?  No, not really.  It’s not like the Sabres are a great team and they’re losing because of bad goaltending- they’re losing because they’re really not that good.

I think it’s perfectly reasonable to expect our highly paid, supposedly “elite” goalie to steal a game now and then, but it would be ludicrous expect him to steal an entire season, and to some extent, I think that’s what people are asking him to do.  In my opinion, right now the Sabres are exactly where they belong in the standings- clinging to a playoff spot.

As for all the talk about “he’s being paid like an elite player he should play like an elite player,” I dunno, in Crunchy’s case I guess it just doesn’t bug me.  It seems to me that a TON of guys around the league are being paid elite money for non-elite production.  (Hey, remember Chris Drury?  Right now, Chris Drury has three more points than Drew Stafford.  Drew.  Stafford.  The biggest difference between them is that Drew is a +6, and Dru is a -5.  Also, Drury is making $6 mil more per season than Stafford.  Intangibles don’t come cheap, you guys!  You know who else has intangibles?  Ryan Miller.  You think average goaltenders are going to periodically appear in public wearing a cheesy fedora and brandishing his goalie stick like a tommy gun?  Intangibles, baby.)  Who cares what he’s getting paid?  It’s not our money, and the Sabres aren’t up against the cap.

In the end, I guess what I’m saying is that every sports fan has their blind spots.  Mine is Ryan Miller.  I think for most of Buffalo, the blind spot is Lindy Ruff.  But that doesn’t mean we can’t all be friends.  This is all just a really long winded way for me to say, “Crunchy?  Yeah, he kind of sucks sometimes, but whatevs.  He’ll pull it together.”

2. The snow was a pain in the patootie to deal with yesterday, but it gave the day a very cozy feel.  After my concert last night, I watched the entire game on DVR delay.  I’d like to offically put “watching a gameon delay that you know your team wins 5-0, while sipping cocoa filled with homemade marshmallows, and periodically glancing out the window at the foot of snow that all the neighbors diligently piled into pitcturesque snow banks,” pretty near the top of the “Pleasant Ways to Spend the Evening” list.

For those living outside of Buffalo, here’s a picture of the view outside my window this morning.  This is what Buffalo looks like the day after a good snow storm.

1

Kinda gross.  Kinda pretty.

11 Responses to “2 Things”


  1. 1 Pookie December 20, 2008 at 4:13 pm

    What a reasonable argument against Crunchy nay-sayers!

    Also, when Schnookie and I were planning our move back to the East Coast from Arizona, we compiled a list of “Reasons of the Day We’re Glad to be Going Back East” — in the top five of reasons was “Dirty Piles of Snow”, just like in your picture there. Kinda gross, kinda pretty, and every which kind of awesome. The description of your evening sounds PERFECT!

  2. 2 Jill December 20, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    We are all allowed to have our bad days…

  3. 3 Shari December 20, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    “Crunchy? Yeah, he kind of sucks sometimes, but whatevs. He’ll pull it together.”

    You put that very well. But it seems to be most of the team that sucks sometimes and then pulls it together. It’s those puck bunnies I tell you!
    It’s beginning to look alot like Christmas! : )

  4. 4 Amy December 20, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    I’m incredibly jealous that it looks like your street and the street intersecting your street appear to be plowed. My street is currently two tire tracks. If I had a dollar for every car that has gotten stuck at some point (including my own), I’d be a very rich woman.

  5. 5 Katebits December 20, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Why thank you, Pookie! And, yeah, dirty piles of snow have their charm.

    I realized I wrote this post as if the Sabres lost last night, instead of winning 5-0. Heh. For good measure: WOOOOOOOOO!!

  6. 6 Katebits December 20, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Amy. We’re on a bus line. It’s our saving grace, snowplow-wise. :D

  7. 7 karen December 20, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    Thanks for the picture of Buffalo in the snow! Very respectable snowfall for Christmastime. Ahhhhh….memories.

  8. 8 Patty (in Dallas) December 20, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    What a picturesque neighborhood! I want one of those houses!

  9. 9 Jennifer December 21, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Oh Kate, it is SO BEAUTIFUL out today! :) Many snowflakes, and yes…busline that goes directly to work, priceless.

  10. 10 Kitten December 23, 2008 at 9:15 am

    Being a grown up and able seperate my personal feelings from business. Miller is adorable, especailly in his gangster get up, however he is a bit of a klutz between the pipes. Intangibles, indeed.

    Ah,Buffalo. how i miss playing chicken with other motorists on the unplowed streets with parking cars and only one passable lane. Who is going to blink and pull to the side and take a chance of being mired in two feet of dirty snow. Fun times!


  1. 1 Lovely « The Willful Caboose Trackback on February 17, 2009 at 11:10 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

