Sabres @ Capitals 12/26/08

Pregame

Mood: WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! I had resigned myself to missing all the Sabres games while I’m in Minnesota for Christmas, but due to a miracle of scheduling, I am currently sitting at Sam’s house grinning with anticipation.  I have Sam’s keys while he’s away for his holiday, and Sam has Center Ice.
Favorite Sabre: It’s been so long since I watched the Sabres that I can barely remember who is on the team.  I have a happy, vague memory of some kind of…..duck?  When I’m out and running errands, give a quack for the duck?  (I hope the Duck is feeling better.)
Least Favorite Sabre: I’m having no trouble recalling my distaste for Timothy Connolly.
Prediction:
Hm.  I had a fantastic Chirstmas.  I made a deLICious turkey.  I got fantastic presents.  A fantastic game is too much to hope for under these generally fantastic circumstances.  I’m going to assume the Sabres are about to lose, in extreme UN-fantastic style.
Item representing my hopes for this game: Christmas present

present

Let’s not get our hopes up here.  Most likely this is a pair of horrible scratchy socks, or grannie panties.  When you open it just keep smiling and try to pretend that you’ve always wanted three pairs of gigantic underwear, because it’s the thought that counts.

After the 1st, (0-0)
Mood: Chipper!  With the exception of NEVER being able to clear the puck out of their own zone, the Sabres don’t look like total piles of puke.
Favorite Sabre: Patrick Lalime is being pretty foxy.  Good thing, too.  The score should probably be 15-0, Capitals right now.
Least Favorite Sabre: James Patrick.  According to Chaz, Duck is still suffering from the ill effects of getting hit in the face by a James Patrick shot during a practice a few weeks ago.  James Patrick, you suck.

Summary of Events: It was a pretty uptempo period.  Both teams had a few good chances.  During the Intermission Report, Kevin Sylvester interviews Chris Butler who looks and talks like he’s a seasoned pro.  He’s a rookie?  He must be a late bloomer.  ‘Cause no way that guy is less than forty-five-years-old.

Prediction: I predict that we hear “Let’s Go Buff-a-lo” in the Caps arena, that we see the “It’s pronounced Canada” commercial at LEAST five more times, and that this game will NOT end 0-0.   I know, I know, my powers of clairvoyance are scary.

Item representing my hopes for this game: Oranges
oranges-01

I totally dig oranges, but I don’t think they’re a very good present….Santa.

After the 2nd (1-0, Capitals)

Mood: Highly disturbed.
Favorite Sabres: Vanek, please be okay.  Please.  Please.

Least Favorite Sabre:  Pommers is one of those players who I never blame for anything ever, but he looks like a guy who is never going to score again.
Summary of Events:  Well, that got lame in a hurry.  Ovechkin broke Vanek’s leg, and then some Cap scored from the blue line.  And then Ovechkin scored, but it was waved off because some Cap was sitting on Lalime at the time.  (Incidentally, that’s one of my favorite things ever [as long as it’s not happening to the Sabres, of course]- when the home team scores, the crowd gets all riled up, and then not only is the goal waved off but the home team gets a penalty.  Heh.)
Prediction: Sadness
Item representing my hopes for this game: Granny panties
granny_panties4

Goddamn it.  Christmas is ruined. Again.

At the end (3-2, Capitals)

Mood: As predicted, sad.  Also with a good dose of frustration.
Favorite Sabre: Vanek can score with only one leg and one stump.  Also, Lalime was MUCH better than that score indicated.  The rest of the Sabres better be reeeal nice to him for the next few days, because he deserved better.
Least Favorite Sabre:  I don’t want to talk about it.  I’m fine.  Just leave me alone.
Summary of events: Well, Tallinder and Ovechkin will have a highlight to add to the reels.  Same highlight.  Different reels.
Prediction: The Sabres are never winning again.  I mean it this time.

Item representing my hopes for this team: dirty snow
dirty_snow

Tis the season.

55 Responses to “Sabres @ Capitals 12/26/08”


  1. 1 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    The duck has a broken bill at the moment, so there’s no quacking. ='(

  2. 2 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 7:27 pm

    Poor Duck! Is this still because of James Patrick hitting him in the face in practice? I’m seriously out of the loop.

  3. 3 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    Yup! He played a game and has been MIA since. The paper today said he’s on light workout only. If his jaw was broken, they’d slap a cage on and tell him to watch the door on the way out to the ice. I’m afraid it may have knocked him a little silly.

  4. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam December 26, 2008 at 7:32 pm

    Sorry I forgot to leave any beer in the fridge! I promise to buy you some at our game next Monday.

    (Oh, and since I’m stuck in Portland with no cable at all, could you maybe liveblog a bit of the Flyers game for me, too?

  5. 5 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    Oh NO! Duck has a CONCUSSION? That makes me quack with unhappiness.

    Yeah, Sam. You should have stocked your house with tasty beverages. I will NOT liveblog the Flyers game, but I’ll keep you posted. Right now it’s 45-0, Chicago. :P

  6. 6 CapsChick December 26, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    Dude, Lalime is standing on his head. It’s very impressive.

    …please make him stop :P

    Oh, and for the first time in a long time I’m hearing a LOT more Let’s Go Caps in there ;) But I do like your prediction of it not ending 0-0. I’ve always said you were very wise!

  7. 7 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    CC, I’ll admit, I have heard a few “Let’s Go Caps” in there. That might have something to do with the fact that in general the Caps are pretty good and the Sabres kind of suck. Heh.

  8. 8 CapsChick December 26, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Yeah…it’s amazing how much that “Let’s Go Buff-a-lo” chant can be drowned out when you sell tickets to more Caps fans than Buffalo fans! It’s something the Caps are just learning. Now. After years and years of this.

    Hey, do YOU find this game boring? I think it’s quite exciting but someone commented over on IPB that they thought it was boring…

  9. 9 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    No, I think this is a great game!

  10. 10 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Oh fuck. VanekpleasebeokayVanekpleasebeokayVanekpleasebeokay

  11. 11 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Ugh.

    Just as an aside. This arena announcing is HORRIBLE. It sounds like a freaking monster truck rally.

    I hate this game. :P

  12. 12 CapsChick December 26, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    God, I hope he’s okay…I really like Vanek.

    Not that I’d hope he wasn’t okay if I didn’t like him, of course.

    But yeah, ugh, that was pretty scary. Hopefully it was one of those things where it just looks scary, where the leg just goes numb for a second and he’ll be okay after he rests it.

  13. 13 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    Thanks, CC. I feel totally sick. I need an update on Vanek. :(

  14. 14 CapsChick December 26, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    Awwwww! I love our announcer! He’s awesome. Wes. He’s a beast.

    …and I’m sorry! I was trying not to mention anything ;)

  15. 15 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    Well, he does sound, quite literally, like a beast. :P

  16. 16 CapsChick December 26, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    He looks a little beastlike, too :P But I heart him anyway.

    They haven’t given us updates on Vanek yet here – but that’s nothing new, our broadcasters sometimes take two periods to figure out when a Cap is injured (either that or they’ve gotten jaded with all the injuries). Any news on your end?

  17. 17 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Aaaaaaaahhhhhhh, I miss a period teaching my mom “Dancing with the Stars” and someone kills Vanek AND they score.

  18. 18 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:50 pm

    I am FREAKING out about Vanek, Chaz. I’m pretty sure they are amputating him leg in the dressing room right now.

  19. 19 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 8:51 pm

    OMG! That’s it! She’s cut off from my Wii. There’s no more Wii’ing during hockey games.

  20. 21 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    Actually, I think wii’ing is probably a very GOOD alternative to Sabres games. :P

  21. 22 Anne December 26, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    OMG the Caps goal announcer dude is so annoying. Wii Tennis during intermission was much more fun than this period.

  22. 23 Anne December 26, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    vanek’s on the bench!!!! he lives!!

  23. 24 CapsChick December 26, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Uh oh…you guys are multiplying ;) I’m going to be very unpopular around here now that I’m outnumbered! Time for me to slink off and pray that we don’t choke,

    Which isn’t, like, out of the realm of possibility – so chin up, Sabres fans!

  24. 25 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    He is?! He is?! THANK GOD! (Also, what a baby! The way he was limping around I thought he was surely dead by now! :P)

  25. 26 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I’m starting to re-think turning off Dancing with the stars…although, I still have guitar hero to try…

    Does anyone else think advertizing the “Roasting of Lindy Ruff” is really B.A.D right now?

  26. 27 Anne December 26, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! TAKE THAT FOR HURTING HIS LEG!!!!!

  27. 28 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

  28. 29 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    Just becuase he’s on the bench doesn’t mean he didn’t have a limb amputated during the intermission.

    Ok, I lied!

    Vaaaaaaaaaaaneeeeeeeeeeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk Scooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooreesssssssssssssssssss

  29. 30 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    He plays SO WELL for a guy with one leg! :D

  30. 31 Anne December 26, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    Ok, if Vanek can have his leg amputated then reattached then score a goal, SURELY the rest of the team can dig deep and find some goal scoring inspiration.

  31. 32 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 9:02 pm

    Poor little Pommerdoodle can’t score to save his life.

  32. 33 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Maybe they can amputate and re-attach his muzzle? Then he can smell out the net?

  33. 34 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Wow. That was….whoa. Can we blame that on Hank?

  34. 35 Anne December 26, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Tallinder, that was just awful.

  35. 36 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    Maybe they can amputate and re-attach his muzzle? Then he can smell out the net?

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Hee!

  36. 37 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    I’m gonna pull a Pommer and ignore that happened.

  37. 38 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 9:06 pm

    Me too, Chaz. The new season starts now.

  38. 39 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    I thought we said that after Thanksgiving? Maybe we can start a new season every month…I like that

  39. 40 Anne December 26, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    To Wii or not to Wii, that is the question…

  40. 41 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    that IS the question. And, seriously, how did I ever like without one of these things?

  41. 42 Anne December 26, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    If they don’t score in the next 2 minutes, I’m outtie

  42. 43 Shari December 26, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I hate uvchicken. Al almost scored and it was almost perfect…but it didn’t go in. I’m still not breaking up with him.
    What the holy hell!??

  43. 44 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 9:18 pm

    Did….Max score? Whaaaa?

  44. 45 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    I won’t ever beleive it…or can’t

  45. 46 Shari December 26, 2008 at 9:19 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO MAX!!!! Or Toni..whoever..WOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!\
    Onemoreonemoreonemore!!!

  46. 48 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    Wait, I thought Patti was in net? RJ just said Miller. Did I miss a change?

  47. 49 Katebits December 26, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Nah, still Patty. RJ’s just bonkers. :P

  48. 52 Chaz December 26, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    OK, I was thinkin’ they usually make a big deal about it.

  49. 53 Shari December 26, 2008 at 9:25 pm

    Yeah, we caught that Chaz, hehe….
    I’m bummed.

  50. 54 Gambler December 27, 2008 at 12:18 am

    I was distracted during this game beating my family at Trivial Pursuit, what exactly happened to Vanek? I saw him limping off the bench out of the corner of my eye, and then I noticed he was back later, but I never saw the play that sent him off in the first place? Did someone try to chew his leg off or something?

  51. 55 Courtney December 27, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    I’m so glad that our schedule didn’t conflict with the Sabres game!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

