3 Things

1. I’ve had just about enough of this.  WHAT is wrong with Goose?!  When is he coming back, and where can I send my get-well flowers and the beak warmer I knit for him?

2. I can’t stand to pay too close attention to the standings when the Sabres are being so listless, but last night I took a peek, and I was SHOCKED to discover that if the playoffs started today, the Sabres would be in.  What the ?!   Am I being too negative around here?  I can’t beLIEVE that there are eight teams worse than us in the Eastern Conference.   Seriously.

3.  After I got back to Buffalo, I swung through Wegmans so that I could pick up some milk for my coffee tomorrow.  While I was there, I saw Barnes, of Cellino and Barnes.  Then, I had this conversation with the kid who rang up my groceries:

Kate: Hey look.  Cellino is over there by the garlic.
Checkout Dude: (looks over)  That’s Barnes.
Kate: No, Cellino is the bald one!
Checkout Dude: No, Cellino is the one who had to go away for awhile.  Barnes is the bald one.
Kate: Huh.  I guess you’re right.
Checkout Dude: Ryan Miller came through my line about an hour ago…
Kate: You’re telling me an hour ago I could have seen Ryan Miller, but all I get now is Cellino?!
Checkout Dude: No, I’m telling you that an hour ago you could have seen Ryan Miller, but all you get now is Barnes.
Kate: Harsh.

14 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Erin December 29, 2008 at 8:57 pm

    This reminds me of joke my husband and I have been telling each other for about 7 years. Whenever we drive by a billboard with Cellino and Barnes I say, “You’re Barnes!”, in attempt to make fun of his increasing baldness. But he always gets the best of me when he says, “Oh yeah? You’re Cellino.”, and then we both look at Cellino’s grimace and I realize he’s won.

    Glad you’re back in town. And a word of advice about the standings, don’t do what I do and start calculating who needs to lose and how many games we need to win to move up a place, it will sap all of your time and energy. Just enjoy it for what it is RIGHT NOW.

  2. 2 Chaz December 29, 2008 at 9:07 pm

    beak warmer I knit for him?

    I really wish I would have thought of this line.

  3. 3 Gambler December 29, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    That conversation is CLASSIC! And yeah, I’ve said for years that Barnes is the poor man’s Ryan Miller. (Except not really. Somehow I ended up at Barnes’ house once for a party, and it’s not just a mansion, it’s practically a FORTRESS. I don’t think he’s the poor man’s anything.)

  4. 4 JB December 29, 2008 at 9:53 pm

    Oh Katebits… that is a sad event. Just think… you could have really seen if Miller bought granola or not… dried fruit or not… or if he is a candy bar junky or a sugar cereal junky. Makes you wonder if he actually cooks for himself or throws in a Kashi frozen pizza… which I have to add aren’t too bad.

  5. 5 Shari December 29, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Wegmans is soooo much cooler than Tops. They even have an upstairs where you can eat cool food! Someday we’ll have a Wegmans in this ghost town called Lockport that I live in.

  6. 6 Caroline December 29, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Firstly, in the paper it said that Goose may be ready to play tomorrow! Exciting! Secondly, Wegmans is awesome and the other night when my friend and I went to Starbucks at 11 thinking that it was open until midnight only to find that it closes at 11, we had Wegmans to fall back on and save our boring night. Oh, how I love Wegmans. And thirdly, that cashier dude owned you!

  7. 7 Pookie December 29, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    I have no idea who Cellino and Barnes are, but that conversation is a riot!

  8. 8 Meg December 29, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Someday we’ll have a Wegmans in this ghost town called Lockport that I live in.

    Shari, every time I read a blog-mention of Wegmans I turn an ever-so-lovely shade of green. I want a Wegmans!

    Pookie, Cellino and Barnes are personal injury attorneys who have a big firm. They have lots of commercials and billboards and are neither particularly photogenic nor charismatic.

  9. 9 Anne December 30, 2008 at 2:01 am

    My Dad is a lawyer and all lawyers know each other, its weird. Barnes’ brother, Barnes2, is older, yet still has a full head of hair, and Barnes1 has to hang out with Cellino. Advantage: Barnes2.

  10. 10 JBo December 30, 2008 at 2:31 am

    Someday we’ll have a Wegmans in this ghost town called Lockport that I live in.

    Holy schmoly Shari! I too live in Lockport! My name is Jake and I work at the Bon-Ton, mens department. Come on in and see me sometime. I love meeting fellow Sabres fans.

    I can’t beLIEVE that there are eight teams worse than us in the Eastern Conference.

    Shh, Katebits. Don’t anger the Hockey Gods. Just be thankful eight other teams suck more than we do right now. And possibly, until April.

  11. 11 Jennifer December 30, 2008 at 10:50 am

    WHAT is wrong with Goose?!

    I KNOW! I heard that he got hit in the chin area by a puck shoot during practice by Jeep and the next thing I heard was that he was out with an upper body injury. How hard did that puck hit him???

  12. 12 Shari December 30, 2008 at 11:28 am

    JBo…Sadly, Bon-Ton is the only thing left in this little town. I live in the town closer to Amherst so I don’t go into the city to much anymore and yet I work in Lewiston, weird huh?

    Goose is such a mystery. Could he have been bruised so horribly that it’s difficult to look at his adorable face? We’ll find out…tonight!

  13. 13 Amy December 30, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    That is an awesome conversation with the Wegmans clerk.

    Shari, yesterday’s Gooseterview on Sabres.com didn’t show any horrible bruising on his face. He looked normal, but slightly sleepy.

  14. 14 danielleia December 30, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    I’m pretty sure I just saw Goose fighting world hunger the other day. Maybe he was just grocery shopping, I don’t know.

    KATE! I was just at Wegmans! I can’t believe I didn’t see you. I guess I should be aware of my surroundings and look for fellow bloggers more often.

    JBo, I’ll look for you at Bon-Ton too. Woo!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

