Sabres vs. Capitals 12/30/08

Pregame

Because of my December work schedule and my holiday travels, I haven’t been paying super close attention to the Sabres lately.  I feel zero obligation to blog from a position of actual knowledge, so I’ve been happy to publish post after post of “Hey, the Sabres SUCK!”  Now, I’m not saying that the Sabres don’t suck, but i recently realized they are currently sitting in playoff position. I know.  It makes no sense.  Furthermore, the Sabres are only THREE POINTS behind the Penguins in the standings.  Before I looked at the standings last night I honestly would have guessed that the Sabres were in twelfth place.  Either I’m being too hard on the Sabres, or the rest of the Eastern Conference is truly, spectacularly bad.

My point is that I’m going to try to be a bit more upbeat about the Sabres, because even if they ARE as bad as I feel like they are, there are still many teams worse than them.  Plus, even though I complain mightily about them, I still love them.  If they’re just a bunch of scrubs, at least they’re our scrubs.

Favorite Sabre: I’ve been loving Drew Stafford lately, but today is Goose’s triumphant return after getting his brain scrambled, so I gotta go with Goose tonight.
Least Favorite Sabre: Henrik Tallinder.  I’m sorry Heather, but they just showed the Ovechkin highlight from Friday night and that’s a hard one to get over once it’s been burned into your memory.
Prediction:  The mighty eighth place Buffalo Sabres easily defeat the Capitals 8-1.

After the 1st (2-0, Capitals)

Summary of thoughts: Hm.  Immediately after I declared my intention to love the Sabres more, they play like….that.  Interesting. On a side note, I’m a little concerned about how the Sabres will do in the playoffs this spring.  Assuming the standings stay exactly as they are now (which is a SUPER safe assumption, I think), the Sabres will be playing Boston.
Most/Least Favorite Sabre:  I love them all equally.  *shifty eyes*
High point: Uh…..no one died on the ice?
Low point:  Minutes 1-20.

After the 2nd (3-0, Capitals)

Low point: No one died on the ice.

At the End (4-2, Capitals)

Summary of thoughts:  That was….unpleasant.  The postgame interviews were the best part of the game.  Tonight was a total meltdown.  On the ice, in the locker room, and in my blogging.  M-E-L-T-D-O-W-N

Epilogue: They finally beat me.  I have nothing to say except for “OMG”.  Omg, dude.  Omg.


29 Responses to “Sabres vs. Capitals 12/30/08”


  1. 1 KozyShank December 30, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I hope that snowman isn’t going to be on the other side of the scoreboard…..

  2. 3 mcguffers December 30, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    When you said 8-1, did you mean 8 Sabres’ penalties to 1 Caps’ penalty? Cause if that’s the case, then yes, I agree.

  3. 4 Chaz December 30, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    I’m glad to see I spent an hour in the kitchen showing the rents potential houses for me and I return to the exact same score. The good news is it didn’t stay that way. Nope, the Caps scored again. I’m feeling the love Sabres, feelin’ the love.

  4. 5 Amy December 30, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I think Gaustad should be in the running for 2nd period favorite Sabre. During his one shift, he nailed his check along the boards and then went after Ovie at center ice. At least the poor bird is trying (unlike some of his other teammates).

  5. 6 Heather B. December 30, 2008 at 8:56 pm

    I’m sorry Heather, but they just showed the Ovechkin highlight from Friday night and that’s a hard one to get over once it’s been burned into your memory.

    That’s why I’ve avoided it like the plague. I’m happy to pretend it never happened.

    But yeah, this game sucks outloud.

  6. 7 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    At least the poor bird is trying (unlike some of his other teammates).

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::: Amy, you’ve been on fire with the funny Goose-isms. You made me LOL today with “Gooserview”. And I TOTALLY agree, Goose is being very heroic in the face of his team’s intense suckitude.

  7. 8 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 9:05 pm

    WOW, Adam Mair has has ENOUGH of this bullhonky! That was foxy!

  8. 9 mcguffers December 30, 2008 at 9:13 pm

    I totally have a mental picture of Mair and Gaustad skating back to the bench after that goal, looking at Roy, Pommers, and Vanek, and saying, “See? Now you do it.”

  9. 10 Heather B. December 30, 2008 at 9:23 pm

    Roy, Pommers and Vanek: “No thanks.”

  10. 11 mcguffers December 30, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    :^::::::::::::::::::

    Pommers has the distinction of being on the ice for all of Washington’s goals.

  11. 12 Amy December 30, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    After seeing Goose’s post game interview, I have an image of him kicking some serious behind in the locker room. Dude was pissed.

  12. 13 mcguffers December 30, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    Amy, during the last period I was thinking how pissed I’m going to be to see a bunch of stock interviews about the system and “playing our game” and rainbows and unicorns, blah blah blah. Goose totally has my heart after that one.

  13. 14 Amy December 30, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    mcguffers, sounds like a Pommers interview would have tipped you over the edge.

  14. 15 Erin December 30, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    What the F was Miller talking about? Seemed like his comments went on FOREVER. Seriously though, what was he talking about ‘calling other players out’? What did i miss?

    Good news? Penguis suck too.

  15. 16 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    The post game interviews were INCREDIBLE! What the HELL is going on with these guys?! Goose really DID look like he was going to kill people, and Crunchy was SUCH an ASS to the media! Man. Is it wrong that it makes me feel better that the locker room appears to be in full meltdown? At least they’re not saying, “We just have to stick to the system” anymore.

  16. 17 Amy December 30, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    I want to know what media members Crunchy was calling out. Bad attributions and misinterpretations are not accusations to be flung about lightly. A tiny part of me wonders if he’s not also throwing the blogosphere under the bus, because really, we rely on what we see and read in the media for the basis of a lot of our posts.

  17. 18 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 10:14 pm

    Nah, I’m sure that just goes back to a few weeks ago when Lindy called out Crunchy for sucking on a night he didn’t suck and then Lindy claimed he had been misquoted or misrepresented in some way.

  18. 19 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Good news? Penguis suck too.

    That actually DOES make me feel better. Heh.

  19. 20 Erin December 30, 2008 at 10:18 pm

    Ah yes. Man, he’s straining there. He’s so bitchy!! I love it. Love the melt down! Maybe too much!

  20. 21 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    Yeah, that was not Crunchy’s finest moment. I love the meltdown too. That was truly pathetic and I’m glad they’re miserable, mad at each other, and all-around crazy.

  21. 22 Erin December 30, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    I’m really trying to learn how to just roll with the punches here. This is THEIR job not mine! What’s the worst thing that happens? They miss the playoffs? Guess what? Been there!! and my life and my being a fan didn’t change. Let them waste the emotional energy on getting things turned around (or not), I’m going to keep watching and getting SOME KIND of pleasure out of it!

    So, keep the neck rolling and bitchy comments coming Miller!!

  22. 23 mcguffers December 30, 2008 at 10:27 pm

    I’m glad they’re pissed. It’s better than blind optimism or massive depression. I hate when the get all mopey and defeated, but I at least want them to acknowledge they sucked a big one.

  23. 24 Sharpie December 30, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    I KNEW I should have written a letter to each Sabre when I bought my tickets to remind them that this was the only game I’d get to see in person this year. I think they owe me for those tickets.

  24. 25 Katebits December 30, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Oh Sharpie. I’m so sorry! You deserve so much better!

  25. 26 Heather B. December 31, 2008 at 12:54 am

    I want to know what media members Crunchy was calling out.

    I think Kate’s intepretation is probably right. I’m pretty sure that snarky head nod/eye roll Crunchy did that she linked to a few weeks ago was directed at John Vogl (I don’t know what it says about me but I can pick out most of the voices in the scrums) who did the “Crunchy, what do you think of this quote from Lindy?” bit shortly before that. As Kate said, Lindy appeared to be unhappy even though hello, Lindy, I’m sure that quote was getting to Crunchy somehow someway.

    That said, if that’s what Crunchy’s referring to dude, let it go and go work on some friggin’ rebound control. Until there’s nothing wrong with your game, I don’t wanna hear you bithcing about the local media DOING THEIR JOB. (Exception made for Bucky.)

    The apparent meltdowns were VERY entertaining however.

  26. 27 JB December 31, 2008 at 10:54 am

    There have been other instances where Miller has been accused of calling out players when he has played poorly himself. I don’t know where I have read it but I remember reading it. I know he has called out people before but he is one to say he blew it too.

    After last night, they all need to step it up. Man that stunk! But if an Angry Miller is what it takes to get him back on track then that’s what I want to see. I don’t mind a complete locker room meltdown if that what it takes.

  27. 28 Jennifer December 31, 2008 at 11:09 am

    Low point: No one died on the ice.

    Are you sure? Are you really sure no one died on the ice? They appeared so lifeless.

  28. 29 Shari December 31, 2008 at 12:09 pm

    I love when Miller bitches at the media! It’s hilarious! But enough bitching and yapping in the locker room from all of them. I hope Lindy does sit a hot shot. If all thier heads got a little to big a couple years ago and it’s a big penis war, work it out, and get your
    heads outa your asses, stop blaming/not blaming each other and shit or get off the pot!

    HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!!
    And thank you Kate for another fun year!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

