Resolute

I’m a big believer in the ritual of the “New Year”.  I find the concept of “fresh starts” very reassuring, so every January I make long, complicated lists of resolutions, most of which are happily forgotten by February.  For me, the joy of the new year is in the making of goals, not in the accomplishing of goals.  The accomplishing (or not accomplishing) can come later.  Today and tomorrow are all about the dream.  I’m a dreamer at heart.

I really wanted to do some type of year end wrap-up, but last night’s game seems to have paralyzed my ability to articulate coherent thoughts.  The game last night felt like the end of something, which I suppose makes today a beginning, but it all feels backwards and decidedly unpleasant.  This is not how New Year’s Eves are supposed to go.  In regards to my hockey fandom, I’m stuck somewhere between the tired old year and the promise of the new year.  I’m trapped between blinding frustration and determined hope.

I don’t really know how to write about the Sabres right now, but I’ve been reminded all day of the expression, “We cheer for the logo on the front of the jersey, not the name on the back.”  I’m taking a small comfort in the fact that, if nothing else, we’re going to outlast this particular team.  Someday they’ll be gone, but the Sabres will still be here.  Maybe this group of guys will pull it together, and maybe they won’t.  Being a fan will have it’s ups and downs, no matter what.

Someday, the Sabres will be good again.  I promise.  (And I say this with almost 18 months of hardcore fandom under my belt, so you know you can trust me.  I’m a wise old hockey sage, okay?)  Someday the Sabres will be good again, but New Year’s Eve is not the time to dwell on how we’ll get from here to there.  Tonight is all about the dream.

Everyone have a safe and joyful evening.  Thanks for sharing the Sabres with me in 2008, and I’ll see you next year!

Let’s go Buff-a-lo!

9 Responses to “Resolute”


  1. 1 Cari December 31, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    Tonight is all about the dream.

    Damn straight, Kate. Damn straight. HAPPY NEW YEAR!! <33

  2. 5 Valerie January 1, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Happy New Year Katebits!! Thanks for sharing your way of looking at hockey fandom. All the best in all your endeavors in 2009.

  3. 6 Destiny January 1, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Let’s go Buff-a-lo!

    YES! I’m always down for a Let’s Go Buff-a-lo chant, no matter how crappy the team is doing.

    Happy New Year! =]

  4. 7 Ang January 1, 2009 at 9:17 am

    Thanks for making crappy hockey more entertaining Kate!
    Happy New Year!

  5. 8 CrotchetyOriginalSam January 1, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    “We cheer for the logo on the front of the jersey, not the name on the back.”

    Or, as Seinfeld put it, we’re basically rooting for laundry. Happy New Year…


  1. 1 Devils @ Stars, 12/31/08 « Interchangeable Parts Trackback on December 31, 2008 at 10:13 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

