3 Things

1. One thing that always amazes me is how Caps fans and Pens fans canNOT shut UP about the other team’s superstars.  What is it about cheering for Crosby that means you have to argue that Ovechkin sucks?  Ordinarily, my stance is along the lines of “Ladies, please. Both of your teams have dazzling talents.  Sid, Malkin, Ovechkin, and Semin ARE ALL VERY VERY GOOD.  No one of them is that much better than the others.  Talking smack about Crosby doesn’t make Ovechkin better, and vice-versa.  So, let’s just try to move on, m’kay?”

It delights me to no end that in a slight variation of the theme, today I can say, “Ladies, please. Both Crosby AND Semin looked like COMPLETE IDIOTS in their fights yesterday.   Neither of them is lamer than the other.  Your superstars are equally embarrassing.  Let’s NEVER move on.  Let’s make fun of them both forever and ever.”

2. You know, the more I think about it, the more I love Matt Ellis.  It was super fun to watch him have such a great game yesterday.  I know that the Sabres are in biiiig trouble if they start relying on Matt Ellis to score goals, but in an odd way, I don’t think I would have enjoyed that game as much if the goals had come from anywhere else on the roster.  Case in point- Jason Pominville scored two goals in the Toronto game and I believe my exact words were, “Stop acting like you don’t suck.” Only Matt Ellis could have charmed me in that way, and after all my bellyaching about the Sabres, I really needed a good honest dose of, “Hoooooray!”

We totally need a scrappy, desperate guy in the locker room.  I like the idea of kids like MacArthur and Paille feeling a bit worried about their roster spot because of a guy who’s willing to leave it all on the ice every shift.  Matt Ellis has been around the block in the NHL.  He’s not just fighting for the Sabres, he’s fighting for a job anywhere in the league.  I know that there are probably very good reasons he’s never stuck on the NHL level, but I’m rooting for him.  It feels nice to have a new guy on the team- one who harbors no illusions about his “potential”.  I’ve had just about enough of waiting for the “potential” of the Sabres to materialize into results.  At this point, I find it much more satisfying to root for the guy who knows that every game he plays in the NHL could be his last.  Go Matt Ellis!  WOOOOOOOOO!!

3. Dear Lindy Ruff,

They’re going to try to coast on their “talent” against the Senators.  Now that they’ve beaten the Bruins, they think they’re good. It is YOUR JOB to convince them otherwise.  Be an asshole.  It’s the only way.

With love,

Katebits

11 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Gambler January 4, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    I totally agree about Matt Ellis. He was BEYOND delightful yesterday! Not only did he have three points, he was just all over the ice on every shift. I love that it essentially made Lindy eat his words about how when Ellis is your best player you’re not going to win. Take that, Lindy! If only Yo-Yo could be just as dedicated to proving Lindy wrong. Sigh…

    Let’s NEVER move on. Let’s make fun of them both forever and ever.

    HAHAHAHAHAHA, yes!! Also, as funny as that Crosby fight is in video, the still shot the Buffalo News ran today was even more ridiculous. I want to remember that forever and ever, for sure.

  2. 2 Becky January 4, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    Having seen both videos I’d say Semin was way lamer.

    Matt Ellis is almost ready for the first line!

  3. 3 Pookie January 4, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    I agree that Semin’s was way lamer. Sid’s was an affront to the Code — Semin’s was an affront to humankind. But I agree with the sentiment! Let’s make fun of them FOREVER! FOREVER! FOREVER!

  4. 4 Meg January 4, 2009 at 10:42 pm

    I’ve got to go with Becky, here. Crosby’s fight was totally lame, it’s true, and yet in the battle of the lame fights, Semin managed to kick his ass. It’s a fine achievement and I feel we have to give Semin his due there.

  5. 5 JB January 4, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Kate go see me I have a separated at birth for Semin… and Crosby… total sissy fight. Oh such losers.

  6. 6 Shelby Rose January 5, 2009 at 6:53 am

    I completely agree about point number one. Both Crosby and Ovechkin (along with Malkin and Semin) are equally good players, and one isn’t better than the other. They both have different skill sets, anyways. Everyone needs to chill out.

  7. 7 lka January 5, 2009 at 9:38 am

    This is good; very good

  8. 9 Frostee January 5, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I have derived WAY too much amusement from those two fights. Someone needs to take those two boys aside and tell them to leave the fighting to the guys on the teams who actually know how to do it.

  9. 10 TheTick January 5, 2009 at 10:24 pm

    What, you mean that DaveD tool didn’t make his way here to berate you for thinking the Sabres will try and coast tomorrow night?? ;)

    You laugh when you hear about guys being taught how to fight in training camp, or the washed up enforcers starting a school for hockey fights…and then you see Semin’s performance and decide to donate to the school so you don’t see that crap again.

  10. 11 Jonathan January 6, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Hah, I have to say that Semin was significantly more embarrassing than Crosby. The dude got his jersey pulled off, had a flesh-colored undershirt thingy on or whatever that was, and literally fought like a girl when the guy was already down.

    But Crosby is 0-for-2 in fighting etiquette. Between this fight and that other shot to the cashews that he delivered…he’s becoming a lot harder to like (oddly I do try to like the guy, but Fleury is definitely my favorite Penguin right now.)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

