4 Things

1. I’m on vacaaaaaaation!  I’m in Portland Oregon, aka the Land of Goose.  I love it here.  I love all the hippie-dippy scruffy guys, and I love the mild winters, and I love the general spirit of chillax.  Most of all, I love the people I get to see here.  Somehow through an odd twist of fate half the people I love live in Portland, which makes it a rather satisfying and convenient vacation destination.

As part of my vacation, I’ll be chilling in the mountains this weekend, without wifi.  I have to admit, I’m a little worried about an entire weekend without the computer, but it will be character building.  I hope.

2.  I hear the Sabres will be playing the Rangers and the Red Wings this weekend.  Yikes.  Good luck with that, Sabres!

3. Speaking of the Sabres…I know the game against the Senators was kind of frustrating, but in a weird way I thought that game went about as well as it could have.   I don’t think this team is going anywhere unless they can be compelled to work really, really hard.  Yeah, a decisive win against Ottawa would have been fun, but it’s great that they were instantly punished for their bad behavior in the second period.  I think the longer they’re desperate, the better off we’ll be.  The Sabres play their best hockey when they know they have zero room for error.  So, if I have to watch them almost choke away a three goal lead to Ottawa, I’m willing to do so, because it’s for the greater good.  I think they’ll try harder against the Rangers because they almost blew it against Ottawa.  It’s sad, but it’s true.

4.  I think all the hoopla surrounding Ruutu’s bite has been a hoot.  I also think it’s funny that Andrew Peters took some heat for his reaction to the bite, as if he over reacted to sell the injury.  Listen, I love to bag on Andrew Peters as much as the next girl, and it kind of kills me to give him credit for anything, but honestly, the man gets punched in the face for a living.  If there is one hockey skill I will gladly admit Andrew Peters has mastered, it’s pain tolerance.  If he waved his hand around like it really hurt, well, my guess is that it did.  Even if it didn’t really hurt, and he was totally faking, well, suck it Ruutu.  (Don’t bite: It’s a good rule of thumb.)  (Heh.)

13 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 Caroline January 8, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    I love all the hippie-dippy scruffy guys

    Those are the best kind of guys ever.

  2. 2 JBo January 8, 2009 at 11:58 pm

    I love Peters, and I can’t believe Ruutu did something that dirty. What’s that? A two-game suspension worth $37,707 of his pay? Not bad. Not bad at all. :)

  3. 3 Rachael January 8, 2009 at 11:59 pm

    I love all the hippie-dippy scruffy guys

    No wonder Goose hangs out with Ryan all the time! He makes him feel like he’s @ home! :O)
    And I agree with Caroline….I love scruffy boys.

  4. 4 Gambler January 9, 2009 at 12:07 am

    I don’t know whether it’s a good or bad thing that I was happy with their performance against the Sens. On the one hand, the fact that I’m forced to see almost choking a game away as a pleasant improvement is kind of depressing, but on the other hand it was really only a minute or so lapse in which the Sens scored one sort of flukey goal and then capitalized on defensive mistake. After that they pretty much got their shit together and played a good defensive game to hold on, I thought.

    Anyway I agree with you that they’ll only work hard if they’re forced to, in which case I’ll gladly watch them almost choke away as many games as is necessary.

    Enjoy Portland and the mountains!

  5. 5 Katebits January 9, 2009 at 2:50 am

    Thanks Gambler! I am actually totally, totally sad that I am going to be completely away from the computer all weekend. I mean, I won’t know if the Sabres win on Friday…until SUNDAY. That’s effed up. At least I’ll be in the mountains looking at pretty things and chilling in a hot tub. :)

  6. 6 Susie January 9, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    Good luck without the internet :(. Have fun in the mountains though! Nice pun in thing #4 :).

  7. 7 elise January 9, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    KATE! Have fun in Cabin Turina-Holzemer!

    When do the Sabres next play the Bruins? We can have party!!!

  8. 8 Courtney January 9, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Please tell me that y’all aren’t going to the River Nest without me!!! If you are, I will be so totey jealy. They might have interwebs by now though. They had a DVD player and cable last time, so you never know.

  9. 9 Shari January 9, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Cool. My Aunt lives in Portland! My cousin is extreeeemly green. I think she’s Gooses leader.

  10. 10 Shelby Rose January 9, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    Enjoy your vacation time, Katebits! (:

  11. 11 pjf-usrt January 9, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Do attempt to see a Winterhawks game while in Portland…just saying:).

  12. 12 JBo January 10, 2009 at 1:11 am

    Best shootout. Ever.

  13. 13 Katebits January 12, 2009 at 2:36 pm

    Peter, we went to the WInterhawks last year and had a great time! I looked at their schedule, but it’s not very convenient for us this year.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

