My Super Sporty Holiday Weekend

When you look at this rundown of how I spent my MLK holiday weekend, please consider the fact that before the spring of 2007, I rarely, if ever watched sports.

Friday: Went to the Bandits game.  The Bandits won 23-6.  You guys, in a lot of ways I like Bandits games more than I like Sabres games.  I have no angst about the Bandits, and even if I wanted to get angsty about the Bandits, I couldn’t, because they seemingly always win.  The Bandits are just good, clean fun.

Saturday: Along with Heather B, I went over to Gambler’s house to watch the Sabres beat the Hurricanes.   Gambler is one of the first friends I made in the hockey blogosphere and it’s kind of ridiculous that I hadn’t met her before now.  (She was there waaaaaaay back in the day when I was inconsolable about Chris Drury. I know it’s hard to believe now, but when it happened, I took the Drury thing pretty hard.  Gambler was there for every pathetic twist and turn of my earliest sports neuroses.)  As expected, Gambler is hilarious and great fun, and so are her parents.   It never ceases to amaze me how well online friendships transfer to real life.  Basically, the Gamblers kick all sorts of ass, and if you get invited to chill with them at Casa di Gambler, you really ought to accept.  You won’t be sorry.  Thanks for such a fun evening, guys!  (Also, if you don’t already, you better be reading Gambler’s blog.  Desperation Hockey is top notch.)

Sunday: I went over to Dinesh and Jeannine’s and watch the Baltimore/Pittsburgh game.  I’m rooting for the Steelers because I think Mike Tomlin is extremely handsome.

Monday: Hockey at home.  All hail Ryan “Crunchy” Miller.

If I could go back in time two years and tell my former self that in January of 2009, I would happily watch sports for four nights in a row I would have said, “Future Self, you are clearly from an alternate dimension, because that’s bonkers.  I would NEVER watch lacrosse, hockey, football, and hockey on four consecutive nights.  Never.  Get out of town before you destroy the space/time continuum by filling my head with nonsense about a future that simply cannot be.”

6 Responses to “My Super Sporty Holiday Weekend”


  1. 1 Susie January 20, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    I’m soooo happy to hear you’re rooting for the Steelers. They’re my team :).

  2. 2 Kevin January 20, 2009 at 11:04 pm

    I actually played the Viola all weekend in a shocking change from what I did years ago.

    I also cleaned… a lot.

  3. 3 Katebits January 21, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Cleaning AND playing the viola?! That’s awful, Kevin. :P

  4. 5 Gambler January 22, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    Thanks so much for coming over for the game the other night, Kate! It was a lot of fun. And thanks for promoting my blog, such as it is.

    And wow, when you put it in perspective that we started talking way back when Chris Drury was relevant to our daily lives, it really is ridiculous that we haven’t met before now.

  5. 6 danielleia January 22, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    I think Mike Tomlin is extremely handsome.

    Meeee too! Shh don’t tell.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

