Sabres @ Oilers, 1/28/09

Pregame

Mood: WOOOOOO!!  I love love LOVE late night, west coast starts.  Last season the west coast road trip was one of the worst stretches of hockey we saw the Sabres play all season, and yet, those were some of my favorite games.  I’m a night owl anyway, and the late starts add a slightly thrilling element of “out of the ordinary” to the week.

It’s like a Sabres sleepover.

We’re all in our footie pajamas, eating junk food and trying to stay awake.  Staying awake for these games is a point of pride.

Favorite Sabre: You know who I almost never think about anymore?  Sweet little Pommerdoodle.
Least Favorite Sabre(s): Teppo’s face, Hank’s shoulder, and Andrej’s noggin.
Prediction: I’m going to hate watching the Oilers’ feed.
Sleepover activity representing my hope for this game: a scary movie

nightmare-on-elm

Freddy Krueger freaked my shit out.

Scary movies could be super fun, but I always suffered quite a bit of anxiety before watching them.  They were almost never as bad as I thought they were going to be.  Except for Freddy Krueger.  Are the Oilers Freddy Krueger?

After the 1st (3-0, Sabres)

Mood: This is the best sleepover EVER!
Favorite Sabre: Staffy!  “Moooore Braaaaains!  Uncle Barrie I waaant moooore braaaains!”
Least Favorite Sabre: Rivet’s manbits gave us a scare there, didn’t they?  We canNOT afford anymore injuries on defense.
Summary of events: Staffy showed up to the sleepover all, “WOOOOO, this is going to ROOOOOCK!” And then Paeastchaetch (who no one can even remember inviting) was all, “THANKS FOR INVITING ME TO THIS PARTY, GUYS!” and then Roy-Z was all, “I’m the boss of this sleepover.  If you are a scrub,” *mean glance at Staffy and Paetsch*, “don’t get ANY ideas about thinking you’re cool.  I’M the Mean Girl around here!” *tosses hair*
Sleepover event summarizing this game thus far: gorging on junk food.

junk-food-basket

Don’t stop stuffing your face until you feel like you’re going to puke (or until the Oilers pull Roloston).

After the 2nd (7-1, Sabres.  Seriously.)

Mood: Deeeeeelighted!
Favorite Sabre: All of them!  But especially Vanek because it’s funny when he scores against Edmonton.
Summary of events: The Sabres are jumping on the beds, high on sugar and plesantly freaked out from watching scary movies.  It’s all giggly and, like, the most fun EVER.
Sleepover event representing this game thus far: crank calling teachers.

crank_yankers

There is nothing funnier than crank calling teachers.

At the end (1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9….we want 10-2, Sabres!)

Mood: That. Was. Awesome.  The Sabres dodged a MAJOR bullet by rethinking the blackout and negotiating a deal to broadcast these games.  That was my favorite game ever.
Favorite Sabre: Oh Staffy.   How do I love thee?  Let me count the ways goals.  1, 2, 3.  Three goals = a zombie hat trick.
Least Favorite Sabre: I love them all, with passion, and from the bottom of my heart.  Even Timmy.
Summary of events: Awesomeness.
Sleepover event representing this game: Someone stole the peppermint schnapps from their parent’s liquor cabinet, and now the boys from homeroom are threatening to crash the sleepover.

peppermint-schnapps-72-dpi

This night shall live in infamy.

29 Responses to “Sabres @ Oilers, 1/28/09”


  1. 1 Heather B. January 27, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    I don’t think the Oilers are Freddy Krueger. Unless you’re an Oilers fan.

  2. 2 Katebits January 27, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    Heather, :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::: AHAHAHHA! I do have weird empathy for the Oilers fans because we’re listening to their feed.

  3. 3 Heather B. January 27, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I suppose they could be Mogwai. All cute and cuddly and sweet with their defensive lapses and their bad goaltending. And then you feel bad for them and feed them some arena nachos after midnight and then boom! They’re goal-scoring, game-winning Gremlins.

  4. 4 Chaz January 27, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    I missed most of the first due to not getting a feed until the previous game was over. Um, what happened to the Cap’ns Manbits?

  5. 5 Katebits January 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    He got knocked in the manbits by Penner’s skate. It was very uncomfortable looking.

  6. 6 Susie January 27, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    umm…I have footie pajamas. True story. They’re very comfortable :). Also, go SABRES! This is amazing!

  7. 7 KozyShank January 27, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    1. I miss footie pajams…
    2. Was it a bad pun when the Oiler color guy said that Rivet was having a “nutty” night or just a coincidence?
    3. Hot Fries or Funions?

  8. 8 Heather B. January 27, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    KozyShank, they make footie pajamas for grown-ups. I’ve come close to buying a pair a few times. Would’ve come in handy during the cold, cold, cold a couple weeks ago.

  9. 9 Susie January 27, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    Also at KozyShank – yes, they do. Fleece…mine have penguins, and the other pair (yes, I have 2 pairs) have pandas!

  10. 10 KozyShank January 27, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    SNOWMAN!!!!!

  11. 11 KozyShank January 27, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    Way to go Stafford…what the elf does a nine look like anyways?

  12. 12 MikeP January 27, 2009 at 11:43 pm

    Poor Capn’s Bits.

    Did you enjoy the crowd yelling “We want 10″? And then having their wish fulfilled?

  13. 13 Frisbee January 27, 2009 at 11:44 pm

    Seriously??? That’s the actual score? I saw that and felt confused.

  14. 14 Katebits January 27, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! THAT WAS THE GREATEST!

    Funions all the way!

    MikeP, Capt’bits seemed okay by the end.

    (Frisbee, who do you root for in a Bruins/Caps situation? Cause I kind of love the Bruins.)

  15. 15 rani January 27, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    your blog comes up as the first google result for “sabres oilers” right now. thanks for the update, I would also be deeeelighted to watch a 10goal game. I can’t wait to see the highlights.

  16. 16 Katebits January 27, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    Seriously?! #1?! Awesome! Thanks for stopping in, rani!

  17. 17 Susie January 28, 2009 at 12:15 am

    Awwww, Staffy got the pigeon. On WGR’s postgame show, the guy asked him about it. I think he said he was going to sleep with it!

  18. 18 Phil January 28, 2009 at 12:39 am

    Woot for the return of the pigeon! I wonder if it delivered a gift basket of brains to Staffy hmm

  19. 19 Amy January 28, 2009 at 9:01 am

    The Sabres are jumping on the beds, high on sugar and pleasantly freaked out from watching scary movies. It’s all giggly and, like, the most fun EVER.

    For some reason, I can totally picture this happening. All it needs is Lindy standing in the hallway, yelling at them to keep it down, lest he have to come in there.

  20. 20 Frisbee January 28, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I cheer for the Caps, but it does not make me feel as sad as it should when they lose in OT and at least get a point. But like the Wild is your SFT, so it is with me and the cute little bears…home is where the hockey is.

  21. 21 piece_of_etc January 28, 2009 at 10:25 am

    frisbee you worry me, home is where the hockey is unless you GREW UP IN BOSTON.

    (Colon)el Piece, recovering from his own profession-related injuries: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/health/7853564.stm

  22. 22 Katebits January 28, 2009 at 11:17 am

    AAAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAHAH!

    I think might “viola scrotum” is acting up. I don’t think I can practice today.

  23. 23 dani January 28, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Ok. I’m reading this at school and you made me laugh so hard at the “more braiiinnns” part. Thank you ever so much! haha

  24. 25 Shari January 28, 2009 at 6:39 pm

    Ha! I so picture Roy being in head of a sleep over and tossing his hair! I hear he’s gonna sing some kinda Lady Ga Ga song at the Catwalk. I don’t know who she is or what she sings but I heard Crunchy on the radio saying Derek likes Mama Ga Ga. I think he was mocking. Hope everyone made it home safely tonight!

  25. 26 Shari January 28, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    I meant THE head of a sleepover. : )

  26. 27 Ang January 28, 2009 at 7:42 pm

    I had to donate to your cause in honor of the most hillarious post EVER!! The only thing missing was levitation and freezing of bras!

  27. 28 Lauren January 28, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    So I was watching the game and just happened to think..what actually happened to Max? And I absolutely have no idea..can anyone fill me in??

  28. 29 Katebits January 29, 2009 at 12:33 am

    Thank you Ang!

    Lauren, I think Max got mauled by Chara when they last played Boston. Or at least that’s the story that the Sabres are telling.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

