You Guys Rock!

I cannot express how deeply humbled and grateful I am by the success of the Buffalo Outdoor Sports Association fundraiser.  Thanks to all of you fabulous, wonderful, generous, attractive, thoughtful, and downright magnificent people, we raised a total of……

(Drumroll please)

bumubumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbubmbubmbubmbubmbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbumbubmbum

……$1,053.57!

Dude!  I KNOW!

Please let me be the first to offer a hearty, WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!

When I first hatched this plan, I knew that you guys would come through (cause I already knew that you guys rock), but I did not anticipate this LEVEL of generosity and participation. If you recall, the initial goal was $300- enough to pay for one bus ride out to Kissing Bridge.  We reached the $300 mark within 24 hours of the start of the fundraiser, and in the end we more than TRIPLED (3x) that goal.  I just…..don’t know how to thank you enough.

Thank you so so so so so so so so so so so much to everyone who donated.  This money is going to go a long way for BOSA, and I am so proud of everyone who participated.

Debby, my friend, and the founder of the Buffalo Outdoor Sports Association asked me to publish the following letter:

Dear Willful Caboose readers,
Your generosity is so touching. I really don’t know where to begin in conveying how awesome it feels to have people reach out and support this little club just because they read about it and were inspired to help. The dollar amount was insignificant compared to the fact that so many of you stopped what you were doing and shared part of what you have with this club.
What Kate said is true. We run it completely on community donations and usually getting those donations (aka Fundraising) is a source of major anxiety.  This fundraiser felt so different and so fun because it was so easy to do and because TWC undertook it with a sense of joy and possibility. That feeling has spread back to us. This past week of fundraising was such a HUGE success that I can’t wait to get back on the bus this weekend and put all my energy into getting these amazing children up and down the ski slopes with as much fun as possible. Thanks to you we are in great shape this season and a step ahead in getting more scholarships ready for next year! Do you know how good that feels? Let me tell you- it feels GREAT!!
Thank you all a million times- I so appreciate the help each of you gave!
With Sincere Thanks,
Debby Klein- Buffalo Outdoor Sports Assoc.

P.S.  I’ll be sending each of you an email with a receipt within the next few weeks. If you’d like a hard copy let me know and I’ll gladly do that . Just write to janddklein@verizon.net
_______
Did you here that guys?!  The spirit with which you donated to this wonderful organization has had an immediate impact on the program.  It’s not just your money that will help BOSA, it’s your good vibes as well.
Again, allow me to say…WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
______
Now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for!
Prizes!
The following people were were declared victors because of their tremendous generosity, their beguiling grace, their extreme good looks, and because I randomly chose their names out of a jar.
The winner of the unsigned (but still foxy) photo of Goose is…….Patricia B!
The winner of the signed photo of Drew Stafford is…..Jennifer H!
The winner of the signed photo of Ryan Miller is……Rebecca H!
And last, but not least, Joe G. has won a Winter Classic DVD!
Congratulations to the winners, and I wish I had a signed Sabres photo to give to every person who donated to this wonderful sports club.
______

Even though this is obviously for a very good cause, I was somewhat hesitant to ask TWC readers for money.  Because of this experience, I have a new appreciation for the work that fundraisers do, and I’ve learned that it really doesn’t hurt to ask, especially if it’s a cause you strongly believe in.  Thank you all, for your generosity, your enthusiasm, and your participation in TWC.  I feel so good about raising some money for this organization, but I’m also tremendously proud of the community of bloggers and blog readers we have built in Buffalo.

Thank you all so much!

9 Responses to “You Guys Rock!”


  1. 1 JBo February 1, 2009 at 3:27 am

    Oh shoot. I totally forgot. Okay, Kate, you can update that total to $1,078.57 cos I just dropped $25 bucks, lol. And double shoot. I wanted that Miller photo. Poop. Oh well. It’s not about the picture, lol.

  2. 2 Grrrreg February 1, 2009 at 7:57 am

    Nice! I’m glad to see you’ve managed to raise even more money than expected. WOOOOOOO to you!

  3. 3 Katebits February 1, 2009 at 11:45 am

    JBo, I actually put your name in the drawing because I knew you were going to donate! I’m sorry you didn’t win, but you did have a chance! Thank you so so so so so so so much for your donation!

    Thanks Grrrreg! I was actually disappointed that I didn’t have an occasion to hunt down one of the French speaking Sabres in order to ask that they sign some salami for my friend Grrrrreg. (“Hi, jason Pominville! Would you do me a REALLY weird favor and sign this salami? And could you write something in French? And make it out to ‘greg’. That’s greg with four ‘r’s. Thanks.” :P)

  4. 4 Shelby Rose February 1, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    I’m glad that everyone was able to raise so much! :D I would’ve donated if I were older, so maybe next year I can do something in case you do something like this again.

  5. 5 Ang February 1, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    brings a tear to my eye. Kate, you have a future in this fund raising thing! Fund raising is all about making an emotional connection and you do that every day you blog. And the cause was a good one. a win win! Don’t let the BPO find out you are so good at this..they could probably use your skills!

  6. 6 Grrrreg February 1, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Hi, jason Pominville! Would you do me a REALLY weird favor and sign this salami?

    Ahahah! You know, we’re talking about guys who find it completely normal to compete for a stuffed pigeon, so I’m not sure they would think signing salami for a friend is insane… :P

  7. 7 Schnookie February 1, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Congratulations on such a successful fundraising drive! WOO HOOO! How totally awesome!

    ”Hi, jason Pominville! Would you do me a REALLY weird favor and sign this salami? And could you write something in French? And make it out to ‘greg’. That’s greg with four ‘r’s. Thanks.”

    :^::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::: Surely Dave and Buster could take care of that for you, couldn’t they?

  8. 8 KevinP February 2, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    .57 cents? All right, who cleaned out the ashtray in their car?

  9. 9 Katebits February 2, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Heh. Well, that number was after I took my cut. What? I didn’t tell you guys I was taking 45.53% of the total haul?

    (Just kidding. I only took 15%. :P)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

