Tim Connolly Appreciation Day!

WOOOO!  It’s Tim Connolly Appreciation Day!

Now look.  I’ve never been a big fan of Timmy.  By all eyewitness accounts, he’s 100% yucky and I’ve never seen him conduct an interview without a sneer on his face.  He’s constantly hurt, and when he’s not hurt, he’s skating around with his head down.  My fandom began in earnest at the beginning of last season, and in the time I had NEVER seen anything from him that justified the city-wide Timmy-is-a-smooth-headed-God-when-he’s-healthy-itude that we have going on in Buffalo.  Sure, he had his moments last year, but honestly, even when he was healthy, he seemed scarily similar to Max.  All flash, no finish, turnover machine.

I have seen the light.

He may be yucky.  He may be made out of construction paper and scotch tape.  He may be only one hit away from spending the rest of his life in a nursing home.   But Tim Connolly is VERY good at hockey.  When he’s healthy and confident, he’s not just good, he’s phenomenal.  I would go so far as to say he’s riveting.  He was riveting last season too, but more in a “Oh sweet baby jesus, Timmy is going to die.  LOOK OUT, TIMMY!  GET YOUR HEAD UP, YOU EFFING IDIOT. I DON’T WANT TO BE SCARRED FOR LIFE AFTER I WATCH STAFFY DEVOUR YOUR SPILLED BRAINS ON THE ICE,” and less in a, “Wow.  Timmy is like a grand master chess player…only hockey-style.”

So, against all odds and reason, today is Tim Connolly Appreciation Day.  I think it’s unlikely that Timmy will be a Sabre next year, so I’m just going to enjoy him while I can, if only so that I can nod in agreement when all of you longtime fans wax philosphical about what might have been.

In honor of Tim Connolly Appreciation Day I would like to present Timmy with this hazmat suit…..

hazmat1Actually, this suit is more for the ladies on Chippewa than it is for Timmy.

…..and this set of hockey safety equipment….

hockey-dryer-rack

Believe it or not, Timmy, but there are actually a wide variety of hockey products available that are specially designed to keep you safe.  Perhaps you should LOOK INTO THEM.  (The cage might not be a bad idea.)

Be well, Timmy.  I like to watch you play hockey.

18 Responses to “Tim Connolly Appreciation Day!”


  1. 1 JB February 5, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I always get nervous when he is out there… but I like it when he is healthy.

  2. 2 JBo February 5, 2009 at 10:25 am

    In lieu of not leaving tons of comments on one post, Kate: add me on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/JakeBo

  3. 3 Jaime February 5, 2009 at 10:48 am

    When Timmy is good he’s very, very good nd when Timmy is bad he’s very, very bad!

  4. 4 S. Tooth February 5, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Jaime – are you sure you’re still talking about Hockey?

  5. 5 Gambler February 5, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    I originally read “hazmat suit” as “hazmat slut.” I think that pretty much sums up Timmy right there.

  6. 6 Shari February 5, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    We should have Teppo appreciation day! Not sure Hazmat man could survive a fractured jaw. He’d surely be ready for hazmat rehab.
    So good to have Rick back. What will we ever do without him?

  7. 7 Jaime February 5, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    S. Tooth HA!! Timmy’s not my cup of tea but maybe Goose… I’m sure my husband would be fine with that!

  8. 8 danielleia February 5, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    The hazmat suit is perfect. We need it!

  9. 9 Heather B. February 5, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I told you he was awesome! I did! I told you!

    :P

  10. 10 Katebits February 5, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    You totally told me, Heather. :D

  11. 11 Becky February 5, 2009 at 5:14 pm

    I was totally convinced that Timmy should be traded the second he was healthy, but for too many games he seems to be the only one who shows up and knows what he’s doing. I “grudgingly” give a nod to Tim Connolly Appreciation Day…If he stays healthy the rest of the season you can change that to “enthusiastically” :)

  12. 12 Katebits February 5, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Shari, I probably should do a Teppo Appreciation Day, but unfortunately he is one of the players that i prefer to take for granted.

    Becky, I assure you, this Appreciation Day is announced with a wariness in my heart. I’ll probably turn viciously on Timmy as soon as tomorrow. :D

    Gambler, :^:::::::::::::::

  13. 13 Phil February 6, 2009 at 12:36 am

    I hope he does nothing to make you viciously turn on him – I’ll be at the game, watching Brittle Timmy, Brain Eat, and T-Van rip up the ice.

  14. 14 TheTick February 6, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Teppo appreciation day sounds like a job for Thomas and I. :D

  15. 16 Grrrreg February 6, 2009 at 9:57 am

    Very good timing with this appreciation day, as Mike Milbury recently called Connolly a “self-centered dink” (I don’t even know what this means by the way)
    Mike Milbury. AAHAHAHAHAHA!

  16. 17 TheTick February 6, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    I believe it translates to “I’m a stupid-ass mofo who is guaranteed to trade away all of a team’s best players”

  17. 18 Grrrreg February 6, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Yeah, I understood that part! :)


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

