4 Things

1.  Okay, I think I understand now why Vanek can’t play with his broken jaw.  With his jaw wired shut, he can’t breathe enough to play hockey, and he also can’t eat enough to stay buff and game ready.  What I DON’T understand is why the doctors didn’t just knock out his front teeth to create a blowhole.  Maybe they could attach a snorkel or something to aid his breathing.  Not to downplay Vanek’s injury (I ASSURE YOU, I would opt for medically assisted suicide rather than eat only smoothies for a month), but I think that the Sabres doctors need to think outside the box here.  All he needs is a blowhole.

2. Whining aside, I think the Sabres could come out of this alive.  This might actually be good for them.  When thinking about the Sabres, one must never underestimate their stunning capacity for laziness.  These guys need to be compelled to work hard.  Perhaps being without their top goal scorer will cause them to buy further into Lindy’s system.   I completely DON’T CARE if the team resorts to a full blown trapping in order to get through this.  All they need to do is keep the boat steady for 3-4 weeks.

3.  When is Goose coming back?  When is Pommerdoodle going to remember how to score?  What the hell happened to Yo-Yo?  Can Mair, Paetsthchstchstchs, and Ellis stay together forever?

4. I watched the Devils/Rangers game last night.  Both Montreal and NY seem to be in a full blown shame sprial of pathetic losingness and total impotence.  If I were a shark I’d say “there’s blood in the water, Sabres” but I’m a violist, so I’ll say, “Go get em, boys.”

9 Responses to “4 Things”


  1. 1 Erin February 10, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I’m not getting upset about Vanek being out. I mean, on one level I’m upset for him. It was fun to see him rack up the stats, and of course, I want him around to help us. Vanek is enjoyable and a true Sabre.

    BUT- we have other guys! I’m hoping this will light a little fire under Pommers butt and we’ll have fun cheering for him again! They’ll pull it together, I’m confident of that.

    So for right now, I’m not getting on the panic train. (I reserve all rights to leap onto this train AFTER the San Jose game)

  2. 2 Jennifer February 10, 2009 at 10:07 am

    In my medical opinion, I think a blowhole could work. (I’m not a doctor, but I play one of TV.) And he can still eat everything he normally eats, it will just have to be pureed first so he can suck it through a straw.

    But we will be OK. Vanek can use this time to rest up for the final push before the playoffs. He’ll come back ready to kick ass and score hat tricks in every single game!

  3. 3 Toontom February 10, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Nine games is what Vanek will likely miss – I think if the team goes 6-3 or 5-4, we’ll be okay and can bring him back for a playoff push. Its great that the Rags and Habs are tanking and Phillie is looking vulnerable.

    Two seasons ago we had a spell of 10 or so games when one of and/or both Briere and Drury were out. If I recall correctly we were a better team because we stepped out. Hopefully Lindy can get this team to play the same way.

  4. 4 elise February 10, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    I knew i was missing something..(and this could be the key to any possible blockage)…HONK-ing!!!!!!!!!!! Goose MUST return!

  5. 5 Chaz February 10, 2009 at 7:26 pm

    If he has a “suck” hole then “blow” hole really should have been the next logical step.

  6. 6 Shelby Rose February 10, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    Kate, I think you should’ve been the doctor helping out with Thomas’ surgery. A blowhole could’ve easily fixed this situation! Sure, he wouldn’t have two front teeth, but at least he could breathe somewhat normal.

    All silliness aside, I can’t imagine what the poor guy is going through. I do have great hope that the team will be just fine without him. They have to be, otherwise there is a serious problem.

  7. 7 Kristen February 11, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    I personally have a bad case of TMJ, which means my jaw isn’t aligned, and the pain in my jaw can be super aweful!! It comes and goes for weeks at a time, but around Christmas it was so bad I had to go to the ER where they gave me lots and lots of pain pills (mostly valume), and I was taking 14 Advil a day. So I think Vanek is out because of the pain, and he’s more than likely all doped up on his couch. He’d proubly play like Hecht, and just stand around on the ice doing nothing, and we can’t afford to have 2 Yo-Yos!


  1. 1 Bigger Fish To Fry « The Willful Caboose Trackback on February 23, 2009 at 10:27 pm
  2. 2 TWC Top-to-Bottom Review: Thomas Vanek « The Willful Caboose Trackback on April 18, 2010 at 10:07 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

