Sabres vs Hurricanes 2/15/09

Pregame

Mood: I work a lot of Sundays, so I very rarely get to sit around and enjoy a day of wall-to-wall hockey.  Today I got up, and puttered around for a few hours making to-do lists, and preparing for a day of errands, and blah blah blah….how annoying.  In a sudden and brilliant change of plans, I decided I was going to spend the ENTIRE day watching hockey.  No practicing, no laundry, no cooking (I went to Weggies and bought a rotisserie chicken this morning, so I’ve been munching on that guy), and no feeling even the slightest bit guilty about “wasting” a day. This will be my third hockey game of the day from the comfy chair.  I’m feeling downright blissed out.  (Oddly, during the Devils game, in the middle of my lethargy, I managed to do my taxes.  So, technically I haven’t done nothing today.  Taxes aren’t nothing.)
Favorite Sabre: I love how Pommerdoodle busted out of his slump on Friday, but it was Craig Rivet who busted into my heart.
Least Favorite Sabre: Vanek’s jaw.
Prediction: This game has some very serious “emotional letdown” potential from the Sabres, and after back-to-back humiliating losses the Hurricanes have GOT to be desperate for a win.  Hm…… Sabres win, 63-1.
Chore I should have done this afternoon representing my hopes for this game: Dishes

dirty-dishesI don’t actually mind doing dishes, but you wouldn’t know it from looking at my kitchen. (That’s my gentleman caller, Dudley, in the back there.  He comes by to do my dishes from time to time.  He did not come by today.)

After the 1st (2-0, Hurricanes)

Mood: I wish I hadn’t already done my taxes.  I’d do them again if I could.
Favorite Sabre:  They all look the same.  (Okay, wait.  Mike Robitaille is cracking me up by pointing angrily at the Robistrator with his middle finger.  Robi is such a crotchety old crankpot.  He’s my favorite Sabre.)
Least Favorite Sabre: They all look the same.

Summary of events: The Sabres were batting their eyelashes all, “We’ve been lifting the hearts and minds of Western New Yorkers this week!”  And then the Hurricanes were all, “Yeah, we’re unimpressed.”
Chore I should have done this afternoon representing this game so far: Cleaned out the car.
6savuti2celephanttrunkgrasping

I’ve got a lot of junk in my trunk.

After the 2nd (2-0, Hurricanes)

Mood: Totally shocked.  This game should be 1,000,000-0.
Favorite Sabre: Aw, Patrick Lalime.  You don’t deserve to have to be in this game.
Least Favorite Sabre: Derek Roy is on my nerves, but it’s probably not fair to single him out.  They’re all totally lifeless.
Summary of Events: Well, first I ate some rotisserie chicken, and now I’m eating some Wegmans Green Apple Sorbet, which I can highly recommend.  As for the Sabres, they skated around listlessly, totally lodged in their own ends.
Chore I should have done this afternoon representing this game so far:  High level diplomacy
middle_east

Instead of watching this game I should have at least tried to broker peace in the Middle East.  I’m so incredibly lazy and lame.

At the end (3-0, Hurricanes)

Damn it.  I wish I had done my laundry.  I want clean sheets.


17 Responses to “Sabres vs Hurricanes 2/15/09”


  1. 1 danielleia February 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    Dishes suck when you don’t have a dishwasher.

  2. 2 Pookie February 15, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    You know how Crunchy feels about junk in the trunk!

  3. 3 Katebits February 15, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    He LOATHES junk in the trunk, which is why he had to leave this game in a huff.

  4. 4 Pookie February 15, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    He had a puff in his huff, ifyouknowwhatimean.

  5. 5 Katebits February 15, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    I…..have no idea what you mean. :P

  6. 6 Pookie February 15, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    To be honest, I don’t either.

  7. 8 Chaz February 15, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    Mike Robitaille is cracking me up by pointing angrily at the Robistrator with his middle finger.

    Dude, I so had to point this out to Diebeige. She’d never noticed that he always points with his middle finger. I have a mental picture of the camera guys flipping Robi off hoping he’ll get the hint!

  8. 9 Susie February 15, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    Green apple sorbet sounds AMAZING!

  9. 10 Katebits February 15, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Green apple sorbet IS amazing. You should buy it, and eat it when the Sabres are sucking. It totally helps.

    Chaz, I had never noticed the middle finger pointing until tonight! My grandfather used to do that! I wonder if it’s just an old man move….

  10. 11 Matt February 16, 2009 at 10:20 am

    (Okay, wait. Mike Robitaille is cracking me up by pointing angrily at the Robistrator with his middle finger. Robi is such a crotchety old crankpot. He’s my favorite Sabre.)

    Oh God, I thought I was the only one seeing it for the first time! I had to email/txt/mssg everybody I knew and point it out. Thank you for making me not an outcast!

  11. 12 dave-in-rocha February 16, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I’m so glad to see that I’m not the only person who refers to it as “Weggies”.

  12. 13 Chaz February 16, 2009 at 11:37 am

    Wow! Robi pointing with his middle finger is the first thing I noticed when I saw the Robistrator. Must just be me. ;-)

    I went to the awesomest Weggies this weekend. It had a stone bridge and a moat. Perfect for protecting the awesomeness that is Weggies.

  13. 14 Amy February 16, 2009 at 12:10 pm

    Weggies is amazing. I am in love with their already made chili. I had to laugh when I saw in the paper a couple weeks ago that MamaCrunchy said their family refers to Weggies as “grocery heaven.” It’s funny, cause it’s true.

    I haven’t seen Roby pointing with his middle finger. I’ll have to watch for that the next time the Robistrator comes into use.

  14. 15 Rachel February 16, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    If it makes you all feel more in the loop, us who work at “Weggies” call it that too :)

    On a different note, it seems that this is the perfect summary of the game. Nicely done!

  15. 16 Katebits February 16, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    I think the middle finger pointing seemed more outrageous last night because he was so irritated with the Sabres. I mean, come on Robi, you can’t just wave a middle finger around when you are also calling everyone out for sucking! (Well, you can. In fact, I love it when you do.)

  16. 17 Shari February 16, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    You have junk in the trunk? Me too!!

    Roby is our Don Cherry but with much better suits and better manners.

    I’m taking my class on a field trip to Wegmans next week.
    Lord help me.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

