Like a Virgin….

..touched by high definition television for the very first time.

Of course I’ve seen hockey in HD before, but right now, for the first time in my life, I’m enjoying it from the comfort of my own home.  Until today, I’ve been watching hockey on a 19 inch television that I bought at Target in 1999 for $129.  (No, I’m not kidding.)  Before I started watching sports I couldn’t have cared less about HD, but things are different now.  I put it off as long as I could bear it, but last week I broke down and ordered the television.  It arrived this afternoon.

I am literally sitting here with my mouth agape.

22 Responses to “Like a Virgin….”


  1. 1 Anne February 16, 2009 at 8:02 pm

    My sister’s boyfriend has a 42″ HD TV. I can’t bear to watch hockey on anything else.

  2. 2 peter-usrt February 16, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    Just like it was as a little kid to watch a color tv set compared to a black and white one. Isn’t it.

    You’ll wind up watching a program on a channel that you never watch just because its in HD at least once…

    powerful stuff.

  3. 3 Katebits February 16, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    I already have, Peter! I spent the afternoon watching Food Network HD, just because it was in HD.

  4. 4 Erin February 16, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    We broke down and shelled out for the 52 inch HD plasma about two weeks ago. We have rarely left the couch since. I like that I can see stubble and whiskers on favorite guys. It’s a whole new world.

  5. 5 karen February 16, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    Five years later, I still catch Chris flipping between the same channel in HD and not, getting all delighted by the HD one each time it pops into view. It doesn’t get old!

  6. 6 Caroline February 16, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Isn’t hockey in HD the most amazing thing ever? Unfortunately I switched to FIOS without knowing that the owners of MSG hates FIOS and will not let them broadcast anything in HD which means I get no Sabres in HD…unless they are on lame Versus. Very sad.

  7. 7 Frisbee February 16, 2009 at 8:51 pm

    Watch out for the serious depression that comes when the Sabres play some Canadian team without HD cameras. It is the SERIOUS suck.

    I sometimes have happy dreams about my giant tv. And this is coming from a girl that used to have a tv I found on the street attached to bunny ears.

    Oh, I wish you every happiness with your new friend. I feel like I should send you champagne to celebrate your new life together.

  8. 8 Katebits February 16, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Karen, I’ve been doing that all night. Switching between regular Versus and VersusHD just to see the difference. :D

    Erin, great minds think alike!

    Caroline, that sucks. SO. HARD.

  9. 9 Katebits February 16, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    Frisbee, when I first plugged the tv in today, all I was getting on Center Ice was a standard definition feed of the Pens game. It was horrifying. I’m already upset that the entire cable dial isn’t in HD. :D

    I love my new tv SO MUCH.

  10. 10 Ang February 16, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    totally not about HD (but good for you Kate!!)
    I SAW VANEK at Weggies today!!! he was drinking coffee like a normal person…. i have to say i was not 100000% positive it was home but when i saw him snarl at his /wife/girlfriend, i knew it had to be him. besides, there is NO one with that much style and ‘tude at the Williamsville Weggies.

  11. 12 Katebits February 16, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    WHAT?! If Vanek is well enough to sip coffee, he’s well enough to play hockey! GET BACK ON THE ICE YOU LAZY COFFEE DRINKING BUM! :P

  12. 13 Susie February 16, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    I totally agree, Kate. If he can drink coffee, he can suck it up and play hockey. Ang should’ve told him to get his lazy butt out there.

  13. 14 KozyShank February 16, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Congrats on your HDTV-ness, any hockey that you watch in low-def will now appear to be played in a cave. I also dare you to try and not watch golf in HD, everything looks so green and warm.

  14. 15 Katebits February 17, 2009 at 9:26 am

    You think….I’m going to want to watch golf, KozyShank? That’s kind of scary….*nonchalantly sidles over to television to see if I have any All-Golf-All-the-Time Channels in HD*

  15. 16 elise February 17, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Kate! many many many congrats! as usual, you are cutting edge. i just got Direct TV!!! now i can watch The Golden Girls (and Celtics!) anytime i want…

  16. 17 Courtney S.F. February 17, 2009 at 12:00 pm

    I’ve had a 47 inch HDTV on my wall for a year and a half and I still don’t give a hoot about HDTV. It makes Filner insane that I regularly record shows on the non-HD channels because I don’t know the numbers for the HD versions. I guess I better start watching sports and maybe I’d appreciate the HD. The Gilmore Girls look pretty much the same no matter what.

  17. 18 Heather B. February 17, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    But Courtney, you can see Lorelai’s PORES in HDTV! Surely that’s worth something! :P

    I’m sad and alone in my standard def world.

  18. 19 Katebits February 17, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    Please! Lorelai doens’t have PORES! :P

  19. 20 TheTick February 17, 2009 at 6:26 pm

    You’re not alone, Heather, we’re still strictly SD here, for now. I finally just took my Xbox360 over to the in-laws to play on their 37in LCD TV. Sweet…

  20. 21 Heather B. February 17, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Heh. Kate, you’re probably right! You can see Luke’s stubble?

    Tick, I’m glad to not be the only one in the world.

  21. 22 Ashley February 18, 2009 at 4:26 am

    i just realized that we got new TV’s on the same day.
    we got a flat screen :) molly fell into the circuit city close out sale.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

