I Love My Job

I have a great job.  I get to play music for a living, I have wonderful colleagues, and at the end of my work week I literally receive a round of applause.   I’m so incredibly grateful that music brought me to Buffalo.

Today was an especially fun day at work because after an hour of rehearsal the mayor of Buffalo showed up, congratulated us for winning two Grammys, declared today “BPO Day” in the City of Buffalo, and gave us the key to the city.  Then, we all went into the lobby and drank champagne and ate adorable Grammy cupcakes.

cupcake.jpg

Adorable and delicious

The ceremonial key to the city is pretty cool, you guys!  It comes in a beautiful velvet lined wooden box, and it’s made out of something heavy so it has a very satisfying weight when you hold it in your hands.

key.jpg

The key to the city of Buffalo

I think my boss was a little nervous when I asked if I could pose for a picture with the key and then proceeded to disappear with my friends for five minutes- his worry was probably for good reason.  Basically, as soon as we had our mitts on the key, everyone started making jokes about what it could open.  So, we had a little photo shoot.

Amelie and Glenn.jpg

Amelie and Glenn investigate exactly which doors our key will open.

key door

If anyone needs to open a door in Buffalo today, call me, because I’ve got the key.

Keychain.jpg

The key to the city looks good on Glenn’s keychain.

After these photos were taken, we took the key to Home Depot and had 73 copies made (one for each musician).  If I’m Byron Brown, I’m changing the city locks.  ASAP.

In all seriousness, today was a lot of fun.  The Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra is so proud of these Grammys, and we are so thankful for all of the support that we get from Buffalonians.  We are incredibly honored to be recipients of the “Key to the City.”

Thank you, Mayor Brown!  And thank you to all the people who support our music at the BPO!

19 Responses to “I Love My Job”


  1. 1 Schnookie February 19, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    This is the awesomest, coolest thing ever, and totally well-deserved! The BPO rawks, and I’m so glad you guys got to have such a great celebration today! Congratulations!! (These pictures are hilarious. :D)

  2. 3 Grrrreg February 19, 2009 at 3:20 pm

    You won two Grammys?!! This is incredibly AWESOME. Congrats!

    I think those Grammy Cupcakes look even better than real Grammys.
    And this key is pimp.

  3. 4 Shari February 19, 2009 at 3:56 pm

    Congratulations!! That is so great! So do you each get a grammy or just one big grammy for the boss? Or do they put one behind glass somewhere?
    Ha, I love the keychain picture!

  4. 5 Heather B. February 19, 2009 at 4:26 pm

    Do you all get a day with the Grammy? Can I come over and eat popcorn out of it?

    The keychain picture is my favorite.

  5. 6 Meg February 19, 2009 at 4:33 pm

    Happy BPO Day! That’s so great. And I love the key pics.

  6. 7 Katebits February 19, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks, guys!

    Grrrreg, you are SO right! The key IS pimp! :D

  7. 8 Shelby Rose February 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    This is so cool! Congratulations to you guys!

  8. 9 Amy February 19, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Let’s Go BPO! *clap clap clapclapclap*

    Congratulations on the Grammys and the key to the city!

  9. 10 Caroline February 19, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    That’s awesome! Congratulations! Those Grammy cupcakes look absolutely adorable, I bet they were delicious. And the key to Buffalo looks very sassy on a keychain, I must say.

  10. 11 Mike in Idaho February 19, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    I lost my dignity and self-respect in a Buffalo bank vault (you know, the one with all the money). Can you help me out with that?

  11. 12 Pookie February 20, 2009 at 9:47 am

    Congratulations, BPO! I’m pretty sure the Sabres are looking at this post now going, “Hm… That key looks really awesome, and I bet Stanley Cup cupcakes would be pretty tasty…”

  12. 13 Jaime February 20, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Grammy cupcakes are waaay batter than getting a Grammy statue. You don’t have to dust a cupcake, just eat it!

  13. 14 Chaz February 20, 2009 at 11:10 am

    This is SO awesome for the BPO and the city of Bufffalo!!! Congrats!

  14. 15 Katebits February 20, 2009 at 11:51 am

    I’m pretty sure the Sabres are looking at this post now going, “Hm… That key looks really awesome, and I bet Stanley Cup cupcakes would be pretty tasty…”

    Hee!

    Thanks everyone!

  15. 16 danielleia February 20, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    You should try and break into… I mean… open the HSBC Arena with that key. :)

  16. 17 Defy Gravity February 20, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Congratulations on the Grammys! That’s so exciting for the BPO and Buffalo! I love the BPO and I love going to the Bison game every year for the 4th of July celebration and getting to hear to BPO play! :-)

  17. 18 JB February 20, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    That is so super bad ass! I am so happy for you! Congrats!


  1. 1 On Terrell Owens Receiving A Key To The City Of Buffalo « First Time Caller, Long Time Listener Trackback on May 18, 2009 at 5:53 pm

Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

