The Trade Deadline Approaches

I was just reminiscing about last year’s trade deadline…

Remember how Soupy completely fell apart right before the trade deadline, and somehow managed to be a minus 5 million in his last two games as a Sabre?  Good times. I really enjoyed trade deadline day last year mostly because I never had a chance to get too attached to Campbell, and I was REALLY ready for his contract to stop being the focal point of the Sabres media coverage.  It was a relief to be done with Soupy and his drama, and Bernier was a fun dude to have around for awhile.

This year feels a whole lot less dramatic, but we also have a much greater chance of being surprised at the deadline, because right now it’s not clear if the Sabres will be buyers or sellers.  The Buffalo News is trying hard to drum up some intrigue surrounding Tim Connolly but personally, I think the Sabres will hold onto him.  Especially without Miller, Connolly’s offense might be the difference between making the playoffs and not making the playoffs for the Sabres this season.  I might be a little nervous if my name were Tallinder, MacArthur, or Paille though.  I think the Sabres CAN make the playoffs without one (or all) of those guys and they’ve all had the slightly fishy aroma of “spare parts with some value” lately.

At various times this year I’ve really thought the Sabres need to be totally dismantled.  The “core” just didn’t seem like it was cutting it for a lot of the season.  With the exception of a very few guys (Miller, Gaustad, Roy, Vanek) I think I could stomach seeing almost anyone traded.  On the other hand, I think this injury to Miller might serve the same purpose as a big trade.  This is the opportunity to if the team is capable of coming together and buckling down.  We’re only two games into life without Ryan Miller, but I think the team has already shown signs that they are capable of adjusting.  There might be hope for these guys yet.  Maybe

If the team ultimately does need to be dismantled,  that can be done just as easily this summer as it can be done now, and without the strong message to the fanbase that this season was a total waste.

I still think the team should being thinking “playoffsplayoffsplayoffsplayoffs”.  A playoff appearance, even if it’s just a quick first round exit, is a step forward for this team.  This sure doesn’t feel like a Cup year, so I don’t think the Sabres will be buying in the name of “making a run,” but I don’t think that means we need to sell off all the free agents either.

Look at me being all serious and hockeyish.

5 Responses to “The Trade Deadline Approaches”


  1. 1 Heather B. February 28, 2009 at 7:07 pm

    Look at me being all serious and hockeyish.

    I love it!

    I think you’re right. As much as TBN seems intent that the Sabres are going to move Timmy, I just don’t see how they can if their aim really is the playoffs unless they get a good starter back for him. I’m not sure I see even a desperate team doing that. (Though goodness knows I’ve underestimated the intelligence of NHL GMs many, many times before.)

    I’m more nervous for Hank. I think the Sabres would expect to get a good value for him but I think they’re more likely to get that for him than Timmy.

    I dunno. I don’t know nothing.

  2. 2 Susie February 28, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    Kate, please write a pathetic, groveling letter to Vanek, begging him to come back next week. 3 goals in the last 3 games? This is just sad.

  3. 3 Glenn February 28, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    We just lost to the friggin’ pathetic Islanders….
    Oh, the humanity!

  4. 4 Ryan March 1, 2009 at 6:41 am

    It’s interesting how you describe what’s going on with Tim Connolly, because I sort of agree with how things have gone down. I was under the impression that people were sold on him as of ten games ago, and suddenly he’s not only on the trading block but being asked by the media about his potential last game as a Sabre.

    I’m not one to claim a writer has intent or is trying to do anything but report the story, but there is something very… artificial about the last few days of trade talk. But maybe that’s just me.

    I do agree with you and Heather about whether he should be moved: nah.

  5. 5 Katebits March 1, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Yeah, I didn’t want to be too pointed in my accusation, Ryan, but that’s kind of what I was getting at. Jerry wrote his “trade Connolly” column a few weeks ago, and then Bucky “came around to his way of thinking” and suddenly everyone’s asking Timmy about his last day as a Sabre.

    I was already feeling annoyed because of last week when Jerry’s question (Aren’t there some things that are more important than a win?) apparently rocked! the organization! to! its! very CORE! :P


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

