GMbits

I spent all of Sunday lounging around in dark clothing, applying very heavy black eyeliner, listening to Morrissey, and cursing the day I ever heard of the sport “hockey”.   This season has worn me down, and now I’m just a pathetic, angry emo hockey fan.  (I’m actually not sure about the technical definition of “emo”.  That’s how old I am.  I think it means “mopey and obnoxious,” both of which, I ASSURE YOU, I am.)

Last season, my first as a fan, had a certain…enjoyable hysteria that I found amusing, even when the Sabres were floundering.  This year is different.  This year it’s just bland, middling, average, not very good, beige, boring, disappointing, and uninspired.

So there I was, feeling miserable, and trying to avoid calling Blobby, when I wandered over to Sabretooth’s House.  Anne has a great post up now.  Her point is that the Sabres are extremely lucky to have fallen apart now rather than later because it’s not too late for this season. It’s practically trade deadline day! This is the time of year when we should be dreaming of BIG CHANGE.

Now look.  I defended Darcy during the co-captain debacle.  I attributed almost all of last season to “growing pains” and fallout from “locker room instability”.  I LOVED this team, I believed in this team, and I wanted nothing more than for “the core” to sign lifetime contracts in Buffalo.  But…..I’m over it now.

I know the Sabres have been dealt a rough hand as far as injuries go, but I don’t think a good team would fold up at the first sign of adversity.   The Sabres aren’t a terrible team, they’re just not that good.  I’m not sure how much more evidence we need.   This team has no oomph, no shaZAM, no juicy center. The entire organization just seems flaccid and impotent.  (Yeah, I said it Timmy.)

So, what to do?

I spent the weekend writing in various comment threads that I think the team needs to be dismantled.  I’ve backed off from that a bit.   I don’t think the team needs to be sold off, but I do think the locker room needs a good shake-up.  Now, I’m not suggesting we should cash in all our NHL-caliber dudes for a pile of picks and prospects, but I do think this team needs at least one bold roster change.  Let’s freak these little jerks out a bit.  Save for Miller, Gaustad (because I love him), Vanek, and Butler (because I have a good feeling about him), I don’t think there is any Sabre that should be considered untouchable.

What, for example, would Jason Pominville fetch?

Because of the way Darcy filled the holes left behind by Briere and Drury (he didn’t), Sabres fans have a tendency to assume that losing a guy means we will suddenly have a hole in the lineup.  By that way of thinking, if we were to trade Pommer, we’d need one of the Pirates to step up and be our new doodle.  Trouble is, relying on the kids from Portland is a waiting game, and the Sabres really don’t have the time to spare anymore.  If there is one thing I know, it’s that this organization needs new (grown-up, MANLY) blood.  What if – and this is going to blow your mind- Darcy traded Jason Pominville (or whoever), and got a proven commodity in exchange?

Briere and Drury didn’t come up through the system.  They were the result of some shrewd trading.

All I ever hear about around here is how Darcy is some kind of mad genius when it comes to trades and finding the diamonds in the rough.  Well, GET ON IT, DUDE!   You found a way to get Craig Rivet in a Sabres uniform- let’s see what else you can do.  But Darcy, let me warn you, if you trade Tim Connolly away and then try to tell me Nathan Gerbe will be his replacement, it’s over between us.  O-VER.

22 Responses to “GMbits”


  1. 1 Glenn March 2, 2009 at 11:12 am

    Amen, Katebits….Amen…
    This team needs a huge shot in the arm…and NOW!

  2. 2 Schnookie March 2, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Great post, Katebits! That’s the part I always forget when I think about trading players away from my team — that, well, you get something back, too. (Of course, that’s also the part I tend to forget when I’m coveting someone else’s players… “Wait, you mean the Lightning are going to want something in return for Lecavalier? Those greedy bastards!”) I would LOVE to see a bold move for the Sabres! That would be so exciting!! I REALLY hope Darcy turns to TWC for advice, because this has the potential to rawk!

  3. 3 Katebits March 2, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Thanks guys! I feel so much better now that I’m convinced that we’re getting Malkin and Lecavalier for Pominville! (I haven’t quite figured out how it’s all going to work. That’s what Darcy is for, right?)

    I hope Darcy read this too. He needs to do SOMETHING. Please do something, Darcy.

  4. 4 Erin March 2, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Great Post! This is just what I needed, Morrissey was getting so annoying!

    Can I say this though, I love anyone is a Sabres uniform. I’m Sabre slut. So even the thought of losing Pommerdoodle makes me want to weep. But on the other hand anyone we get I know I’ll find a way to love.

    I’m going to confess something PATHETIC now. When I got the call that Bernier had been traded away I got teary eyed. Okay, I had been drinking for about 8 hours straight but I was still so sad. Then we got Rivets and it made it all better!!! For real just like that!

    So, I’m prepared for the saddness, but happy to welcome a new addition to the family!

  5. 5 Susie March 2, 2009 at 12:07 pm

    off topic…I think you might like this blog, though.

    http://thefanaticalfan.wordpress.com/

  6. 6 mcguffers March 2, 2009 at 12:19 pm

    I’m actually not sure about the technical definition of “emo”. That’s how old I am. I think it means “mopey and obnoxious,” both of which, I ASSURE YOU, I am.

    I was told it stands for “emotional.” The emo kid that told me this was not all together pleased when I reminded her that happy is an emotion. (For an added emo laugh, search for Tickle me Emo on youtube. It made me giggle)

    I would miss Pommers more than Hecht right now. But that’s like saying I’d rather get a root canal than my teeth pulled. They’re both causing me pain.

  7. 7 Katebits March 2, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Oh, I will cry and cry if Pommerdoodle gets traded. For SURE. But, I’m really sick of the Sabres being so blandly unwinning, so I’m ready to give the new guy a chance.

    Susie, Frostee’s blog is a respected and cherished member of the TWC blogroll!

  8. 8 Katebits March 2, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    I would miss Pommers more than Hecht right now. But that’s like saying I’d rather get a root canal than my teeth pulled. They’re both causing me pain.

    Me too, but I chose Pominville for this example because I think we’d get more in return for him. Hecht’s contract is…unappealing.

    mcguffers, are you telling me that people willingly identify themselves as “emo”?! I thought it was a vague insult! Kids today! :D

  9. 9 Erin March 2, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Yeah, totally ready for a shake-up but secretly preparing to cry myself to sleep if we lose someone cute and cuddly. Actually, I’ll cry no matter what. Spacho gone? I’ll cry.

  10. 10 Susie March 2, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Kate, sorry, I looked and didn’t see it…my bad. I just found out about it from my cousin & immediately added it to favorites :).

  11. 11 mcguffers March 2, 2009 at 12:40 pm

    Oh, right, you meant trading players. Not, say, selling on the black market. Ha, yeah, that’d be a funny mix up, huh. Ha Ha, uh, ha. *going to call Russian mob, again*

  12. 12 Katebits March 2, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    mcguffer, if we can just drop Yo-Yo from a helicopter into the ocean, I’m fine with that too. :P

  13. 13 tsoemvs March 2, 2009 at 1:34 pm

    SHAKE UP… That implies some sort of nudge, push, gentle agitation…. I’m looking for the Coruba Collision of trade day events. Move mountains… inspire the hockey gods to part the goal crease like the red sea! Find defensemen that can take it the length of the ice like a NYS Thurway Authority Snow Plow!

    Oh hell, cut 3 players, save the cap money, get goose stem cells, cross breed them with Vanek stem cells… CLONE ME SOME NHL insanity…. that’s in the stimulous package right???!

  14. 14 Katebits March 2, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    AAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHA, tsoemvs! I like the way you think! If we’re cloning NHlers, I’d like to clone a few just to have around the house. :D

  15. 15 Shelby Rose March 2, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Great post, Katebits. I agree with you on being over with Darcy if he trades Timmy and expects Nate to be like him when he makes it to the NHL. No Darcy, nooooo.

    I have a feeling that he might have something tricky up his sleeve for Wednesday…

  16. 16 KozyShank March 2, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    I’d be willing to bet the following will be said on Wednesday: “Having a healthy Thomas Vanek is just like trading for a goal scoring forward.” If I hear that I will want to go down to the arena and pull out Darcy’s endocrine system.

  17. 17 Katebits March 2, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    KozyShank, I read something along those lines in a comment somewhere on the internet, “Getting Vanek back will feel like a trade.”

    NO IT WON’T! It will feel like VANEK’S BACK! Which will feel good, don’t get me wrong…

  18. 18 Javion March 3, 2009 at 2:53 am

    First blog I read after wakeup from sleep today!

    —————————-
    Mind Blowing!

  19. 19 Grrrreg March 3, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Her point is that the Sabres are extremely lucky to have fallen apart now rather than later because it’s not too late for this season.

    Ooooh, this is exactly the reasoning that helped me to go through the recent habs Mega-slump, and IT WORKED! Seriously, I think february-early march is the “best” time to be in trouble. Then you just have time to get back on tracks for the last few games and start the playoffs on a roll. This is what the Flyers did last season, and they fared pretty well i the post season (sigh!)
    The problem, of course, is that it’s right in the middle of the playoffs push, so it’s better if the slump doesn’t last too long, but I’m SURE the sabres still have time to get hot in time!

  20. 20 SueInVA March 3, 2009 at 9:10 am

    Trade wise I stop short of the Sabres acquiring Neil or Avery but anyone else out there might work out. I’m not sure how much we have to trade with though. I think it would be a mistake to loose Connolly right now. Although while watching the last game I was wondering if he was pulling a Campbell from last season and playing badly to ensure he gets moved! The news that Campbell is not getting along with his Coach was met with some glee!

    But I think about the whining that I’ve heard on the nhllive radio show from the Rangers fans and than I don’t feel so bad about where the Sabres are. Or maybe I realize it’s not just Sabres fans that are upset with where there team stands!

  21. 21 Stormothecentury March 4, 2009 at 5:03 am

    See, this is why I’d really like to choke Steve Donner with … something extremely painful. Like a head of lettuce. Because Randy Cunneyworth was aces when it came to training players to be successful in the NHL (and he was fairly good at winning games). If Donner had just stopped being an ass and sold the team earlier, it wouldn’t be so damn painful being a hockey fan in Rochester right now. Ugh. I’m certainly still a Sabres fan (it’s sure a lot more fun than being an Amerks fan this year), I just miss seeing them playing here one day and down the Thruway the next.

  22. 22 Katebits March 4, 2009 at 8:56 am

    There it is, Kozyshank! I’m so relieved he’s back that I’m kind of buying it. :D

    Stormofthecentury, many times this season I have thought of you poor Amerks fans. I am so sorry you got such a raw deal!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

