RIP, Ales Kotalik

I’m on my way out the door to the game, so I only have a few minutes here, but I feel compelled to salute Ales Kotalik before I go.

Ales Kotalik, you will be missed.  No one can replace your terrifying slapshot and your mega-sultry voice.  I think we can assume the Sabres will never win another shootout again, and that is sad, and more than a little scary.  Your jaunty flavor-saver and your oddly attractive bulbous nose are moving on to Edmonton, and Buffalo shall be a far less sexy place as a result.

Farewell, Ales.  Good luck in Edmonton.  I hear they have a big mall there.  Perhaps you could open a boutique for your hats.  Say, “Katebits says hello,” to all the 1st round draft picks that could have been Sabres if Kevin Lowe’s dastardly plot to steal Vanek had worked.  All the best in the future, and I wish things had ended differently.

Na shledano, my darling.

10 Responses to “RIP, Ales Kotalik”


  1. 1 Shari March 4, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    sniff….sniff…That was beautiful Kate…SNIIIIIIIIIIF….

  2. 2 Anne March 4, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    His picture is still up in the 300s I actually felt sad about it.

  3. 3 Katebits March 4, 2009 at 11:10 pm

    It is pretty sad, Anne. But just imagine the new Dominic Moore photo in its place.

  4. 4 Susie March 4, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    mmm…I think Moore can adequately replace Kotalik.

  5. 5 JBo March 5, 2009 at 12:04 am

    Srsly? We sign TIM for TWO MORE YEARS and we get RID of ALES?!

    I fucking hate Darcy Reiger. *grumble*

  6. 6 Shari March 5, 2009 at 7:35 am

    I hate Timmay. I bet he’s in rehab, I mean injured within the next month. I said it, It’s done, I’m over it. Sniff.

  7. 7 Amanda March 5, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Nice mention in Puck Daddy!!!

  8. 8 wnylibrarian March 6, 2009 at 8:02 am

    I think the trade of Kotalik was a mistake. Not that he hasn’t played poorly at times, but he has a terrific shot and with Vanek in front of the net, they should’ve been setting him up more to shoot for the Vanek tip in. Too many other players should’ve been traded ahead of him — probably packaged up with a nice bow or something. I wish him luck in Edmonton too. If he starts scoring I’ll laugh.

  9. 9 bobbi March 14, 2009 at 12:36 am

    well, Im sure Darcy will soon see what a mistake he made. I miss Ales, and he’s seems to be having a tough time with the way they did it to him.I do notice hoe Edmonton is posting his photos and interviews, they know his worth. I was so sorry to see him go and not be in our division, so we can only see him once during a reg season. I;m hoping the at least comes back to our division, if not back here where he really belongs. I then hope whatever team he’s with , he does his magic and wins them plenty of games in shootouts. Once again the Buffalo organization tears apart a decent person who just wanted to stay here. Morris is going to do nothing for us, wait and see, choke on it Darcy, I can’t wait till the day he beats us in a shootout. Lindy was right when he said the hardest thing about the trade day was saying goodbye to Ales, well it was just as hard for the hard working fans who loved Ales and buy tickets.

  10. 10 Ruby March 14, 2009 at 12:43 am

    What is it with this organization? Constant errors in judgement, paying too little for the workers, trading the dedicated, deserving players, who are the future. And gross over payment for whim players who are a flash in the pan. Shame on them . I hope they sleep well after their mistakes.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

