Whaa?bits

I….did not see this Timmy deal coming.  That seems like WAY too much money for Timmy.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great deal if there was even a REMOTE chance of Timmy being healthy for an entire season, but, this is TIM CONNOLLY we’re talking about.  If he plays out the rest of THIS season without injury I’ll eat my car.  So, I guess I’m not super wild about this deal.

I’m cool with this goalie situation though.  My problem with Bucky “Biron to the Sabres” Gleason’s scheme is that it would have required giving up Hank Tallinder to get Marty Biron.  I think we can get something better and more useful for Hank, but I do think it’s good that we have a bit more depth in goal now.

I’m keeping my fingers crossed for more moves before the deadline.  I want playoffs.

UPDATE: Dude.  Dominic Moore!   I have to go to the dentist!  I don’t want to go to the dentist!

14 Responses to “Whaa?bits”


  1. 1 Katebits March 4, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Dude, KozyShank, YOU CALLED IT!

    Darcy Regier just said of Tim Connolly re-signing “This is better than a trade.”

  2. 2 Mike in Idaho March 4, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    I agree, $4.5 mil is way too much for someone who will probably only play around half the games per season.

  3. 3 Chaz March 4, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    I would have been ok with a contract that maxed out at 4.5 with bonus paid per game played. Then there’s some incentive for Timmy to get up off the bar floor.

  4. 4 Cholula March 4, 2009 at 1:43 pm

    never ever believe anything Bucky Gleason writes. He is hardly ever correct about the Sabres.

  5. 5 piece_of_etc March 4, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    I am getting worried about the large percentage of highbrow sabres hockey-talk lately. i prefer the honkey-tonk hockey talk. Or, if it’s about goose, the honkey-tonk, “honk”-ey talk hockey talk. Or, if I’m talking, the honky talking honkey-tonk hockey talk. Or, if I’m talking about Goose,the honky talking honkey-tonk,”honk”-ey talk hockey talk.

    Hi Phil Highfill, I feel awful! I ate an awful lot of falafel.

  6. 6 Frisbee March 4, 2009 at 3:21 pm

    Dominic Moore, eh? He seems to me to be a man who scores goals. Would that be something you need, perchance?

  7. 7 Frisbee March 4, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I should really edit that to “makes goals be scored.” Moore hasn’t really been one to personally score goals, but I think he could be good at passing to some other nice boy who would like to score a goal.

  8. 8 Gambler March 4, 2009 at 3:36 pm

    If only we had one of those nice boys for him to pass to…

  9. 9 katebits March 4, 2009 at 3:39 pm

    Pommerdoodle used to like to score goals! Maybe they can be bffs!

  10. 10 Frisbee March 4, 2009 at 3:58 pm

    Maybe we can all chip in and send them on a date, where they discover this. Like a very short cruise. And one night, over too many mai tais, Pominville will drop something like “you know, I really used to like to score goals…” And Moore will suddenly perk up and say, “when I’m not injured, I really like to pass to guys that score goals!” And then, just at that moment, the ship will dock and they’ll skate off holding hands and lead the Sabres into the playoffs.

    That is my wish for you, Kate.

  11. 11 Katebits March 4, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Frisbee, you and I are twinsies, because I SWEAR TO LINDY RUFF, I was going to come home from the dentist and write this EXACT scene in a post. My version was going to involve a little more romance, Pominville was going to draw some shy circles in the dirt with his shoe while he realized he was falling in love, and somehow Goose was going to get involved to provide a bunch of nonsensical HONKing (to satisfy old, piece-of-etc up there), but the basic idea was IDENTICAL.

  12. 12 Shari March 4, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    This will always be known as Dark Wednesday for me. My heart is broken. Why? Why? I don’t understand WHHHHYYYYYY??? (My Sally Field impression from Steel Magnolias}People Please refrain from any negative Kotalik comments until my dark day is over. I will remain in seclution for the remainder of the week. Thank you.

  13. 13 frisbee March 4, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Kate, don’t be ridiculous. Twinsies? All we have in common is playing the viola, love of western New York, obsessions with hockey, our taste in friends, and love of spiced meat. And elaborate love-story telling about sports figures.

    In other news, this game looks like a pretty fun place to be at.

  14. 14 Lauren March 4, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Where do you think the new guys stay? Do you think they stay in a hotel or that one of the super nice guys on the team (i.e. anyone but Timmy)let them stay with them? Or, perhaps Derek has invited them over for a sleepover??


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

