You Look Different Today

picture-3

I can’t believe Timmy woke up on “sign a 9 million dollar contract day” and thought, “I’ll record this day by wearing my polar bear pelt-lined Dickies jacket and my giant knit cap.  I love hats with preposterously small bills.  Especially when worn backwards! ”

Darcy, you nailed it.  Call me.

Going into the trade deadline I was advocating for BIG CHANGE, and that’s really not at all what happened yesterday.  In fact, yesterday was a pretty strong declaration that the Sabres intend to stay the course.

I like it.

I don’t pretend to know why I think the things I do, okay people?  I just have a thought or a feeling about the Sabres, and then I write it down here, on the interwebs.  It’s not for me to attempt to decode the vast mystery that is being a sports fan and a crazy bitch.  I just report the thoughts and feelings as they occur.

I am happy to report, I love the Sabre again.

I went to the game last night more excited to see the Sabres than I’ve been in a long time, and the Sabres rewarded my enthusiasm with a dominating performance.  Maybe it’s all just the result of seeing Goose spread his mighty wings and pot a shorthanded goal, but the “same old” Sabres are suddenly looking shiny and new.

picture-2

Hel-lo.  Ales, you look smashing.

12 Responses to “You Look Different Today”


  1. 1 Amy March 5, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Psst, that’s Dominic Moore (not Ales).

    There’s two things with Timmy’s outfit that are killing me. First, he could have taken the jacket and hat off and looked perfectly respectable. Like a grown-up ready to face the press, instead of looking like Nanook of the North ready to go out and hunt polar bears. Second, the hat and the shirt look fine together, the shirt and the coat look fine together, but the hat, shirt and coat together in combination do not look good together.

  2. 2 Katebits March 5, 2009 at 10:58 am

    Who is Dominic Moore? Never heard of him. But Ales Kotalik is looking pretty sharp this morning. :P

    I TOTALLY agree, about Timmy’s outfit. It’s a multi-layered FAIL, and it’s somehow less than the sum of it’s parts.

  3. 3 Valerie March 5, 2009 at 11:41 am

    THAT was a great game to watch last night. The Sabres, especially Lalime, withstood the early onslaught by Montreal and then took over the game. Montreal had no effective response.

  4. 4 glenn einschlag March 5, 2009 at 11:42 am

    Ok, can someone please explain to me why these boys go into press conferences dressed as if they are outside? I mean, COME ON!!! Darcy is comfy cozy in indoors attire….what’s wrong with Timmy? Is his circulation that bad? Was a door open in the room? Was he right underneath an air conditioning vent? Help me understand this….
    oh, and btw….when I went to the Maple Leafs website to see what Mr. Moore looked like yesterday, I was not enthusiastic. I feel differently after checking this pic out today. I’m happy to report to Sabres fans that the gay Sabres fan consensus is one of approval. The NHL trade deadline is nerve-wracking on many fronts!

  5. 5 KozyShank March 5, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Timmy does look like he picked that jacket off of someones floor in front of their fireplace. But, does Darcy not resemble a cast member of Sprockets?

  6. 6 Meg March 5, 2009 at 1:21 pm

    Darcy is comfy cozy in indoors attire….what’s wrong with Timmy? Is his circulation that bad? Was a door open in the room? Was he right underneath an air conditioning vent? Help me understand this….

    Alas, I suspect the problem is less physical than mental. I doubt he has any legitimate excuse for that get-up.

  7. 7 Amy March 5, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    what’s wrong with Timmy? Is his circulation that bad? Was a door open in the room? Was he right underneath an air conditioning vent? Help me understand this….

    I wonder if the team’s resident fashionistas (fashionistos?) Miller and Roy were unavailable to give Timmy the once over before he hit the briefing room? And the rest of the team just did the “yeah, yeah, you look fine” bit, resulting in Timmy’s Nanook look.

  8. 8 Chaz March 5, 2009 at 1:42 pm

    what’s wrong with Timmy? Is his circulation that bad? Was a door open in the room? Was he right underneath an air conditioning vent? Help me understand this….

    I wonder if the team’s resident fashionistas (fashionistos?) Miller and Roy were unavailable to give Timmy the once over before he hit the briefing room? And the rest of the team just did the “yeah, yeah, you look fine” bit, resulting in Timmy’s Nanook look.

    I think the problem is Timmy doesn’t know which one is Miller and which one is Roy in order to hunt them out for an opinion.

  9. 9 Shelby Rose March 5, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Ales does look rather dashing. (;

    I am pretty sure that Timmy stole that jacket from Derek’s wardrobe.

  10. 10 SueInVA March 5, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Perhaps he just got out of bed and threw on the first thing he could find,. So the hat was to cover bed head.

  11. 11 Heather B. March 5, 2009 at 5:08 pm

    Perhaps his contract included a clause that he wear a cushy coat second layer at all times for added protection?

    That backwards hat was killing me though. Whyyyyyyyy would you wear a hat like that BACKWARDS?! I wanted to reach through my computer screen and flip it around.

  12. 12 Shari March 5, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Darcy does look like a Sproket!! Or William H. Macey.
    Yeah ok, Moore is pretty sexy, in a trashy kinda way.
    See what happens when Ales leaves? Timmy dresses like a dink.
    Nope, none of it goes.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

