Sabres vs. Thrashers, 3/14/09

Pregame

Remember me?  That chick who used to blog about the Sabres?   Well, I’m back baby.  Last week I meandered away from our little slug clad anti-heroes.  I just couldn’t care about them.  But then I went to the Panthers game.  My mission going into the arena was, “Don’t let them put you in a bad mood.”  I enjoyed that game immensely, and I think I probably would have enjoyed myself even if the Sabres had played themselves out of the playoff race.  A switch has been flipped in my approach to this season.  Frankly, I’m assuming they are going to miss the playoffs now, which sounds depressing on the surface, but in reality my new bad attitude has allowed me to enjoy hockey again.  The season is going to be over before we know it, and I might as well enjoy the games we have left.   It’s crappy hockey, but it’s still hockey.

Mood: Tired, dude!  I’ve been violing like it’s going out of style.  When I’m not playing the viola, I’m sewing little square scraps of fabric together.  My life is very glamorous.
Favorite Sabres: Let’s see, who is on this team again?  No, no, no NOT him, um, no, no, no, maaybe, no, no, oh HELL NO, no, nope, oooh!  Patrick Lalime!  Patrick Lalime is a hero, and don’t you forget it.
Least Favorite Sabre: Jason Pominville is just freaking me out now.
Prediction: Thrashers win 3-1.  Sorry.
Fabric representing my hope for this game: Black and gray plaid.  I have replaced the time I used to spend thinking about hockey, with time spent thinking about fabric.  I have a disease.  My name is Kate, and I’m addicted to looking at fabric online.  You can expect this blog to morph from nonsense about hockey to nonsense about fabric any day now. (Fabric and hockey are pretty much the same audience, right?)  Anyhoo, I’m predicting this game will be a boring old square of black plaid.
detdayzckbw

Black plaid isn’t really bad, it’s just a little lame.  Kind of like the Sabres.

After the 1st (1-0, Thrashers)

Mood: Unimpressed.  That was pretty uninspired.  The Sabres look tight, and they are being out worked by the Thrashers.
Favorite Sabre: Max.  I’ve had a weird burst of affection for Max since he’s returned from his injury.  It’s not like he’s been hugely effective or anything, but he often looks like the only Sabre on the ice who really gives a damn.  Sure, he usually just skates spastically around before taking a weird angle shot that deflects directly to the opposition, but whatever.  At least he looks like he’s trying.
Least Favorite Sabre: Jason Pominville is never scoring again.  I don’t think he’s even trying to score anymore.
Fabric representing this game so far: camouflage that appears in normal street clothes.

camo-jungle-evk-6165-48

Not cute.

After the 2nd (3-1, Sabres)

Mood: Relieved.  I was getting worried that I was going to have to think of a fabric worse than camouflage and the very thought was making my head spin.  Also, WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!
Summary of events: First the Sabres were like, “Hm.  Is a diaper worse than camouflage?  Can a diaper even be considered fabric?  Isn’t a diaper something you make out of fabric?”  But then they were all, “Hey, let’s stop trying to think of a fabric uglier than camouflage and try to score some goals.”
Favorite Sabre: Maxim Afinogenov.  You know what?  Common sense be damned.  I love him.
Least Favorite Sabre: Still Pommers, but maybe slightly less so because he appeared to TRY to score at least once in that period.
Fabric representing this game so far:

after the first goal:  Lily Posy from Baskets of Flowersbasketsofflowers-18034-20-450

Kind of prim, but still a cutie.

After the second goal: Bluebell Posy from Baskets of Flowersbasketsofflowers-18034-18-450

oooooh.  KEY-UTE!

After the THIRD goal: AH09 Gold from (my beloved) Garden Party

ah09goldLike a ray of sunshine, Max and Vanek team up for prettiness.

After the 3rd, OT, and a shootout (4-3, Thrashers)

Mood: Grossed out, and incredibly sad for Patrick Lalime.  Poor bastard.

Summary of Events: The Sabres give up a shortie to make it 3-2.  Jason Pominville fails to clear the puck with three seconds to go, and the Thrashers tie the game.  Then, somewhere in Edmonton, Ales Kotalik chuckles wryly as twenty million Sabres fail to score in the shootout.

Fabric representing this game: Cloth diaper.

clothdiaper41Just be glad I chose a clean diaper.


14 Responses to “Sabres vs. Thrashers, 3/14/09”


  1. 1 ms.conduct March 14, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    “The season is going to be over before we know it, and I might as well enjoy the games we have left.”

    Exactly. Wish more Wild fans felt like that so I didn’t have to spend the last few weeks of the season listening to them kvetch non-stop.

  2. 2 Pookie March 14, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    (Fabric and hockey are pretty much the same audience, right?)

    Of course! At least, here it does! I’m sure the Sabres will be playing like uber-expensive uber-cute Japanese woodland animal print in no time!

  3. 3 Katebits March 14, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Well, I today is my first day with my new attitude, ms. conduct. Last week I was disgusted, followed by disinterested. Tonight is just an experiment in being aloof. :D

    Pookie, no. There is no uber-cute fabric in this game’s future. I’m calling a shutout right now.

  4. 4 Katebits March 14, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Huh. The Sabres did NOT appreciate me calling the shutout.

  5. 5 Pookie March 14, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    Wooooooo! You got to Garden Party after all! Don’t fuck this up, Sabres! That’s some seriously awesome fabric you’re rocking right now!

  6. 6 Shari March 14, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Aside from the military there are very few that can pull off wearing camoflage or even quilting it. Just…IK!
    I’m so happy for Max, I should go put my sons Max jersey on!

  7. 7 Buffalo Kim March 14, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    This is the way it always goes. We play several CRAP games to confirm we shouldn’t be in the playoffs, and then all of the sudden…. A hockey HALO comes up, and we’re still watching with hope. Seriously… in one short week, hopefully we can be thinking about what we can do in the off season to build a team that brings 100% to enough games to make the playoffs.

    And don’t get me wrong. I do LOVE the Sabres.

  8. 8 Shari March 14, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    Your right Kate. I see that big grin on Al’s face.
    Deep heavy depressing siiiiiiigh…

  9. 9 Erin March 14, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Is it okay that I don’t feel that bad tonight? I mean it sucked to lose, but we’re only 2 points out of the playoff’s with two games in hand over Carolina. I don’t know but I’m not in the mood to throw a pity party. Yet.

  10. 10 Glenn March 14, 2009 at 11:50 pm

    I feel bad for Lalime that he was forced into a shootout. How dare his team not score enough to avoid it!!! Sheesh….isn’t that just good manners toward your goalie?!

  11. 11 Valerie March 15, 2009 at 8:44 am

    Good to see you back Kate. Being a fan sometimes feels like going through the seven stages of grieving. Again and again. We reached acceptance here some months ago. Well, some have. The lunatic fringe is still hanging on to the arithmetical calculations of making the playoffs. The new side-sport is spotting the famous girlfriends (this is a political town – we don’t get out much).

  12. 12 seance time March 15, 2009 at 9:28 am

    It’s time to grab any bad-mojo sabres gear and burn it. I’ve done this from time to time and it seems to work. Burned a goat head logo flag two years ago when they couldn’t score. That night, goals! Last season I burned my Chris Drury USPS issued photo & envelope. The Sabres went on a winning streak.
    I’ll be burning some more tainted gear today, so if anyone sees a black cloud of smoke weaving through Jamestown, it’s not the thing from LOST, it’s a sacrifice heading to the hockey gods.

  13. 13 radoran March 15, 2009 at 11:49 am

    I never liked Patrick Lalime even a little bit…

  14. 14 Katebits March 16, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    Hmm. Seance time, you’ve got me thinking…..what to burn….what to burn….?

    Radoran, what’s not to like about Lalime? He’s such a nice guy!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

