5 Things

1. Like almost everyone I know in town, I’ve been recently struck down with the cold/flu from hell.  I’m mostly feeling fine now, but I still have a (really attractive) barking cough, so I’ve been taking a cough suppressant at night. When I first got sick I accidentally threw out the little plastic cup that came with the cough syrup so I’ve been using an actual tablespoon to administer my nightly dosage.  Yesterday, when I opened a new bottle (yes, this is a two bottle level illness…sad times), I had a NEW cup, but I had gotten so used to giving myself two tablespoons of medicine each night that without thinking, I slurped down TWO generously poured little plastic cups of cough syrup.  It wasn’t until about an hour later when I was literally stumbling around my apartment and mentally writing letters to the FDA asking HOW they could make such a ridiculously potent drug available for over the counter usage, that I realized I had taken at least TWICE the recommended dosage.  Oopsies.  I’m lucky to be alive, people.  That was a wild ride.  (Actually, I just went to sleep.)

2. I think it’s interesting that the Sabres have spent the last two days defending Lindy Ruff to reporters.  I’m glad that they realize their suckiness is putting Lindy’s job on the line (at least in the eyes of the press).  Maybe the threat of Lindy getting fired will put a little urgency into their game.  I’m not at all surprised to hear they love and respect him.

3. Lindy himself has been asked to comment on the team and the job he’s been doing, which has caused him to say, “I get pissed when my passion is called into question.”  I think a reporter asked him specifically about his passion, so I’m not judging Lindy for defending it, but…..it’s not Lindy’s passion I question.  His TEAM’S passion is certainly questionable, and that’s why I question Lindy’s effectiveness.

4.  I wish that Spacek had another year on his contract.  I think Darcy is going to be under a lot of pressure to make changes this offseason, and so it might be difficult to justify re-signing Spacek, but of all the older defensemen he might be the one I’m most interested in keeping.  I keep hearing Paul Hamilton on the radio all non-chalantly saying things like, “Well, Spacek is most likely gone next year.”  Really?  I mean, I know he’s not perfect, but that, um, sounds a little scary to me.  We kind of need Spacek, don’t we?  Why couldn’t Lydman or Tallinder be free agents this summer?  Why does it have to be Spacek?!  WHY? *shaking fist at sky*

5. I’m going to the game tomorrow.  It’s the last game of the season for me.  Even though I’ve been complaining mightily about the Sabres recently, I’m sorry to see another season go.  I love going to the arena, and it’s sad to realize I’m most likely done for awhile.

15 Responses to “5 Things”


  1. 1 psohawk81 March 24, 2009 at 9:42 pm

    A few things:

    a) I find it really, really strange at how quickly the Sabres feel the need to get upset about what other people are saying. Aren’t they supposed to know better and cancel all the white noise out?

    b) Everyone is talking about a certian goofy-looking defenseman in Florida as the big UFA this summer, but Jaro’s numbers aren’t all that different from his. That makes me think Jaro may wind up outside of the price range Darcy can afford, which really is too bad becuase you are right: we sort of need him.

    c) I hate the last game of the year. Mine is Detroit, which means not only will it be depressing, they are going to get killed.

  2. 2 Katebits March 24, 2009 at 11:26 pm

    I find it really, really strange at how quickly the Sabres feel the need to get upset about what other people are saying. Aren’t they supposed to know better and cancel all the white noise out?

    I think it’s weird too. Remember a few weeks ago after Miller got hurt and Jerry wrote his column accusing the Sabres of being soft, and the Sabres acted all hurt, angry and confused about it? I don’t think the Sabres should be reading Jerry Sullivan’s columns.

  3. 3 Grrrreg March 25, 2009 at 4:22 am

    Spacek? Nooo! I’ve liked him since you posted that nice chart to help people discover their favourite Sabre, a while ago.

    And I’m glad you survived your cough syrup overdose, Kate!

  4. 4 Heather B. March 25, 2009 at 6:01 am

    My theory is that the Sabres get the most upset when something written is a little too close to the truth. I think they didn’t like Sully criticizing how they get pushed around because they do get pushed around and they let each other get pushed around. I think they’re worked up about Lindy because they know they are playing like garbage and in another city their play would’ve gotten the coach canned already. That’s just an idea though. I haven’t really thought that through or anyting.

    I wouldn’t mind keeping Spacek either but I think he probably is due for a decent raise if not a considerable one. I don’t think we can make the whole blue line babies next season so we need a veteran back there somewhere. Teppo will be gone, Hank might be gone. The other thing about Spacek is that I think he’s one of the few players who takes any accountability for his play and the play of the team. He won’t hesitate to come out and say, “We played really bad hockey,” unlike… well, just about everyone.

  5. 5 Heather B. March 25, 2009 at 6:03 am

    The above said, I do agree that the Sabres should probably avoid reading too much press/listening to too much radio but I can see how it would be pretty hard to avoid what’s being said about you in a community like Buffalo.

  6. 6 Amy March 25, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Glad to see you survived your cough syrup overdose, Kate!

    I would really hope that we could keep Spacek. He’s been reasonably solid this year and brings a good presence to balance out Sekera, Butler and Weber. I’d like to see Teppo stay on in some off-ice role in the organization, since he’s been very good with mentoring Butler. If they brought him on as a coach of some sort, I wonder if having three defensemen behind the bench would change The System at all?

    I can see how it would be pretty hard to avoid what’s being said about you in a community like Buffalo

    Agreed. But some players do show a level of astuteness with the media. And I appreciate it. Crunchy via his blog told the fans to chill the eff out, which to me suggests that he either reads blogs or is aware of what’s being said on WGR. Goose has admitted to listening to WGR’s trade day coverage so he could be aware of what’s being discussed. On the one hand, it’s a good thing that they’re in tune with the media and the fans thoughts. On the other hand, just put your media blinders on and play hockey already.

  7. 7 Katebits March 25, 2009 at 8:48 am

    My theory is that the Sabres get the most upset when something written is a little too close to the truth.

    That sounds like a fairly good theory, Heather, except it also sounds like something the Buffalo News guys would say while patting each other on the back in the newsroom for a job well done. That’s an image I find upsetting, just on principle. :P

  8. 8 elise March 25, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Go hog wild at the game, you Old Bag!!!!

    p.s. sorry about the cough. rough. we played a concert in Manchester last week, and there was a mad barking seal duck in the audience. i jest not. i almost peed my pants during the second (lovely) theme in the Mozart Dissonant…

  9. 9 Grrrreg March 25, 2009 at 9:32 am

    And I’m glad you survived your cough syrup overdose, Kate!

    Glad to see you survived your cough syrup overdose, Kate!

    Hey, don’t steal my comments, Amy! :P

  10. 10 glenn einschlag March 25, 2009 at 9:58 am

    I’m in toronto now and last night I caught a game on tv that was between the red wings and the oilers… I got all depressed when I saw Kotalik score, but oddly felt better when the oilers lost…..
    *sigh*
    This year’s hockey season is slowly slipping away….

  11. 11 Gambler March 25, 2009 at 10:32 am

    He won’t hesitate to come out and say, “We played really bad hockey,”

    Not only won’t he hesitate, he’ll say it so quickly that you can’t even be sure that’s what he said at all! Man… I’ll miss the interviews most of all, I think.

  12. 12 dave in Rocha March 25, 2009 at 10:56 am

    “…it’s not Lindy’s passion I question. His TEAM’S passion is certainly questionable, and that’s why I question Lindy’s effectiveness.”

    A valid point, but I’m beginning to think that some guys have passion and some don’t, regardless of the coach. To put it another way, I’m pretty sure that Jarome Iginla would have the same amount of passion on the ice if his coach was Mike Keenan or if it was Droopy Dog.

    If anything, I think Lindy’s utilization of backups, his portioning of icetime (why has Roy not sat for periods on end is baffling), and his (rumored) instructions to not beat down on guys in your crease are legitimate concerns.

  13. 13 Katebits March 25, 2009 at 12:43 pm

    I have two responses to your comment, dave:

    1. I agree that Iginla-level passion cannot be taught, but I DO think a culture of passionLESSness can be cultivated. I think that culture has been festering in the Sabres locker room for over two years now. Lindy can’t necessarily CREATE a ton of passion, but I do think a passionless attitude can be created. Losing, hopelessness, laziness, lack of team focus, confusion about roles, mistakes- all these things, when not properly addressed can add up to what we as fans perceive as “lack of passion”.

    Maybe I feel so strongly about this because I know how much a conductor’s ability to inspire passion can effect an orchestra. In an orchestra, two different conductors can produce wildly different results with the same group of musicians. I certainly wouldn’t want to make to much of the orchestra/hockey team similarities, but the intangible quality of “inspired effort” (or lack thereof) is something I deal with on a daily basis at my job. So, when I see a large group of hockey players, who all seem to be suffering from a passion malaise, I just naturally think- these people need a new conductor coach. :P (To be clear, this is in no way a disparaging statement about the conducting at the BPO. I love our conductors.)

    2. I am not very inclined to analyze the specifics of Lindy’s coaching or his system. I assume that Lindy is a smart guy, with a smart hockey mind. But at the end of the day, this is his team, and if he can’t convince his players to FOLLOW him, than he’s not doing a good job.

  14. 14 Heather B. March 25, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    That sounds like a fairly good theory, Heather, except it also sounds like something the Buffalo News guys would say while patting each other on the back in the newsroom for a job well done. That’s an image I find upsetting, just on principle. :P

    Completely understandable. And you KNOW it happens.

  15. 15 danielleia March 25, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Ohhh the barking coughs! Those can be kinda fun. Feel better!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

