Sabres vs Leafs 3/27/09

Pregame

Mood: WOOOOOOOOOOO!!  You know what?  I’m pumped.  I have found the conversation surrounding the Sabres to be totally invigorating lately.  I know some people look at my attitude and think I’m being grouchy (I was accused of being a negative nelly today in Kevin’s comment thread), but I just do NOT feel grumpy about the Sabres.  At all.  Since I decided that they kind of suck I’ve felt the OPPOSITE of grumpy.  I like hockey again.  I find the conversation about what’s wrong with them to be incredibly compelling, but now it’s minus all the emotional turmoil.  I feel great about hockey, and I love the Sabres.
Favorite Sabre: CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!
Least Favorite Sabre: Hm….I’m going with Tim Connolly, just cuz.
Prediction: I honestly have NO idea.  Traditionally, the game after an emotional win is when the Sabres phone it in, but Crunchy’s return might give them a nice boost.  Oh, thank GOD Crunchy is back.
Facebook Quiz representing my hopes for this game: Which composer are you?

picture-10I am NOT Tchaikovsky.  Now HE was a negative nelly.

After the 1st (2-0, Sabres)

Mood: Entertained.  Please do not misunderstand (especially you, Hockey Gods), I’m not taking this lead as some kind of indication that we are going to win, but this game feels easy-breezy so far.
Favorite Sabre: CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!
Least Favorite Sabre: I dunno.  I wasn’t paying close enough attention to notice.
Summary of events: Cujo allowed 50% of the shots he saw into his net.  Crunchy allowed 0% in.  The numbers don’t lie, people.
Facebook quiz representing this game so far: Pick 5

picture-12My five favorite movies.

After the 2nd (4-1, Sabres)

Mood: Deeeeelighted.  Man, the Leafs are fun.
Favorite Sabre: CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!
Least Favorite Sabre: All of them.  If you CAN backcheck, forecheck, play hard, and look like you give a flying flibberty floo, WHY DON’T YOU DO IT ALL THE TIME?  Jerks.
Summary of events: CuJo was like, “Why, come right in and score at will, Sabres,” and the Sabres were all, “Don’t mind if we do, CuJo!”  Then Cujo was pulled and Pogge was all, “Not so fast, Sabres.”  Then the Sabres were all, “We’re so cute and fast, doncha think?” while the Leafs easily scored a shortie.  Then Crunchy was all, “Oh, now I remember why I hate you guys.”  Then Kate was like, “WOOOOOOOOOOOO! CRUNCHY! CRUNCHY! CRUNCHY!”
Facebook quiz representing this game so far: What color is your aura?

picture-13Facebook says my aura is red but I think I’m probably a little more pinkish.  That business about “will power” and “persistance” is total bullhonky. I, um, have no idea what this has to do with this hockey game.  This post is a stretch.  A true red aura-ed person would never write this post.

At the end (5-3, Sabres)

Mood: Basically pleased.  If the Sabres win tomorrow in regulation I MIGHT allow a smidgen of hope back into my heart (maybe), but I will be sad to see this, “Aw, fuck it, the Sabres just suck” phase go.  It’s been downright therapeutic for me.
Favorite Sabre: CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!  CRUNCHY!
Least Favorite Sabre: Dude, Toni Tone Tony Lydman.  Stop taking dumb penalties.   Just.  Stop.
Summary of events: The Sabres were all, “Hm.  Maaaaaybe we want to keep coach killing after all.  Let’s let these Leafs back into the game.”  Then Goose was all, “Eff that.  Let’s win.”  And then he did his adorable happy dance.
Snack you should eat as soon as possible representing this game: Wegmans brand Green Apple Sorbet

scrumpshIf you see this, you should eat it.

11 Responses to “Sabres vs Leafs 3/27/09”


  1. 1 piece_of_etc March 27, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    quality.

  2. 2 Lauren March 27, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Katebits, I feel dumb – can ya help me out? WHY do they call Sekara “Reggie”?????

  3. 3 Amy March 27, 2009 at 9:47 pm

    I’m getting the feeling that you really liked Crunchy this game.

    Seriously though, it was good to see him back in net again.

  4. 4 Meg March 27, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    Between Crunchy and Goose I’m not sure I care about the rest of the game tonight. The rest of the Sabres? Eh. But those two I am loving.

    Also, that green apple sorbet looks yummy.

  5. 5 Katebits March 27, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    It really was just GOOD to see Crunchy back in the net, wasn’t it?

    Meg, Goose was extremely bewitching tonight, no doubt. HONK! And since I know you do not have a Wegmans in Manhattan I will refrain from going on at length about the Green Apple Sorbet (but it’s pretty darn tasty).

  6. 6 Katebits March 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    Lauren, I’ve always assumed that “Reggie” came from the spelling of Sekera’s first name A-n-d-r-e-j. I’m guessing that somewhere along the way some dopey English speaking hockey player latched on to the r-e-j and turned him into a Reggie.

  7. 7 danielleia March 27, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    See, I’ve never watched the Goonies. Everyone says, “YOU’VE NEVER SEEN THE GOONIES?!?!” and I say no. Now I feel like I have to watch the Goonies.

  8. 8 glenn einschlag March 27, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    I was in Toronto and in rehearsal all night so I didn’t get to see the game or hear it. Afterwards, I was out at a restaurant asking everybody randomly if they knew the results of the hockey game tonight involving the Maple Leafs. NOBODY knew… How do ya like that? That so would never happen in Buffalo…. just sayin’…

  9. 9 Shari March 27, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Went to my sons playoff soccer game tonight and only 5 of his guys showed up. His team lost 10-8. I’d say that’s a pretty damn good loss! So I missed the Sabres but I fast forwarded the game later and my oh my, they sure looked fast tonight!

  10. 10 Destiny March 28, 2009 at 10:51 am

    I was at the game last night and I quite enjoyed it! Goose fighting and scoring just made it for me. XD

  11. 11 elise March 30, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    I want all of the Sabres to take the ‘which composer are you’ quiz…


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

