The Return of Hope

I believe my exact words yesterday were,

If the Sabres win tomorrow in regulation I MIGHT allow a smidgen of hope back into my heart (maybe).

As I’m sure you know, they did NOT win in regulation, but damned if that little tickle I feel deep in my chest isn’t a tiny smidgen of hope.

I was at work tonight, so I had my usual work-night view of the game (saw almost all of the 1st period, and a few minutes of the 3rd), but I have to admit, I’m loving this little end of the season surge.  Sure, it’s nearly hopeless, but it’s also nearly fun.  If these last seven games are the closest we’ll get to a playoff vibe, well, I recommend we take what we can get.

I can’t believe Toni Lydman was a hero while I was at work.

9 Responses to “The Return of Hope”


  1. 1 Phil March 28, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    My Lydman 3rd jersey sure can believe it ;)

  2. 2 Katebits March 28, 2009 at 10:14 pm

    You have a Lydman jersey, Phil?! I love Gaustad the most, but if I ever decided to get a jersey, I think I’d go with a Lydman.

  3. 3 Erin March 28, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    I love Lydman! I’m with you on enjoying the end because it’s as close to playoff intensity that we’re going to get. It’s fun. It’s not perfect, but it’s fun and no one can stop me from enjoying myself!!!

    PS- Also love Crunchy. Forever.

  4. 4 Phil March 28, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    I’ve been a huge fan of Lydman since McKee left and Loods turned into Mr. Blocked Shots in his absence. Stupid Tallinder made him look like poo for a while, but not anymore. He takes dumb penalties, but his numbers cancel those out.

    My friend Beth has a signed Lydman Ice Bowl jersey. We’re the only people we know with Loods jerseys.

  5. 5 Destiny March 29, 2009 at 12:42 am

    Sure, I left the bar and ended up missing a SO win. :(

  6. 6 SueInVirginia March 29, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    The past two games were unwatchable on NHL Center Ice where I live. We believe it was because of the storm that was going through but it could have been some higher force trying to maintain my sanity. I ended up seeing the last few minutes of each 3rd period (and the OT of last nights on the NHL network.)

    And for once I wasn’t yelling “LYDMAN” in frustration! ;)

    Keep it up boys! That’s my mantra!

  7. 7 Rico March 30, 2009 at 9:38 am

    I was at the Game, bus ride up from New England.. There were a pretty heathly # of Sabres fan there. I got to leave with a smile… I would get a Kaleta jersey

  8. 8 tsoemvs March 30, 2009 at 11:42 am

    OH yee Sabres fans…. I am the neybob of negativity. Our fall into barely noticeable 9th/10th spots in the eastern conference has precipitated this last ditch effort to save their season! There efforts are valiant, but late.

    Oh how I wish the hockey gods would hear my plea…
    CHECK THIS TEAM INTO THE BOARDS! 3rd Period Meaninglessly fight them into submission! May their groins match the weakness in their minds! Oh great god of forechecking… make the blue line impenetrable.

    Hope is a dangerous tool, pushing mere fanatics to expose ourselves to great effing disappointment!

    After my pontification, I defer to the NJ Brodeurs!

  9. 9 Ashley April 3, 2009 at 11:12 am

    i cannot believe you just referenced Mr. Belvedere
    I am super impressed by that.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

