4 (Pretty Boring) Things

1. The Sabres are trying to avoid me.  By the time this weekend is over I will have worked on four consecutive game nights, which is definitely a record.   I’m not sure if this makes me a bad Sabres fan, but I really don’t mind missing these games.  I have the Thrashers game sitting on my DVR, but….no.  That’s not going to happen. (Incidentally, I think all you really need to know about the Sabres this season is that they went 0-0-4 against the Atlanta Thrashers.  I can’t quite pinpoint why, but that stat perfectly encapsulates the season for me.)

2. It turns out that the “hope” I was feeling last week was really just a desire to be entertained.  When the Panthers and the Habs won on Tuesday, and then the Sabres lost last night, my reaction was pretty much just, “Meh, whatevs.”  I think it’s interesting (and a little bit sad) that at this point I can’t work up any emotional turmoil over the Sabres.  They wore me down.  So, if the goal of the Sabres’ season was to get me to stop investing emotionally in each game, well, I guess the Sabres won….but if the goal was to win, then I guess the Sabres lost.  Heh.

3. I’ve been working my little caboose off lately, but things are slowing down.  Next week I’m just going to sit around doing next to nothing.  Maybe I’ll sew some tiny squares of fabric together if I’m feeling feisty.

4. I’ve watched considerably less non-Sabres hockey this season than I did last season so I’m finding myself at a loss when I consider rooting interests for the playoffs.

The following teams are definite “No way, Jose” teams for me:  Rangers, Caps, Habs, Hurricanes, Ducks

Right now I’m inclined to like the following teams:  Panthers, Bruins, Blue Jackets, Red Wings, Blues

These teams fall into the “Maaaaybe I could root for them, if all else fails” category: Blackhawks, Flames, Penguins, Sharks

These teams fall into the “Emotional Wildcard, anything could happen” category: Flyers, Devils, Predators, Canucks

Last season during the playoffs my allegiences switched wildly from series to series.  It will be interesting to see how the dust settles this spring in the competition for my support.  Playoffs beards will factor strongly in my decision making.  At least 85% of my willingness to cheer for the Pens can be directly attributed to Maxim Talbot’s playoff beard.

15 Responses to “4 (Pretty Boring) Things”


  1. 1 Pookie April 2, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Last season during the playoffs my allegiences switched wildly from series to series.

    That’s the best thing about the Playoffs. Being open to cheering for anyone. And being open to then cheering against them in the next series. Just because you can!

  2. 2 Katebits April 2, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    I’m not going to lie, I’m sort of looking forward to the end of the Sabres season and the beginning of the “Tra la la hockey is exciting and not hugely frustrating” season. Last year during the playoffs I spent a lot of time wallowing in Sabres related angst, but I suspect that I will have no trouble washing these Sabres right out of my hair this year.

  3. 3 elise April 2, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    KATE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I can’t believe you left the Boston door open!!!!! Come visit for play-offs! I don’t have HD, but i do have a cute cat. Oh yeah, he’s not mine…

    And good food!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. 4 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 2, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    Right now I’m inclined to like the following teams: Panthers, Bruins, Blue Jackets, Red Wings, Blues

    I shouldn’t even bother, because history has demonstrated that you instantly root for any team I tell you to hate, but because I’m a glutton for punishment…

    …NO, if you absolutely must, NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO, oh c’mon why don’t you just root for Microsoft while you’re at it, and why bother when they’re just gonna die in the first round?

  5. 5 Schnookie April 2, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    These teams fall into the “Emotional Wildcard, anything could happen” category: Flyers, Devils, Predators, Canucks

    Meh. Just stick the Devils into your “team whose failure I will delight in” category, so you can enjoy the first round. :P

  6. 6 Grrrreg April 3, 2009 at 8:25 am

    The following teams are definite “No way, Jose” teams for me: Rangers, Caps, Habs, Hurricanes, Ducks

    Hmph! Well the habs are in great company right there… :P

  7. 7 Amy April 3, 2009 at 8:51 am

    Being open to cheering for anyone. And being open to then cheering against them in the next series. Just because you can!

    What Pookie said. That’s what makes playoff hockey so enjoyable when your team isn’t participating.

    At least 85% of my willingness to cheer for the Pens can be directly attributed to Maxim Talbot’s playoff beard.

    JP Dumont’s playoff beard is enough of a reason to root for the Thrashers. That thing was a gorgeous monster.

  8. 8 Mike April 3, 2009 at 10:16 am

    My name is Mike and I run http://www.NHLsnipers.com. I am just curious if you would like to swap links.

    Let me know in a quick comment on my site or email me: nhlsnipers at gmail.

    If so, send me the link you want listed.

    Thanks

  9. 9 dave in Rocha April 3, 2009 at 10:20 am

    “These teams fall into the “Emotional Wildcard, anything could happen” category: Flyers, Devils, Predators, Canucks”

    I’m willing to give you a pass because you’re still new to this whole “being a Buffalo person and a Sabre fan”, but the fact that the Flyers are on your “wildcard” list is appalling. They’re the FLYERS. They’re from PHILLY. They are EVIL. The fact that they’re making the playoffs at all makes this a crappy season, regardless of what the Sabres do.

    So just to review:
    Flyers = BAD
    Flyers = SUCK
    Flyers = THE ENEMY

  10. 10 Katebits April 3, 2009 at 11:16 am

    dave, I’ve made a conscious decision not to adopt every single aspect of typical Sabres fandom. While I’m willing to go along with “We hate the Flyers” to a certain extent out of respect to history, nothing in my experience as a Sabres fan has made me particularly hate them. I also lived in Philadelphia for four very happy years, so Philly = Evil does not work for me at all.

    I think I’d be a little more attached to this rivalry if there was any indication that fans of the Flyers cared about us in the slightest.

  11. 11 S. Tooth April 3, 2009 at 11:34 am

    Because nobody cares: The Pens, Bruins and Flyers are on my “No Way, Jose” list whereas I feel slightly differently about the Caps. They’re the Caps. They have a pretty pitiful history, so it’s hard to feel that threatened by them. Despite Ovechkin. Of course, all that will change if they win the cup.

  12. 12 Keller April 3, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    May I lobby to put the Blues at the Top of your inclined to like list? You would love TJ Oshie if you watched him every night. And Chris Mason is like Ryan Miller without the emo attitude. Oh, and Cam Jannsen is like Pat Kaleta, Adam Mair and Andrew Peters wrapped in big Blue Note.

    If I could add a time honored St. Louis tradition to your comments…FUCK DETROIT!

    Thank You
    Keller

  13. 13 Chris April 3, 2009 at 8:58 pm

    What’s with the Ranger-hating?

  14. 14 mcguffers April 3, 2009 at 9:34 pm

    What’s with the Ranger-hating?

    That’s funny.

  15. 15 Susie April 3, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    I date a Flyers fan (that 0-4-0 record against them this season hurt a little), so, yeah…I’m kind of stuck with them in the playoffs if the Sabres don’t somehow manage to sneak their way in. They have a couple loveable players though – Carter, Giroux, Richards – those guys don’t get on my nerves like some.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

