7 Good Things About the Leafs Game

1. Goose scored a foxy goal and did his funny “I don’t quite know how to celebrate” happy dance. Cute.

2. Chris Butler did an interview at the second intermission (when the game was tied) where Kevin Sylvester was attempting to ramp up the drama with a lot of “It all comes down to THIS PERIOD, Chris!  The entire season is on the line!” and you could practically see the thought bubble above Butler’s head that said, “Wait…what?  Um, there is NOTHING on the line, Kevin.”  But he didn’t say what he was really thinking, because Chris Butler has a good head on his shoulders.

3. The Sabres won!  I know!  I’m as shocked as you are!  I’m sure you’ve noticed, but I’m a little cranky about the Sabres these days.  It was a relief to find myself still interested in cheering for them.

4. I watched it on a 45 minute DVR delay, and I was all caught up by the end.  I hate DVRed games in general, but I kind of love them when the delay is very slight.  I fast forwarded straight through all those Hershal Gelber commercials.  Hurt in a car?  Call William Ma-Idon’thavetowatchthesecommercials.

5. There was a long lingering shot of James Patrick behind the bench which reminded me that I think the Sabres should promote him when they fire Lindy. (I know, I know, the Sabres are NEVER going to fire Lindy….but I like to have a plan B ready to go.  Just in case.)  Somehow during this season I got it into my head that Jeep is in charge of the PK (I have no idea if this is true).  Since the penalty kill is one of the only reliably good parts of the Sabres game, I think it’s safe to assume that James Patrick is a good coach who the Sabres are willing to obey.  He’s hired!

6. Heather and I had a funny email conversation about how our blueline is quite fugly.  Hank and Teppo excepted.  I happen to have a weakness for Toni Lydman, but I think that might just be one of those little quirks that makes me, me.

7.  WOOOOOOO, only two games left!  I mean, wait…no….darn it…..the season is almost over.  Rats!  *shifty eyes* I’m….so sad about the end of this super fun season.  Whatever will we do in the glorious drab springtime without the Sabres to watch?

11 Responses to “7 Good Things About the Leafs Game”


  1. 1 Meg April 8, 2009 at 10:37 pm

    I think that Patrick said he does the penalty kill in that interview with him and McCutcheon that’s on Sabres.com.

    Lydman sometimes looks good and sometimes looks awful. It’s quite strange.

  2. 2 Katebits April 8, 2009 at 10:44 pm

    Yes! Thank you, Meg! That’s TOTALLY where I got it into my head that James Patrick is the best coach we have! :P

    Lydman is a mystery wrapped in a riddle smothered in club sauce.

  3. 3 Phil April 8, 2009 at 11:07 pm

    Lydman was playing heavy metal with his band Mononen last night at the Bovine Sex Club on Queen St.

    Lydman is win

  4. 4 JBo April 8, 2009 at 11:13 pm

    Is it bad that I have tickets to do the last game and I don’t want to go? I mean, it’s Boston. We’re NOT going to win.

    I mean…

    LET’s go buffalo. woo. =/

  5. 5 Phil April 8, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    I’m going. There’s no way I’m not going. Harbour Club Box 5, row 2, seats 1 & 2. My tax return present to myself and my girlie.

    If anything, I think they’ll have an easier time with Boston than Carolina.

  6. 6 Heather B. April 9, 2009 at 6:00 am

    We actually have a really good record against Boston so if anyone out there wants to ditch their tickets, I will gladly take them off your hands.

    I’ve found Toni quite handsome in more than one real-life, off-ice photo but for whatever reason his looks don’t seem to translate to hockey gear. He can’t pull off the helmeted look. Butler also looks a touch cuter minus a helmet although for him the transformation is not nearly as powerful. Toni also tends to do weird crap with his hair.

  7. 7 Jaime April 9, 2009 at 8:18 am

    I hate the Hershel Gelber commercials simply for the fact that his skin is the same color as his tangerine tie. Get out of the tanning beds!

  8. 8 piece_of_etc April 9, 2009 at 10:54 am

    KITTEN I WILL ROOT AGAINST BOSTON IN THE ONE CASE

  9. 9 danielleia April 9, 2009 at 11:34 am

    “Hurt in a car? Call William Ma-Idon’thavetowatchthesecommercials.”

    Oh my goodness this line makes me laugh. I always have to mock him when he comes on. It’s funny how some commercials just standout… especially the ones they drill in our heads over and over.

  10. 10 Jennifer April 9, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Well, I’m heading to the game in Carolina tonight, so you can pretty much bet on a loss… as if there was a question!

    Got an extra ticket, so if there are any TWC readers out there in the Raleigh area, let me know… slidnside@yahoo.com

    Kate, hope it’s OK that I “used” your blog for my own personal usage. Thanks! I just hate for the ticket to go to waste.

  11. 11 Katebits April 9, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    Aw, thanks piece_of_etc! But it might not be necessary! We still have to win tonight (and the Rangers have to lose) in order for the Bruins game to effect the standings.

    Oooh! I hope you found someone good to give the ticket to, Jennifer!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

