Sabres @ Hurricanes 4/9/09

Pregame

Mood: Surprisingly chipper.  For reasons beyond my comprehension, I have been looking forward to this game all day.  I have no idea why, because this game will almost certainly lead to heartbreak, anger, and tears, but I dunno….it’s nice outside.  I’m in a good mood.  Go hockey!  I hear the Hurricanes have been downright juggernaut-y which is making me kind of curious to see how the Sabres look against them.  If the Hurricanes are anything like the Red Wings the Sabres will look “like poo” against them, but I don’t care how good the Hurricanes have been lately, they’re no Red Wings.  They have to lose eventually, right?
Favorite Sabre: HONK!  Also, hey Nathan Paetshcatshchatshch!  I guess I kind of missed you!
Least Favorite Sabre: When I think about the coming off season, and the Sabres ability (or non-ability) to make drastic changes to the roster, I resent the hell out of Tim Connolly.
Prediction: Hurricanes win 187-3
Peeps representing my hopes for this game: Kentucky Fried Peeps

peepsbucket200

We’re in this together, like a bunch of peeps in a bucket…..or something.

After the 1st (1-0, Sabres)

Mood: I’m now surprisingly bummed to see that the Rangers are winning 2-0 after the first.  I can’t buh-LIEVE that I apparently had a little bit of hope for the playoffs remaining.  Sports make people crazy, yo.
Favorite Sabre: Hey!  When exactly did Pommerdoodle remember how to play hockey?  Is it just me, or does he look like a professional hockey player again?  Good timing, P-Doods.  *eye roll*
Least Favorite Sabre: I can’t believe that in his morning skate interview Lindy Ruff used BRIAN CAMPBELL as an example of why we should be patient with our players.  WE SHOULD BE PATIENT LONG ENOUGH FOR THEM TO GO SIGN A HUGE CONTRACT WITH ANOTHER TEAM?  IS THAT THE PLAN, LINDY?  BECAUSE THAT PLAN SUCKS.  I know, I know, we have our currently sucky players under lifetime contracts.  We can afford have no choice but to be patient with them.  BUT STILL.  Honestly, Lindy.
Summary of events: Spacek, Connolly, and P-Doods worked together to score a goal so pretty that even I, the crankiest Sabres fan in the WORLD, was tempted to be all, “Aw, fuck it.  Let’s keep the gang together!  These guys have still got it!”
Peep representing this game thus far: Smoking Peep

Picture 14

We’ve all got to die somehow.  If our death is going to be because the Flyers lose to the Rangers, I say we just throw caution to the wind and have a smoke.

After the 2nd (4-0, Sabres)

Mood: Well, the surprising moods just keep on coming.  In this period (which saw the Sabres score three goals), I moved into “blind rage”.  I….can’t believe that Sabres are serving up an organized, hard fought, dominant performance against the hottest team in the league.  Sabres, WE COULD HAVE USED THIS KIND OF EFFORT TWO WEEKS AGO AGAINST THE THRASHERS. AAAAAAAARGH I HATE THEM SO MUCH.  I can’t believe these little a-holes have reduced me to rooting desperately FOR THE FLYER.
Favorite Sabre: Danny Briere
Least Favorite Sabre: Chris Drury
Summary of events: I can just HEAR Darcy Regier on WGR next week, “Well, it was a disappointing season, but we really feel we have a good team in place.  We had a lot of bad luck this season.  The injuries to Thomas and Ryan really hurt us in February, but I think the game against Carolina is indicative of the kind of potential that we have in this locker room. We have a lot of confidence that we’re on the right track for next season and for many seasons to come.”
Peep representing my hopes for this game: Peep show

funny-pictures-peep-show-easter-candy

It’s just hard to have any respect for this, you know?

At the End (5-1, Sabres)

Mood: I’ve come full circle, and I’m calm again.  (Boy this game was a roller coaster of emotion, huh?)  At least they died with dignity (if by “dignity” you mean “standing around in the locker room praying that the Flyers mount a miracle comeback against the Rangers).  I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again- it’s amazing how sports test our capacity for hope.  I’m sad.
Favorite Sabre: Ryan Miller, you are a star and a class act.  If there is one thing we’ve learned this season it’s that the Sabres are nothing without you.  Please take your ankle steroids this summer.
Least Favorite Sabre: Oh, hell.  I don’t know.
Peeps representing how it feels to sit around hoping the Flyers win:

230838649_4838929450

It’s rather disconcerting.

15 Responses to “Sabres @ Hurricanes 4/9/09”


  1. 1 Sally April 9, 2009 at 6:48 pm

    Sorry about Sabres season ending, Kate! Hope you enjoy the last few games anyways!

    (See? Not all Rangers fans are aholes!)

  2. 2 Katebits April 9, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Hm. I’m not sure the Rangers have clinched just yet, Sally. :P

  3. 3 Lauren April 9, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    HAHAHAHAH – Kate, I’m pretty sure that’s EXACTLY what Darcy is going to say. That was great – now I won’t even have to listen.

  4. 4 Katebits April 9, 2009 at 8:47 pm

    Okay, okay, NOW I accept your sympathy, Sally. Thank you. :P

    I know Lauren, I felt like I was channeling Darcy there for a minute.

  5. 5 Sally April 9, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    Way to go down fighting, Sabres! Next year may we celebrate in the land of Buffalo.

  6. 6 Katebits April 9, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Sigh. Right. Nexy year. Sally, I am happy that you are happy! Congratulations!

  7. 7 Grrrreg April 10, 2009 at 4:22 am

    I’m really sorry this season was so disappointing and frutrating for you, Kate. I hope the sabres shake things up a bit this summer…
    Now just relax, pick a secondary team and enjoy a cool spring of stress-free playoffs!

  8. 8 Katebits April 10, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Aw thanks, Grrrreg. We knew the end was coming, of course, but it’s sad when it finally does. Now I can just put this whole dumb season behind me and watch the playoffs footloose and fancy free! :D

  9. 9 Jaime April 10, 2009 at 9:07 am

    I told myself that it was hopeless weeks ago but I’m still sad. Stupid hope, stupid hockey.

  10. 10 danielleia April 10, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Hahahahhah Kentucky Fried Peeps! You cheer me up so much. (And I wonder who thought of sticking peep heads on a rice krispy treat?)

  11. 11 Brendan April 10, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    @Kate – Totally agree with your “Blind Rage”. I suspected they could play like that, but had finally decided that was a pipe-dream if they couldn’t pull it off a few weeks ago. NOW they start to play like that?

    @Grrrreg – I’ll be rooting for the Flames, and Washington first – Chicago and Boston(only because of lucic) second. I kinda like the day my team gets eliminated from contention because I can just go back to enjoying hockey without the stress, frustration and anger.

  12. 12 Amy April 10, 2009 at 12:30 pm

    I’m getting a sugar rush just looking at those Peep Krispie treats.

  13. 13 piece_of_etc April 10, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    i thought that was peep fried rice

  14. 14 Valerie April 10, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    recipe for marshmallow peeps: http://www.twigandthistle.com/blog/2009/03/diy-marshmallow-peeps/

    Happy Easter/Passover…however you celebrate.

  15. 15 elise April 11, 2009 at 11:27 am

    I’m so happy to live in a world where Peep Shows exist.

    Sorry about the Sabres, Kate…


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

