Sabres vs. Bruins: The Birth of ButtsNation

Pregame: So, here we are again.  The season ultimately boils down to a single meaningless game against Boston.  Didn’t T-Bone get a shutout against the Bruins in the last game of the season last year?  If Tellqvist gets a shutout that will be all the confirmation we need that this entire season was just a big joke on us.  My channel 700 is all effed up, so it looks like I’m watching this in extremely low, super sad definition.  BOOO.

After the 1st (4-0, Sabres): Oh, for the love of Lindy Ruff…….sigh.  When there is absolutely nothing on the line, the Sabres are really, really good. If that’s not the mark of a well coached team, I don’t know what is.  When there is absolutely nothing on the line, the Bruins are SHOCKINGLY bad.  I mean, I know they’re not icing their real team this afternoon, but sheesh.

After the 2nd: Loyal readers, I barely watched this period because I’ve had a REVELATION.  Something amazing has happened to me.  Please listen carefully because I am about to tell you something very, very important.  I’m in love…..with Chris Butler.  I’m not sure when it happened this season (it’s been such a whirlwind), all I know is that when Chris Butler scored, and RJ squawked, “I’ve been waiting all season to use this one- A HA!  The Butler did it!” my heart swelled with pride, not just the pride of a fan, but the pride of a devotee.   Butts is the cutest little peapod EVER.  (I believe it was Anne who first called Chris Butler, “Butts”, which is a nickname I fully endorse.)  I love Butler, and it’s a good thing that Goose is so confident about our relationship, otherwise he might be feeling a little threatened.

Today (in the grand tradition of PandoNation), ChrisButlerNation is born, and I am declaring myself its ruling high priestess.  I pledge to rule ButtsNation with fake benevolence and whimsical pettiness.

After the 3rd: Okay, this game technically has five and a half minutes left but it is SO BORING that even my newly discovered Chris Butler love and the knowledge that this is the last I will see of my beloved Sabres for five months cannot keep me interested.  The Sabres have looked good, which is nice.  Today they really are going out with dignity (assuming they don’t give up five goals in the next five minutes).  As for me, as usual, I’m out, 100% dignity free.

Bye, Sabres!

Oh wait…..one more goal!  Good boy, P-Doods!….wait, I mean good boy, Vanek.

Bye, Sabres!

9 Responses to “Sabres vs. Bruins: The Birth of ButtsNation”


  1. 1 Schnookie April 11, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    I’m so excited for you, Katebits! The international community is fully prepared to embrace ChrisButlerNation, and I’m thrilled to welcome you to the corrupt ruling priest class League of Nations.

  2. 2 Katebits April 11, 2009 at 5:07 pm

    Thank you, Schnookie. Are there any forms I need to fill out o make this official?

  3. 3 Pookie April 11, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Form #7a: ButtsNation agrees to allow PauileMartinNation to import and pot brownies with no tariffs.

  4. 4 Heather B. April 11, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    But *I* love Chris Butler! Mark said so!

    :P

  5. 5 Heather B. April 11, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Seriously, I’m watching Butler right now and he sounds 1,000 times more mature and sincere than some of the assholes guys who have been here the last few years.

  6. 6 Katebits April 11, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Form #7a: ButtsNation agrees to allow PauileMartinNation to import and pot brownies with no tariffs.

    Done. ChrisButlerNation agrees to wave all pot brownie tariffs for PaulieMartinNation in exchange for twice annual usage of said brownies.

    Seriously, I’m watching Butler right now and he sounds 1,000 times more mature and sincere than some of the assholes guys who have been here the last few years.

    I know. I’m telling you, in ten years he’s going to be the mayor of Buffalo, and I’ll be at his side (well, by his side in the shadows), legalizing pot brownies and responding to his fan mail.

  7. 7 Shari April 11, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    As a product of the 60’s/70’s I’m all in favor of the pot brownies.

  8. 8 Keller April 12, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Butler-St. Louis-Blues

    It’s all connected and St. Louis is an obvious team for Buffalo to cheer for this spring…go Blues!

  9. 9 Phil April 12, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    Keller, I dig your logic. Go Blues, go McKee!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

