Early Playoff Observations

1. Keith Jones, please eat some snacks. Your non-smooshiness makes me sad.  You don’t have to be skinny to be beautiful!  Stop reading all those fashion magazines- they’re giving you unrealistic images of beauty.  Put down the Vogue, and start eating TastyKakes.  Cuddliness is your best feature, please don’t squander it just to please Engblom. (I know Engblom is behind this somehow. *shakes fist at sky* Engblllllommm!)

2. I know it’s a seven game series, but how hard are the Sharks and their fans freaking out right now?  I’ve come to enjoy the annual spring fizzle-out from the Sharks, but I do feel bad for their fans.  I mean, by now they’ve got to just dread the playoffs.  Right?  When the Caps dropped game one it was a bit odd, a bit enjoyable (sorry Frisbee), but mostly no big deal.  It’s one game, you know?  But when the SHARKS dropped game one, I thought, “The President’s Cup team needs to be blown up.  Right now.”  Heh.  Poor Sharks.

3. Playoff hockey is a totally different beast than regular season hockey and I love it.  The intensity is so refreshing after months of watching the Sabres (who never seem to have their act together in the “intensity” department) play teams who either clinched their playoff spot weeks ago, or teams that gave up all hope months ago.  Last night it really struck me how hard the teams were trying. For that reason it’s kind of difficult to imagine the current Sabres in the playoffs, but someday they’ll be back in, and when that day comes we shall rejoice.

4. Today is the kind of day that makes you want to sit outside and drink beer in the sun, except that it’s really not warm enough.  The sun is a tease.  Stupid sun.  (Just kidding, sun.  You know I love you.)

5. I think the Burger King “Square Butts” commercial is pretty funny in a objectifying-women-wildly-inappropriate-for-children kind of way.  I like square butts and I cannot lie.

6. The Blackhawks really won me over last night.  The Blackhawks are charming and feisty in a way that I feel like the Caps want to be, but the Blackhawks can actually pull it off.  (Again, sorry Frisbee.  But the Bruins were foxy!  WOOOO!)  Plus….Patrick Sharp.

22 Responses to “Early Playoff Observations”


  1. 1 Schnookie April 17, 2009 at 1:15 pm

    The Blackhawks really won me over last night.

    Suuuuuuure the Blackhawks won you over, and oh yeah, Patrick Sharp. Heh. Are you sure it didn’t happen the other way around, more like the Patrick Sharp won you over, and oh yeah, the Blackhawks? :P

  2. 2 Katebits April 17, 2009 at 1:26 pm

    Are you sure it didn’t happen the other way around, more like the Patrick Sharp won you over, and oh yeah, the Blackhawks? :P

    Heh. Okay, you got me. But I see no reason not to cheer for the team surrounding Mr.Beefbot. They ARE charming and feisty. :P

  3. 3 Pookie April 17, 2009 at 1:39 pm

    MrBeefbot had a flag saying: “Help me! I need to get from Chicago to Katebit’s heart!”

  4. 4 Katebits April 17, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Pookie, :^:::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::::

    Just by way of explanation to other people, Pookie’s comment is a reference to this which is the story of a cute little robot trying to navigate through New York with the help of strangers. And “MrBeef” is a reference to this which is a video of Patrick Sharp being outrageously handsome while giving a tour of his local greasy eateries.

  5. 5 elise April 17, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    The Bruins are FOXY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. 6 Grrrreg April 17, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    Again, sorry Frisbee. But the Bruins were foxy! WOOOO!

    This just made me puke.

  7. 7 Katebits April 17, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Aw, MAN. I’m SORRY Grrrreg! Do you have a secondary team I can cheer for? :P

  8. 8 Grrrreg April 17, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    I must say that I find the blackhawks very engaging!

    I’m sorry, it’s just that I just went online to read a few opinions about yesterday’s game, and I came accross lots of people bitching about how the habs are cowards, cheap shot artists and weasels, and how the Bruins were their poor innocent victims yesterday. It pissed me off so much. And that was right before I decided to come here, looking for something fun to read. So this last sentence didn’t help! :)

    Anyway, I really think I should stay away from most hockey sites (but not your blog) until this series is over, or I seriously risk to go on a killing spree!

  9. 9 Clare April 17, 2009 at 5:23 pm

    I completely approve of your Blackhawks love. They are a truly wonderful team.

  10. 10 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 17, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    Aw, MAN. I’m SORRY Grrrreg! Do you have a secondary team I can cheer for?

    Okay, wait a minute. I spend three years of college by your side, take you to your first (and second) Wild game, tell everyone I know that they are required to read your hi-larious hockey blog, and even accept the fact that you reflexively find teams I despise “adorable” or some such nonsense…

    …and then you turn around and offer to root for whoever Tony the Tiger’s kid brother wants, just because you made him throw up in his mouth a little?

    Lame.

  11. 11 Katebits April 17, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Oh for EFFS SAKE! I can’t cheer for everybody’s team! ALL YOUR TEAMS ARE DESPICABLE! ARE YOU HAPPY NOW?! :P

    Sam, YOU’RE LAME. I CHEER FOR THE WILD, and I’m only half heartedly rooting against the Flyers right this minute. WHAT MORE DO YOU PEOPLE WANT?!

    Sorry for my shrill tone. Today has been traumatic from a hockey perspective.

    Plus, Sam, you’re already on my list for introducing me to that weird music bouncing ball game. I played with that thing for an hour this afternoon when I should have been out in the fresh spring weather.

  12. 12 Pookie April 17, 2009 at 8:49 pm

    ALL YOUR TEAMS ARE DESPICABLE! ARE YOU HAPPY NOW?! :P

    Surely you don’t mean my team!

    (Kidding! Kidding!)

  13. 13 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 17, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I’m playing the bouncing ball game right now, as a way of distracting myself from the fact that the Flyers are in overtime instead of tied up in their series because of a phantom hooking call. I’m beginning to seriously hate the VS announcers’ Penguin crush. If a Flyer had cranked his arm around a stick and Malkin was in the box as a result, we’d still be hearing about what an indefensibly dirty play it was. Instead, it’s just smart, heads-up hockey. Eff you, VS.

  14. 14 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 17, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    Oh, I just realized that no one else here knows about the bouncing ball music game yet. Here:

    http://balldroppings.com/js/

    You’re welcome.

  15. 15 Katebits April 17, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Pookie. Heh. THE DEVILS ARE THE WORST OF THE BUNCH! DISGUSTING TO A MAN!

  16. 16 Katebits April 17, 2009 at 9:04 pm

    Eff you, VS.

    Now there’s something we can all agree on. :D

    I really wish the bouncing ball game had a way to save and then add NEW ball dispenser. Like, if I had a good riff going on, I could save it and then add an additional track. I hate tinkering with a good one and then losing it forever.

  17. 17 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 17, 2009 at 9:21 pm

    Oh, what’s that, VS? Hal Gill is the victim of a ticky-tack call for the cross-check right in front of the net in OT, but Mike Knuble is a veteran player who ought to know better for the exact same effing thing? I hate this game.

  18. 18 Grrrreg April 18, 2009 at 2:13 am

    Wow, Sam the bouncing ball music game is awesome! I’m getting obsessed by this.

    Tony the Tiger’s kid brother

  19. 19 Heather B. April 18, 2009 at 4:04 pm

    Sam and Kate, I spent the third period of the (delightful) Caps-Rangers game bouncing musical balls around. Love it.

  20. 20 Norm April 18, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    I was already aware my damn team was despicable.

    Thanks for rubbing it in, Katebits.

    http://hockey-sense.today.com

  21. 21 Katebits April 19, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Norm, your comments are winding up in my spam filter because of the links that you leave. I have added your blog to my blogroll, and I see that your name will link folks back to your blog. In order to avoid the cruel grasp of the spam filter, you’re going to have to leave the link out of your comments.

    As for your team being despicable. Heh.

  22. 22 Jen April 19, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    ALL YOUR TEAMS ARE DESPICABLE! ARE YOU HAPPY NOW?! :P

    Well, I already knew my team was despicable, since the internet is constantly telling me so. That’s nothing new.

    My (new) advice is to stick with the Blackhawks! They’re both exciting and adorable. Best of both worlds!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

