I Ask You…

Is there anything better than the first round of the NHL playoffs?

It’s currently 1:15 in the morning. I’m tired, and I’ll be more tired in the morning, but I’m happy from watching hours of good hockey.  I’m enjoying these games a lot this year.

Soon, as the playoffs progress, the number of games will start dwindling, and then hockey will be gone. Sad.

A few thoughts:

- Last season I was very preoccupied with the former Sabres during the playoffs.  I was cheering passionately against Briere, Drury, and especially Brian Campbell.  This season I could not care less about those guys.  If anything, I’ve been feeling slightly affectionate towards them.  Time heals all wounds, yo.

- Either the Caps or the Sharks HAVE to be eliminated in the first round.  I know it’s kind of evil of me to feel this way, but the heart want what the heart wants.  And my heart wants a first round upset.

- I’ve been a little disappointed by the lack of mindblowingly awesome hockey commercials this year.  Remember the Cup Raise commercial?  I realize that’s a tough act to follow, but still.  I want my goosebump-y, yay for hockey, commercial.

Let’s watch Cup Raise again. It’s still a goodie.

Sweet.

- I feel really sad for the Blues.  I’m sorry the yucky Canucks steamrolled those guys.

- I think I’d feel bad for the Blue Jackets, except for the fact that watching the Red Wings mow teams down makes me feel safe and secure, like, all is right in the world.  I know a lot of people hate the Red Wings (Sam says cheering for them is like cheering for Microsoft), but I don’t care.  Those crazy Swedes are really, really good at hockey, and I appreciate that.  Plus, Datsyuk!  I heart that guy.

- I haven’t figured out if it’s possible with the seeding, but I think it would be great to see the Bruins and the Pens meet in the ECF.  I hope it happens.

6 Responses to “I Ask You…”


  1. 1 SueInVA April 22, 2009 at 7:58 am

    I have to cheer for the Caps. I can’t stand the Rangers. Never could. I find myself cheering (much to my embarassment) for the Flyers also as I’ve developed a good hate for the Penguins. Well, lets just say I hate the Penguins more than the Flyers suddenly! Which is saying a lot because my hate for the Flyers goes back to the 70’s!

    I am watching with some amusement as the Sharks struggle. As we well know, the Presidents trophy doesn’t mean anything once the playoffs start!

    Can’t hate the wings for some reason. I normally don’t cheer for them but this year I might just.

  2. 2 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 22, 2009 at 8:47 am

    I haven’t figured out if it’s possible with the seeding, but I think it would be great to see the Bruins and the Pens meet in the ECF.

    It’s possible. If either the Rangers or Canes to pull off the first round upset, Boston wouldn’t play the Pens until the conference finals.

    (By the way, I never said I hated the Red Wings. I don’t hate Microsoft either. I just don’t think either of them are in need of encouragement from me. They do skate pretty, though.)

  3. 3 MarkB April 22, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    I too have found myself cheering for the Flyers, mostly for my new found hatred of the Penguins. I’m thunderstruck by this fact.

    Rene Robert must be rolling in his gr…Oh that’s right -he’s alive and throwing darts at his Larry Quinn dart board.

  4. 4 Patty (in Dallas) April 22, 2009 at 9:54 pm

    That commercial still brings a tear to my eye. It’s full-on genius.

  5. 5 Norm April 23, 2009 at 12:44 pm

    I cannot cheer for the Red Wings on philosophical grounds. See, everything is a cycle. Every team has to suck at some point – it’s just the nature of sports. Even the all-everything New England Patriots dropped a 6-10 bomb in the midst of their greatness. But the freaking Red Wings haven’t sucked since I was in high school. And I graduated in 93!! In fact, it’s been so long since they sucked, that they sucked in the Norris Division!! The freaking NORRIS DIVISION!!!!!

    It’s just not fair.

    http://hockey-sense.today.com/2009/04/19/i-hate-the-red-wings/

  6. 6 Shauna April 24, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    I’m having a hard time figuring out who to cheer for. I started out cheering for the Sharks, but I’m getting too much enjoyment watching them tank. However, they are allowing the Duck to win,and they CAN NOT WIN due to my Pronger hate *shakes fist in the air*. Don’t like the Rangers, don’t like the Capitals, don’t like the Penguins, never liked the Flyers, but I do have a family friend playing on the team, but not sure that will win me over. I refuse to cheer for the Canucks since they are in the Oilers division and obviously, I will not, can not cheer for the Flames. Who’s left? Detroit? That’s not right! Carolina? 2006 is still too fresh in my memory. N.J.? Hmm… Go Devils? It’s just not the same when it’s not your team – although much less stressful!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

