Too Much

The other day I was talking to my mother on the phone (she lives in St. Paul) and she said, “So, what’s new?”

I had the funniest little urge to say, “Well, the Sabres came out and said they’ll never fire ANYONE, EVER, and Bucky Gleason is blaming the fans because our collars used to be bluer….and the Sharks and the Caps are being hilariously hapless.”

I thought it was incredibly odd and notable that when asked (by a non-hockey fan, no less), “What’s up?” I had the urge to talk to about hockey.  That’s just weird, right?

Two years ago I could not have cared less about hockey.

My life is ruined.

Heh.

5 Responses to “Too Much”


  1. 1 elise April 23, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    Kate! I actually had a similar thought after reading one of your last posts. If only Oberlin-Kate could see you now! You could have cheered with Fulk on a Stick. If only…

  2. 2 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 23, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    I like that you choose to describe Lois as “a non-hockey fan” rather than simply as “my mom.” And I suspect that, being a Minnesotan, she is used to people randomly speaking hockey to her for no apparent reason. (Me, for instance. I have definitely subjected your mom to unsolicited hockey talk at least once.)

    Also, two years ago, I distinctly recall a phone conversation in which I tried to make you understand how pained I was by the Wild’s lack of scoring punch approaching a possible playoff run. Your basic reaction, as I recall, was the repeated use of “Whatevs” and something about knitting.

  3. 3 Katebits April 23, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Elise, AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….oh, Fulk on a Stick would have been SUCH a big Sabres fan. I’m sure of it.

    I went with “non-hockey fan” just because I wanted to be clear that it really made no sense to want to talk to her about hockey. She and I have no history of talking about hockey. Talking to Lois is not like talking to you. :D

    Your basic reaction, as I recall, was the repeated use of “Whatevs” and something about knitting.

    Hee. Yeah…..that sounds about right.

  4. 4 ms.conduct April 23, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    That is the story of every relationship in my life right now. If you aren’t prepared to listen to me talk about hockey, then we really don’t have much to say to each other. It seems very imbalanced and yet most people put up with it so I carry on. *shrug*

  5. 5 Norm April 24, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    Ruined? You’ve discovered a love for the greatest sport on Earth! Your life has just begun!

    OK, so maybe I exaggerate A LITTLE. :)

    http://hockey-sense.today.com/2009/04/24/playoff-news-and-notes-for-thursday/


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

