3 Things

1. Is there anything more demoralizing than lowering yourself to cheer for the Rangers only to have them LOSE?  There is no way the Rangers are going to win game seven.  No way at all.  The good news is that even though I’m sad the Caps are poised to complete the comeback (sorry Frisbee), I’m not so far gone that I can’t enjoy a good Rangers collapse.  The Rangers seem CRAZY bonkers, and I love it.  I love that the Rangers are so sick-in-the-head that they are more inspired by SEAN AVERY than they are by Chris Drury.  *cackles evilly*

2. Much like how I’ve been cheering for the Rangers in order to cheer against the Caps, I’ve been cheering for the Ducks in order to cheer against the Sharks.  Unlike the Rangers, I’ve taken a genuine liking to the Ducks.  The Ducks have some truly disgusting characters, but they also have Drew Miller, that Ryan kid, and Hiller.  Even Getzlaf has been growing on me a bit.  I’m not sure I would cheer for them over the Wings if that’s what it came to, but I’m glad to found another team that I more-or-less enjoy.  I’m a little ashamed that that team is the Ducks, but whatever.

3. It the Sharks come back I will be CRUSHED, mostly because I want the Sharks management to be forced to admit it’s never going to happen with Marleau and Thornton.  Then, I want them to trade Thornton to the Sabres for Derek Roy.  I know, I know, Thornton is better in every way than Roy-Z, but SURELY the Sharks are desperate to get rid of Joe by now- and just think how happy Mike Grier will be to see Roy-Z!  Sucking in the playoffs is not a problem Big Joe will have to worry about too much around here, so he’ll fit in just fine.

10 Responses to “3 Things”


  1. 1 Heather B. April 26, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    I would love to see the look on Mike Grier’s face when he found out the Sharks had just picked up Derek Roy. Seriously.

  2. 2 Pookie April 26, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Getzi’s gone all the way up to “Don’t Buy”! Woo-hoo!

  3. 3 SueInVA April 27, 2009 at 7:45 am

    For me, the Rangers faces during the third period yesterday was too cool. They look demoralized. I go back and forth about the Cap (or the Red Army team as I like to call them) but right now I’m in full Cap’s cheering mode. Nothing against Drury, mostly I can’t stand Avery and the Rangers fans (listen to NHL live today if you want to hear a full on whine fest! I’m sure they –the fans– would be ready to trade Drury — should we try to get him back?)

    I’m loving the way the Caps are playing right now.

    Is it me or have you noticed how all the teams seem to be avoiding the Goalie running they were doing during the year?

  4. 4 Norm April 27, 2009 at 7:46 am

    I think you’ve just found a way to ensure Mike Grier retires early.

    But I’ve gotta say, I’ll miss your blog. See, I used to enjoy it, until you made a suggestion that Buffalo should acquire Joe Thornton. And since he could be adequately replaced by an orange road cone when games become important, I’m just going to have to stop reading now so I don’t start spewing random obscenities over your suggestion. :)

    http://hockey-sense.today.com/2009/04/26/3-ken-daneyko/

  5. 5 Frisbee April 27, 2009 at 8:15 am

    I promise I was not the one that John Tortorella threw a water bottle at. I swear……..

    Seriously, stop apologizing and get on the greatest bandwagon that ever banded. Come to Simeon Varlamov’s birthday party tonight! We’re having it at my house, and there will totally be a pinata.

  6. 6 Katebits April 27, 2009 at 11:03 am

    Frisbee- NEEEEEEVER! (I will some over for the pinata part though…)

    I dunno, Norm, Big Joe looked awfully potent in that last game, plus, I’m getting rid of your favorite whipping boy, Roy-Z. I say we worry about Joe’s playoff performance, when, and if, we ever get there again.

    Heather, I LOVE that Grier is on the seemingly-heartless Sharks. I bet he DOES miss Roy-Z, huh? hehhehheh….

    Pookie, Getzi is EXACTLY a “don’t sell”! :^::::::::::::

    Sue, it would be WRONG not to enjoy the Rangers collapse. Just plain wrong.

  7. 7 Jonathan April 27, 2009 at 2:47 pm

    Hey you know what would help the Rangers win the Cup with Drury?

    Sakic and Forsberg in their prime.

    I’m sorry I enjoy the Rangers losing. But I’m not sure who to really root for in the Devils Canes series. Just don’t want to root for either team.

  8. 8 Norm April 27, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Alright Katebits, I do suppose you have a point there in swapping Roy out.

    But seeing as how I’m an optimist, and I am planning on them making the playoffs next season, can’t we skip right to the end result and just trade Roy for the road cone?

    Hell, I bet we could get a BUNCH of road cones for Roy. Maybe even a few used sticks and pucks!

    http://hockey-sense.today.com/2009/04/27/another-of-my-predictions-will-die-tonight/

  9. 9 CrotchetyOriginalSam April 27, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    I’ve taken a genuine liking to the Ducks.

    Oh, for the love of… ANOTHER team I hate with a passion that burns like the white-hot fires of hell? REALLY…?

    I can only conclude that you’re doing this on purpose.

  10. 10 Katebits April 27, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Heh. I do not specifically choose your hated teams, Sam, but I do enjoy your disgust. And as far as the Ducks go, I am WELL aware that they are totally unacceptable. I think that’s part of their appeal for me. I’m slumming it.


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

