Round 2

I could not be more pleased with the Eastern Conference semi-finals.  I think Boston is going to demolish Carolina (in a highly-enjoyable-for-Katebits kind-of-way), and no matter what happens with Pittsburgh/Washington, that’s going to be a crazy scene.  I’m totally in the mood to embrace the NHL’s MOST-IMPORTANT-MATCH-UP-IN-THE-HISTORY-OF-HOCKEY hype machine.   Bring it. (Also, go Sid!)

I’m less enthused about the West only because I’m sad that my two favorite WC teams are playing each other already.  I want George Parros AND Pavel Datsyuk to be happy.  How will I ever choose?

12 Responses to “Round 2”


  1. 1 SueInVirginia April 30, 2009 at 8:12 am

    Go Sid! ???? No way. Go Ovie!!!! :) I’m in Virginia, what can I say!

    I’m thinking 7 games and an OT decision. Should be a good time for hockey fans.

    I am so hoping you are correct about Boston. Can’t root for Carolina as real hockey teams don’t need cheerleaders! Of course, it’s against my Sabre loving rules to root for Boston but just this once.

  2. 2 Pookie April 30, 2009 at 8:42 am

    I want George Parros AND Pavel Datsyuk to be happy. How will I ever choose?

    Two words: Ryan. Getzlaf. Don’t buy!

  3. 3 danielleia April 30, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I know! The whole Pavel and George thing. I’m thought I liked it because I could see them both at the same time… but now you have me confused. :)

  4. 4 Schnookie April 30, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Can’t root for Carolina as real hockey teams don’t need cheerleaders!

    Hey now! Plenty of the teams (including the Caps) have cheerleaders, too! Sure, the Canes had them first… but maybe that just means the Canes cheerleaders have more integrity? :P (I can’t believe this season has reduced me to defending the Hurricanes cheerleaders. What next? WHAT NEXT???)

  5. 5 Frisbee April 30, 2009 at 9:34 am

    I’m cheering for the Whalers.

    And I’d like to this that the Red Rockers or more of a pep squad, but I will also admit that they are totally embarrassing. That doesn’t mean I’m not totally trying out to be one. Let’s not be absurd.

  6. 6 Schnookie April 30, 2009 at 11:16 am

    That doesn’t mean I’m not totally trying out to be one. Let’s not be absurd.

    Well, we’re all secretly dreaming to be Ice Girls/Ice Dancers, right? Isn’t that what draws us girls to hockey in the first place? The hope of someday having an official NHL-team-logoed spandex uniform that will let us show off our fan spirit and our belly-button rings simultaneously? ;-)

  7. 7 Amy April 30, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I want George Parros AND Pavel Datsyuk to be happy. How will I ever choose?

    Two words: Ryan. Getzlaf. Don’t buy!

    Two more words: Drew. Miller.

  8. 8 Katebits April 30, 2009 at 11:55 am

    The thing I love about the Red Rockers is that the Caps totally caved to the pearl clutching “Gaaaaaasp! Scantily clad women, AT A HOCKEY GAME?! WON’T SOMEONE PLEASE THINK OF THE CHILDREN!” crowd. And so now the Red Rockers have one dude. Because having a dude on the “pep squad” toooootally proves that the Red Rockers are about PEP. The Red Rockers are NOT about sex.

    Personally, I’m not offended by ice girls. They’re cheesy and tacky, but not that big a deal (to me). And yes, I would drop everything to become an ice girl if the opportunity arose.

    (I can’t believe this season has reduced me to defending the Hurricanes cheerleaders. What next? WHAT NEXT???)

    Ha! Seriously, though. What next?

  9. 9 Schnookie April 30, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    And so now the Red Rockers have one dude. Because having a dude on the “pep squad” toooootally proves that the Red Rockers are about PEP. The Red Rockers are NOT about sex.

    I KNOW! That’s the lamest thing EVER! (And really, the ice girl thing doesn’t bug me that much either, other than that I’m a hockey purist and prefer my at-the-game experience to be devoid of literally everything but hockey. I don’t even like that they play music at games. Heh. Furthermore, if I’m going to spend my time at hockey games thinking about how foxy the players are, I suppose I don’t have much of a leg to stand on if I’m going to get het up about the objectification of ice girls, right?)

  10. 10 SueInVirginia April 30, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Maybe I’m just extremely old school ( and I am, bring back ties, what’s wrong with a tie!) but I just can’t excuse the cheerleaders. I’ve never seen the Caps cheerleaders. Do the Pens have “ice girls”? Geez, I may just have to change my alliance! :P

    And it’s not that I don’t notice a good looking hockey player but skill is more important, unless your a Stall, then I just don’t like you! :D

  11. 11 Katebits April 30, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    Furthermore, if I’m going to spend my time at hockey games thinking about how foxy the players are, I suppose I don’t have much of a leg to stand on if I’m going to get het up about the objectification of ice girls, right?

    Tots. I like to think of hockey players like pieces of meat, and maybe that comes at a cost. I guess that cost is ice girls?

    I dunno. They never covered this kind of thing in my Womyn’s Studies class at Oberlin. Heh.

  12. 12 Phil April 30, 2009 at 5:35 pm

    Sidney Crysby can suck an egg…LET’S GO CAPS! LET’S GO CAPS!


Leave a Reply

…A Blog About the Buffalo Sabres

Observations 2
I can be reached at: willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com

For All Your Facebook “Needs”

Categories

puck goggles
In accordance with the Fair Use Copyright Law, The Willful Caboose uses logos and registered trademarks of the National Hockey League to convey my criticism and inform the public of the Sabres' suckitude/badassitude (whatever the case may be). Photos on The Willful Caboose are used without permission, but do not interfere with said owner's profit. If you own a specific image on this site and want it removed, please e-mail me (willfulcaboose [at] gmail [dot] com) and I will be more than happy willing to oblige. (Special thanks to The Pensblog for their help with this disclaimer.)

Pages


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

